We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lilac House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 14 Mackinac Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I've been staying at the Lilac House every Fourth of July for about five years. The location really can't be beat - it's on Market Street, which is one street up from Main Street and therefore much quieter but still very close to everything in town. It has a great porch out front where you can sit and watch the bikes and horses go by while enjoying breakfast or coffee. The rooms are fairly big compared to some other B&Bs on the island, and the place only has about 8 rooms so it never feels very crowded. Most rooms have a communal bathroom, but the showers work well and the bathrooms are kept very clean. Breakfast is simple - similar to an a la carte at a chain hotel (boxed cereals, milk, toast/bagels).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank batty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

Clean rooms, close to downtown, very hip owners...was a perfect trip to take thanks to LoriAnn. The price was right and I loved the relaxed "family-type" atmosphere (i.e. no soggy bagels in the morning) Pop-tarts and snacks all day!!
Highly recommend if you don't want to get gouged at the Grand...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Derek48220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I recently stayed at Lilac House over the Labor Day weekend so everything was pretty booked. I found a room at the Lilac House. It was a room with a twin bed and the floor was painted gray and had an area rug. This room did not have a private bath. Sharing a bath was okay for one night but I would not want my whole vaction to be a share bath. I have stayed in many hotels and B&B's on the island so I would just caution everyone that this a very basic B&B without much frills. It has no air or television. It is a great location and farily clean but just keep in mind it is basic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yvonnepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Perfect location walking distance to ferry, bike & horse rentals, marina, fort, spa, carriage tours, restaurants & nightlife. Great light breakfast - especially enjoyed sitting out on the porch swing with my coffee in the mornings watching the island wake up and hearing the clip clop of the horses hooves. So wonderful NOT to hear motor vehicle traffic. Cute, cozy and very clean. Owner and staff made sure we lacked for nothing. Very reasonably priced and a great bargain to other places we checked.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WeCareInKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed there one night. Nice antiques and great location. However breakfast was boxed cereals and poptarts with disposable dinnerware. Host not available for conversation and coffee urn ran dry at 8 am with a guest waiting for morning "joe". She left to get a cup from Starbucks. If you are looking for a laid back place this is for you if into self-service. Not the quality for money charge of $150.00 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank havenofrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1267
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing