We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuck Wagon of Mackinac

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casual and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My hubby and I ate here as it is rated #1 on TA. What a fun little casual place. Being the offseason, we had NO wait. I had a club sandwich. Pretty boring and basic, as sandwiches go, right? Not this one! How they made such an ordinary sandwich outstanding is, well, my semi-informed guess is perfectly hot, fresh, crisp bacon, on freshly toasted bread, everything so fresh you have to slap so it would behave! ( so sorry). Very friendly and efficient waitress. how can they be so unobtrusive in such a small restaurant? Their secret, I guess. Anyway, the best club sandwich I have ever eaten! My hubby had a hamburger, loaded with toppings, he loved his hamburger. Couldn't have been happier. And no stuffy formal restaurant for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    152
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

At the suggestion of tripadvisor and the locals we ate two breakfasts here, and it was terrific food and service and worth the wait (which can be considerable). We had the pleasure of sitting right behind the cook/chef as he demonstrated a remarkable ability to multi-task. He has a sign above his cooktop which states "This Ain't My First Rodeo", and that is obvious! Wow. This guy is awesome, as were the staff who waited on us. Great food. Don't miss the chance to eat here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank supercubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Food was outstanding. Awesome burger on pretzel bun and my wide had a patty melt. Owner is SO excellent on the grill.

Never miss this place when you go.

Phil

Helpful?
1 Thank Philthorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you don't pay attention, you will miss this place. It's a very small place, but it makes up for it with some of the best food in the downtown area. The prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is cozy. I must say they have some of the friendliest waitresses on the island. If you can take being in a small, galley-type place, then go here. Your choice of seating is to sit at the counter or less than 2 feet behind you are a row of tables lined up against the wall. If you want breakfast, get there before 10:15. They start running out of breakfast items usually around that time. They also close at 11 to prepare for the lunch crowd. Smart way to do business and definitely cuts down on the waste.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Don't let the looks deceive you, the best burgers on the island. A much better choice for breakfast than anyplace in downtown.

The owner is the one on the grill, his attention to detail shows.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tudor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing