We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a blast and will be back !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Cottage B&B
Gladstone, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a blast and will be back !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Four of us girls checked in for a much needed get away from civilization on June 16th. We had a wonderful time and found the rooms very comfortable & clean and very "cozy".
There was fresh coffee and tea and iced tea available at all times of the day.
We had a wonderful hostess and the entire staff was very helpful & smiling! They keep us informed about everything that was going on during that time, the Lilac Festival was wonderful!
The rooms & bathrooms were very clean as was the entire B& B . The breakfast food was wonderful in the morning. We had a great variety of freshly made parfaits, rolls, muffins along with fruit, yogurt, and cereal and heavenly coffee and tea. It was very relaxing and we all enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. I cannot wait to go back- very nice atmosphere!
Thank you Pine Cottage Inn, we had a great time there, thanks to all of you!

Helpful?
2 Thank shawnee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    19
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Went to Mackinac Island to see the Lilac Festival, for the first time. We stayed at Pine Cottage, it was close to town. Pine Cottage was perfect, down the street from the Fort. It was nice to stay in a house that was decorated from its period and not in a cookie cutter hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjlamination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I decided last minute that my husband and I needed a getaway and wanted to go to Mackinac Island. I soon found out it was the Island's annual Lilac Festival, and most lodging was sold out, or asking top prices for reservations. Eventually I found the Pine Cottage B&B for a fair price (or at least I thought so, before staying there!) and booked our 3 night, 4 day stay. On arrival we were greeted by a 20-something woman who was cheerful and helped us bring our things to our room. She gave a few suggestions and pointers and then left us alone. The following morning when we saw her at breakfast, she was unfriendly - and downright brooding! I personally NEVER saw any other staff for the rest of our stay. Didnt feel unwelcome, and we mostly wanted to do our own thing anyway, but wow, there was nothing here to make us feel welcome, either. Breakfast our first morning was some kind of egg thing baked into a croissant-like pastry. It was VERY onion-ey and stone cold - I assumed if breakfast is served from 8 - 10, I should be able to go down at 930 and get fresh, hot food - no way! Not here! There was also a small parfait-style fruit cup with berries and yogurt, some mini muffins, and juice.....and this continued to be the SAME breakfast served all three mornings - not even a fresh batch, for all I knew, probably just microwaved over and over. And the parfaits werent even available our last morning - the one thing I liked - not there. SO the building itself was from back in the 1800's or something so certain things are probably beyond their control, but there were a lot of cracks in the walls, a definite "lean" to the floor, the toilet was cracked and slowly leaking, with the leaking water seeping across the leaning floor, making the bathroom floor quite slippery. There was a clawfoot tub with shower, but the plastic shower curtain surrounding it made for tight quarters, and rather impossible not to bump the curtain with an arm or leg once in a while, and that's just gross to me, thinking who else before me has bumped their various body parts into the sides - ew! Also, the craziest thing - on our second night there I was awoken by a faint knocking on a door, not our door, but a door not far from ours....then more urgent knocking....and then pounding on the door along with the exclamation, "Police Department! Open up!!" I thought maybe we were about to experience our first time as hostages, or be suddenly evacuated from our room - and I hadnt packed an outfit for waking to a hostage or evacuation situation! (I'm making light of it but it was scary at the time) The "police" went down the steps, there were loud voices, then they came back, along with a female voice. I heard a key in a door, more muffled voices, then retreating back down the steps. That was the end of it, and there was NO apology or explanation of any sort offered the next day by any staff members for the previous night's scuffle. Our room had a small window air conditioner, and the days were sunny and warm; however the nights cooled off nicely and we would have loved to open the windows and get some fresh air, but the windows were painted shut! Thankfully the bed was very comfortable.
We loved Mackinac Island and loved the different "vibe" there after the "day trippers" left each day. We did lots of walking, exploring and "chilling out". The lilacs were at their peak, fragrant and gorgeous, and the weather was incredibly perfect. We especially enjoyed meals on the back deck at the Pink Pony Bar, and had a wonderful, early summer dining experience on the patio of the Gate House Restaurant - two places not to be missed. But Pine Cottage? I recommend you miss it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rhondaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed four days at Pine Cottage, it is one of the original hotels on
Mackinac Island, and is one of the most fun. Most of the rooms have a
sink with hot and cold water, very convient for washing up and brushing
teeth. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileyrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

"Girls" Magical Weekend!!!!

Our group of "girls" had such a great time. It was like our college days. We rented private apartment in the B&B. Had all the amenities of B&B (breakfast was delicious) but had the apartment to our selves. The ambiance of the Inn just enhanced our comraderie. The staff was gracious and personable. I still smile when I think about it and we will return!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed two nights at the Pine Cottage. We were happy that it was just a short bike ride from the Arnold Ferry dock. The porch on the Pine Cottage was relaxing and we enjoyed chatting with others and listening to the sounds of the Island. The woman who managed the cottage was available by pushing a button upon entering the front door. She was very nice and willing to answer any questions. Our room was quite small with a window fan/air conditioner; however, it was not able to cool the room down too much. Fortunately, we only spent the evenings in our room when it cooled off outside. It was extremely quiet. We never heard a single voice from our room. There were two bathrooms in the hall, close to our room, that were frequently cleaned. We never had to wait for one to be available. The breakfast was simple with mainly homemade pastries, but tided us over. Overall, it is a great deal for the Island if you are willing to share a bathroom. If you were like us and mainly needed a place to sleep after your day exploring Mackinac Island you might consider the Pine Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Excellent value and within a short walk / bike ride of the downtown area. Charming 3-story Victorian B&B. We stayed in the 3rd floor corner bedroom w/ private bath (not all rooms have this). It included an rare antique claw-foot bathtub / shower (although bathroom floor should be tile and not carpet)... Our kids got a kick of of the tub, as they've never seen one.

Breakfast was outstanding, and included delicious homemade bread / toast, hot quiche, danishes, muffins, coffee, tea, cereal, oatmeal, and this peach dumpling on a thin pizza crust dish that was also very good.

There was a problem, however, with the old-fashioned heat radiators in the rooms in that they worked sporadically (heard this from other guests as well). Evidently this was the first weekend they were open for guests, and the heat cycling schedule needed to be adjusted.

Great view of the straits from 3rd story bedroom. The house manager is also very friendly and accommodating.

The room rate was quite a bit less than other places on the island, so this was a great value. Will definitely stay here again for that reason.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smit-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cottage B&B

Property: Pine Cottage B&B
Address: 1427 Bogan Lane, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of quiet Bogan Lane sits one of Mackinac Island's treasured hideaways - historic Pine Cottage B&B. Tucked away from the bustling Main Street but minutes away from everything wonderful that Mackinac has to offer! Pine Cottage offers beautiful rooms with one double bed or two double beds with private or shared baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cottage Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing