We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Condominiums
Nearby Hotels
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$173
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
23
30
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
30
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese condosfull kitchenwoods restaurantwasher dryerdowntown areaplace to stayride bikesvisit mackinac islandper persongrand hotelunitapplewoodshuttlecouchappliancesbridgepans
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed at the Sunset Condominiums for the past three years for our anniversary. It is our favorite spot on the Island. Its a paradise all in its own: very secluded and private, but not lacking anything you could possible need! We love it :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My family and friends and I stayed here last year in June, and it was perfect for us. We rented enough space to sleep 16 and it was absolutely perfect. It was far enough away from the tourist traffic, but still close (and safe) enough for us to let the kids ride their bikes on down the hill to go run around. The kitchens were equipped enough to accommodate the whole crew and the beds were amazing. We had neighbors who didn't mind the kids and were helpful in any way they could be. When we had rainy day (we had one or two) there were enough TV's and a strong enough Wi-Fi signal for us to amuse ourselves. There was really nothing bad about the whole stay and we plan on going back. It was high season and to sleep as many as we did (and not have to stay a month like many of the rentals closer to town) we found the price to be comparable. The whole unit was beautiful, and we had awesome lake views from all of our decks.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the lofts...the views are amazing, especially when watching a storm come in.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahandJeff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I was a little nervous about staying here, because some of the comments I read on Trip Advisor were less than inspiring. My fiancé and I were pleasantly surprised by how charming the condo turned out to be.

First off, the pros: there is a microwave, stove, full size refrigerator and freezer, dishwasher, washer and dryer, and our condo had a flat screen TV with a DVD player. We took both a taxi and the shuttle to get downtown, and I found both options to be relaxing rides, and both took about the same amount of time.

Cons: the walls are thin. THIN. If you have a noisy neighbor, you will hear them. Also, our toilet was faulty, and we mentioned it to the office staff, and the toilet was still faulty when we left.

If you enjoy nature, and a decent rate per night, then the Sunset Condo are a great venue. If you have to be downtown, then look elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nardecaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My Wife and I stayed in a Patio Room for our 9/27/13 anniversary. The room was on the bottom floor of Cedarwood so not much of a view, but very nice, quiet, and fairly modern (not like some of the pics of some of the rooms that we saw). The room was VERY economical for the weekend compared to really anything else available on the Island. The shuttle worked well to bring up our luggage while we stayed in town for awhile. We actually very much enjoyed the location, the Woods Restaurant & lounge, and the lounge at the Inn at Stonecliff. It would be much more difficult to stay here if you did not bring your own bikes, but we did and had a great time biking back and forth to town and exploring the island. We have stayed on the island numerous times in the past, but this location really was a whole different experience and we now have a view of staying on the island that we never had staying in town. I would definately recommend Sunset Condos to anyone looking for a nice, quiet, different experience on Mackinac.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors for a better view. Also ask for a room with more modern decor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you don't mind being away from the "action" or you want away from it, this is a good place. Ask for a room upstairs for the best view.

Pros:
Nice view of the water. Website says there is a view of the Mackinac Bridge but in reality you can only see a small piece at least when the leaves on are on the trees. You can take a short walk to Sunset Rock where you will find a great view of the the bridge. Quiet and peaceful.

Cons:
Two miles from town. Not really a bad walk but if you make many trips it could get old. The walls are thin. If you are taking a hot shower and someone flushes the toilet, you get a scalding hot shower. Ouch! The patio "condo" is more like a larger hotel room than a condo. There is a couch with a refrigerator and microwave. Not what I call I condo but for 2 people it is fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mazma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews