We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in the Marquette Room”
Review of Haan's 1830 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haan's 1830 Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Eureka, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We stayed in the Marquette Room”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This inn is on the main street of Mackinac Island yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the town. We walked to everything. The room and bathroom were clean and decorated in the time period. We took advantage of the large screen in porch that they have on the front of the house. There are several reviews about the breakfast so I wanted to comment on this. The breakfast was an upscale continental breakfast with homemade pastries, hard boiled eggs and cereal. They are not licensed to be a restaurant so if you desire a full service breakfast please visit one of the local restaurants. We found the continental breakfast to be yummy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    22
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepherd, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My family and I stayed here over 8/8/08 weekend for my cousins wedding at the Grand Hotel. This is a well kept, quite and very peaceful Inn. That has an amazing southern american style balcony that over looks the bay and horse paths. We live in Shepherd which is about 200 miles south but we will return to this spot time and time again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the 1830 Inn in May, 1999 for our honeymoon. We loved the Inn and the Innkeepers so much we have returned every year since--usually twice per year!

Visit and you'll find a beautiful historic Inn full of beautiful antiques, unique rooms, and wonderful people. Each morning a bountiful "continental" breakfast including delicious homemade pastries. Not sure what to do on Mackinac--just ask and Nick, Ruth or Larry will give you some great tips. The location is one of the best on Mackinac--close enough to be to dinner in 5-10 minutes walking but far enough away from the hub-bub when you want a little quiet. Make sure to take an evening stroll down to Mission Point and see a sky full of stars too.

Room Tip: Cass or Beaumont are great choices for families with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munising, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I travel to mackinac island every year, and we try different inns and B&B's. I thought this place was a decent value for the price. The couple who ran it was very friendly, and helpful. And it is in a nice part of the island, its in town but not downtown where there is a lot of hustle and bustle. The room was quaint and clean, but the mattress was very uncomfortable. It was a bit noisy, you could hear other people talking, and doors shutting. I think part of the problem was our room had a window that faced one of the porches, and people were out there early morning and late at night talking. So between the mattress, and the noises we had a hard time falling asleep even though we were tired from biking and sight seeing all day.

The breakfast was good and home made, but there was 2 types of sweet pastries and a bowl of fruit, I didn't feel like it really filled us up.... after about a half hour of biking, we were hungry again, and got some more substantial food to hold us over till lunch. For these reasons we feel we have to give it a avg. review. It did have a quaint atmosphere.They did have wi-fi and some nice rockers out on the porch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NatalieMalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Every morning we were greeted with the smells of Ruth's homemade bread and pastries! We are food snobs. Having eaten at michigans finest restaurants we consider this breakfast fare to be first Class. We have stayed here quite often and always had a wonderful stay. Never disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My first B&B not sure what to expect, was a nice room with a private shower on the main floor
a short walk from downtown so was quiet enjoyed the porch
check-in was easy free wi-fii,
there wasn't much variety in the breakfast but was good

Room Tip: enjoyed the quiet my husband missed a TV request a main floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan181736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Loved the location of this B&B - three blocks from downtown. Most relaxing aspect are the sounds of the horse carriages going up and down the street. Loved the porches, but our favorite was the screened in porch on the second level. Peaceful and relaxing. My only criticism (and one I've read in reviews before and heard first-hand from other guests there) is that although the baked items for breakfast were wonderful, there are two many sweet items to choose from. Maybe an egg casserole or scrambled eggs would have been nice. In multiple days of staying there, every day there were no meats served (bacon, ham, sausage) and the only eggs were hard boiled in a bowl each day. Since this is something that other people reviewing the inn have commented on and guests were speaking about at the breakfast table each day, they perhaps should think about changing up the menu some. I do want to say, though, that the baked items showed our host's talents in that area and were very good, just lacking a little more of selections on the savory side each day. I would, however, recommend this place and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cajuntraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackinacnick, Owner at Haan's 1830 Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
thanks for your review - unfortuneately, bed and breakfast / restaurant regulations forbid us from serving full breakfasts such as you would like. but thanks again for giving us a try !

nick haan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haan's 1830 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haan's 1830 Inn

Property: Haan's 1830 Inn
Address: 6806 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haan's 1830 Inn is your Mackinac Island bed and breakfast home. The stately Greek Revival house--built on the foundations of an American Revolution era trader cabin--served as the private residence of Colonel Preston, a Fort Mackinac officer and first mayor of the island. The Inn has been completely restored and now operates as a Mackinac Island B&B to share the grace of history, the warmth of family, and the wonders of Mackinac Island weather. The guestrooms are freshly decorated and furnished with period antiques and quality mattresses. Your host, Nick Haan, invites you to be at home, relax on the wicker-furnished porches, and listen to the cadence of horses as carriage tours pass by on Huron Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haan`s 1830 Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing