We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast on the Island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuck Wagon of Mackinac

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you're looking for a reasonably priced breakfast on the island, this is the place to go. Nothing fancy, just good home-cooked food. Not overpriced like many of the island eateries. The waitstaff is friendly, the service is fast, the food is prepared the way you like it. The atmosphere is appropriate for families.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funonmackinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    152
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Best Hamburger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The fresh(unfrozen) hamburger was delicious. We enjoyed the pretzel bum and the mushroom/onion burger as well as a burger with only mustard and pickle. Haven't tasted better on Mackinac Island or anywhere else in my travels.
Friendly servers-prompt service-reasonable prices-you feel like a regular in only one visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hobartfenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

good food fast service
I understand they have killer hamburgers but we didnt get a chance to have one
very small could be an issue if they were full we got lucky
conveniently located right next door to the main st inn on the mainstreet

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paperguyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So greasy and yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stopped for lunch as I remembered the good reviews on TripAdvisor. It's a tiny little place that we nearly walked by, but was absolutely worth it. You can actually watch the line cook making all the burgers and sandwiches. It's very diner like with stools on one side of the walkway and tiny tables for 2 on the other. The prices are really good compared to other island eateries, but really the atmosphere of the place is really great. Just small town, everyone appreciates the business. We were in and out in about 20 minutes. I would absolutely recommend to anyone going to the island looking for a little inexpensive diner experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBoehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had breakfast there twice during our stay. Cozy and friendly place to eat. Typical fare and very good. We will difinitely eat there next year when we go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IMPlantlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing