We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look anywhere else!”
Review of Haan's 1830 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haan's 1830 Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked last minute based on rate but we got so much more! We were a couple visiting the island for a wedding and received such wonderful service and hospitality from the Haan's! Very friendly and accommodating... what a fantastic place and spacious rooms! They are located just a short walk to the downtown area where the main attractions of Mackinac are located. Do not bother paying 3x as much at the other b&b's in town! The Haan's have everything you need! We will definitely be back for our next trip to Mackinac Island! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank PurpleCity22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I've stayed a lot places on the island. We really enjoyed the Inn - location, great food, and great for families. Great staff. Very clean. Love the porches! Close to all attractions. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daverino2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing value with friendly hosts, cozy rooms and delicious breakfast. The host, Maura, went out of her way to ensure my wife and I had a romantic stress free visit to the island. She made timely calls to ensure we had reservations and VIP treatment for private carriage ride and restaurant along with other invaluable recommendations toward a pleasant visit. The location is close to town and shore for convenience, but far enough away for quiet and affordability. Room was comfortable with beautiful antiques. Food was yummy and served with true B&B fashion. Food was not too much or too light, but just right (unless you cannot resist seconds like me). :-p
Definitely recommend for affordable true B&B experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jpbelloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I concluded our camping/vacation to the UP of Michigan with a day and a half on Mackinaw Island. My wife was always caught up in the Movie Somewhere in Time. This was the perfect place for her to relive that movie. The decor of the rooms where of the period of the movie. The couple that ran the inn were more than happy to answer any question about what to do on the island. We rode the buggy to and from the Grand Hotel for dinner. I fell asleep and awoke to the clip clop of horse drawn carriages. I felt as though i was living in another time and place.The breakfasts at Haan's are wonderful. Overall the perfect end of a all around great vacation. Although don't use google to try to find your way on the island. Being a typical guy I pulled out my Iphone to find the 1830"s Inn and it lead us the wrong direction up a hill. My wife called the Inn and we were met with 2 glasses of ice cold water at the door. YES we will stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ohioborn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here for our 10yr anniversay and spent two nights. Everything from the moment we arrived to the time we left was fantastic! Beautiful room/house, amazing breakfast and Maura and Nick are the most wonderful people. They were so warm and welcoming and made us feel like family. We have decided to come back not just for anniversaries but every year. They definitely made our trip memorable and cherished. We were sad to go. The price is perfect as is the experience!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bobbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more satisfied. The dutch couple that runs the place is SUPER nice and friendly. Even though the breakfast seats were all taken they encouraged you to grab a cup of coffee and found you a seat until a table spot cleared.

The owners are very conversational, it isn't too far of a walk from the ferry drop off points, and the rooms are very original. There are no TV's in the whole place so if you are the kind of people that like late night tube, don't bother. They do have Wifi that was spotty but we didn't care because we never were in the room.

I can't really speak on the prices compared to other B&B's on the island but I can say that it was very affordable for a couple that just emptied their savings on a wedding.

Even though check out was at 11 they let us leave our bags in the parlor until we were ready to leave. I will come back again and recommend them to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I and my wife stayed at the Beaumont suite at the Haan's for the night of 4th of July. The room was wonderful, truly colonial in style and took us back to a whole different era (on top of all the horse carriages and old buildings in Mackinac Island). I selected this place because it was good, inexpensive, and a decent distance away from the hustle and bustle of all the bars in the downtown area. The room was very well furnished and decorated - the bathroom was excellent and since we were only 2, we did not even need the adjoining bedroom. Private bathrooms was the only reason we decided to go with the larger room. The garden around the house is great. lots of colorful flowers, there are many sitting areas around to chill and enjoy the great weather.

The host Nick was great - he made us feel at home, gave us some interesting tips and tricks for mackinac (off the beaten path type of activities) and we really enjoyed the one night we stayed there. We are sure to be going back there - and also recommending to any friends and relatives that may go to Mackinac.

Room Tip: Turn off the exterior lights if you light disturbs you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinooz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haan's 1830 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haan's 1830 Inn

Address: 6806 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £71 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haan's 1830 Inn is your Mackinac Island bed and breakfast home. The stately Greek Revival house--built on the foundations of an American Revolution era trader cabin--served as the private residence of Colonel Preston, a Fort Mackinac officer and first mayor of the island. The Inn has been completely restored and now operates as a Mackinac Island B&B to share the grace of history, the warmth of family, and the wonders of Mackinac Island weather. The guestrooms are freshly decorated and furnished with period antiques and quality mattresses. Your host, Nick Haan, invites you to be at home, relax on the wicker-furnished porches, and listen to the cadence of horses as carriage tours pass by on Huron Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haan`s 1830 Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing