We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Pine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pine Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Off main street but still with view of water from porch. Robin and Paula were wonderful hosts. Robin makes all the bakery goods served each morning to guests. Rooms were small but nicely furnished. Baths were small but clean. Breakfast was wonderful. They serve tea and cookies from 6:00-9:00 each evening. Robin was very informative about the island and pointed out several things to see that were not in the brochure for the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annalaura54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and i went to Mackinac island In September of this year. We stayed at the pine cottage. The porch is so inviting. My husband and i sat in the afternoon sun just relaxing in the rocking chairs and enjoying the scenery. The room was very charming and cozy, except the bed was not very comfortable at all! It leaned to one side. Although the bed wasn't comfortable, the room was clean. The breakfast was delicious and the coffee was great! The tables were set to perfection! The room rates were also affordable. I would give it another try and stay here again but i wouldn't stay in room # 9 simply because of the bed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room # 9 the bed leans to one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saunaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have been to Mackinac Island over twenty times and have stayed at so many places on the island including Mission Point, The Inn on Mackinac, Murray Hotel, etc. I can honestly say that Pine Cottage is one of, if not the best value on the island and their staff is extremely courteous and attentive to the needs of their guests as well. I always recommend this establishment when my family and friends ask for lodging recommendations on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrizzlyB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My family and I continue our tradition of visiting Mackinac Island every year. And every year we stay at Pine Cottage or Chateau Lorraine.

We feel very at home at either B&B. Comfortable rooms with community bathrooms are perfect. We feel that we are always getting our monies worth when we stay here.

Because Mackinac is a place where you are mostly enjoying the outdoors its important that we aren't cooped up in our hotel all day long. Pine Cottage and Chateau Lorraine are a great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aalexanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Pine Cottage and just loved it! The accomodations were clean, comfortable and very charming. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast every morning and the rap around porch was a lovely place to relax throughout the day. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet place to relax while enjoying the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WannaGo2Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was a convenient B&B with affordable rooms with and without private baths. The service was fine and staff friendly. The breakfast was closer to continental and we wish at least coffee and hot water would have been available earlier in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy38344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Pine Cottage is a good value considering other options are much more expensive. Expecting high prices and difficulty finding lodging over the 4th of July weekend, I started searching months before. Sure enough, most properties were booked, or way over budget. I opted for two rooms with shared baths at The Pine Cottage and paid only $80 per night, per room. The shared bath isn't optimal and could use some updating, at minimum a more functional shower (i.e., area to set toiletries). The rooms are simple, but they are clean. Breakfast is just okay. Overall, if you're relatively self-sufficient and low maintenance you'll manage just fine. Remember, for $80 per night you shouldn't expect the Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 on the second floor are closest to the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uwred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
898 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cottage B&B

Property: Pine Cottage B&B
Address: 1427 Bogan Lane, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine Cottage B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of quiet Bogan Lane sits one of Mackinac Island's treasured hideaways - historic Pine Cottage B&B. Tucked away from the bustling Main Street but minutes away from everything wonderful that Mackinac has to offer! Pine Cottage offers beautiful rooms with one double bed or two double beds with private or shared baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cottage Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing