We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only go for the food, this is a diner style restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuck Wagon of Mackinac

Chuck Wagon of Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are the smallest restaurant on Mackinac at twelve feet wide and forty feet long. We use fresh ingredients and have food delivered everyday.You can watch the cook/owner Don prepare your breakfast or lunch right in front of you.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Only go for the food, this is a diner style restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great food, very authentic old Mackinac right in the heart of the great main street. Went for the generous breakfast, expect to pay about $12 a person but it will fill you up for a long time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RNYClakelanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    152
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our group travels to the island 2-3 times a year -- breakfast for those that stay downtown is always the chuck.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Donny is the best cook!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Little hole in the wall place. Hard to find but worth it! The best burgers I've ever had and the kids ate all their food!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank StacyHamms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great food for a very reasonably price. If your going for lunch get there early because there will be a line and it fills up quick.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We loved this little restaurant. My family lucked out and found three empty seats at the counter. The place was very busy, but we received excellent service and the food was that perfect diner breakfast we love. It was simple, delicious, and quick. It seemed to be the place the locals frequented as the staff addressed many of the patrons by name. I think we have a new favorite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thumper1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuck Wagon of Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Chuck Wagon of Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing