We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home away from home”
Review of Haan's 1830 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haan's 1830 Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the 1830 Inn in May, 1999 for our honeymoon. We loved the Inn and the Innkeepers so much we have returned every year since--usually twice per year!

Visit and you'll find a beautiful historic Inn full of beautiful antiques, unique rooms, and wonderful people. Each morning a bountiful "continental" breakfast including delicious homemade pastries. Not sure what to do on Mackinac--just ask and Nick, Ruth or Larry will give you some great tips. The location is one of the best on Mackinac--close enough to be to dinner in 5-10 minutes walking but far enough away from the hub-bub when you want a little quiet. Make sure to take an evening stroll down to Mission Point and see a sky full of stars too.

Room Tip: Cass or Beaumont are great choices for families with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I travel to mackinac island every year, and we try different inns and B&B's. I thought this place was a decent value for the price. The couple who ran it was very friendly, and helpful. And it is in a nice part of the island, its in town but not downtown where there is a lot of hustle and bustle. The room was quaint and clean, but the mattress was very uncomfortable. It was a bit noisy, you could hear other people talking, and doors shutting. I think part of the problem was our room had a window that faced one of the porches, and people were out there early morning and late at night talking. So between the mattress, and the noises we had a hard time falling asleep even though we were tired from biking and sight seeing all day.

The breakfast was good and home made, but there was 2 types of sweet pastries and a bowl of fruit, I didn't feel like it really filled us up.... after about a half hour of biking, we were hungry again, and got some more substantial food to hold us over till lunch. For these reasons we feel we have to give it a avg. review. It did have a quaint atmosphere.They did have wi-fi and some nice rockers out on the porch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NatalieMalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Every morning we were greeted with the smells of Ruth's homemade bread and pastries! We are food snobs. Having eaten at michigans finest restaurants we consider this breakfast fare to be first Class. We have stayed here quite often and always had a wonderful stay. Never disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My first B&B not sure what to expect, was a nice room with a private shower on the main floor
a short walk from downtown so was quiet enjoyed the porch
check-in was easy free wi-fii,
there wasn't much variety in the breakfast but was good

Room Tip: enjoyed the quiet my husband missed a TV request a main floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan181736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Loved the location of this B&B - three blocks from downtown. Most relaxing aspect are the sounds of the horse carriages going up and down the street. Loved the porches, but our favorite was the screened in porch on the second level. Peaceful and relaxing. My only criticism (and one I've read in reviews before and heard first-hand from other guests there) is that although the baked items for breakfast were wonderful, there are two many sweet items to choose from. Maybe an egg casserole or scrambled eggs would have been nice. In multiple days of staying there, every day there were no meats served (bacon, ham, sausage) and the only eggs were hard boiled in a bowl each day. Since this is something that other people reviewing the inn have commented on and guests were speaking about at the breakfast table each day, they perhaps should think about changing up the menu some. I do want to say, though, that the baked items showed our host's talents in that area and were very good, just lacking a little more of selections on the savory side each day. I would, however, recommend this place and would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cajuntraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackinacnick, Owner at Haan's 1830 Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

thanks for your review - unfortuneately, bed and breakfast / restaurant regulations forbid us from serving full breakfasts such as you would like. but thanks again for giving us a try !

nick haan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We found this place by luck and it turned out to be wonderful. Our hostess Moira was generous of spirit, gave us great local suggestions and could not have been more welcoming. The rooms were nicely decorated, the beds were comfy and the bath was neat and clean. The breakfast was superb...hot just-out-of-the-oven homemade bread, apple & cherry compote and other delicious treats. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1490d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at Haan's. The first was a girls vacation and the others was with my husband. I've had a different room each time and loved each of them. The most current was the room with a kitchen. It was very spacious and plenty of room to stretch out and relax. We prepared some of our meals there which saved on eating out. The hospitality was very special. We were made to feel at home. The innkeepers are very special people.They are friendly and attentive to each of their guests. The breakfast is very nice and more than enough. All the baked goods were fresh and homemade. I've stayed at 8 hotels and B & B's on the island. They are all unique in their own way but for the money and hospitality, Haan's is the closest to home. It is a little out of town which, depending on what you're looking for, could be a drawback. But for us, All we want to hear is the water and the clip clop of the horses. I have no problem walking into town. We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sheree101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,031 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haan's 1830 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haan's 1830 Inn

Address: 6806 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £75 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haan's 1830 Inn is your Mackinac Island bed and breakfast home. The stately Greek Revival house--built on the foundations of an American Revolution era trader cabin--served as the private residence of Colonel Preston, a Fort Mackinac officer and first mayor of the island. The Inn has been completely restored and now operates as a Mackinac Island B&B to share the grace of history, the warmth of family, and the wonders of Mackinac Island weather. The guestrooms are freshly decorated and furnished with period antiques and quality mattresses. Your host, Nick Haan, invites you to be at home, relax on the wicker-furnished porches, and listen to the cadence of horses as carriage tours pass by on Huron Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haan`s 1830 Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing