We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Hotel? Not so grand after all”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel? Not so grand after all”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a horrible rip off. I booked a reservation for four people, 3 months in advance of arrival and paid for a named suite and requested the "Somewhere in Time" Suite. They placed us in a room with 1 bed which had purses on the wall for decor. The one bed was two twin beds that had been lashed together. They said there was not another room available. Check in is not until four p.m. and after a boat ride and then a carriage ride (which you pay extra for) to get there, I didn't see how we could go anywere else that night. One of us slept on a couch and the other on a roll away. The package for 3 nights cost almost $2000.00. The waiters kept messing up our food order and bringing us things we hadn't even ordered and I am sad to say the food service was poor, they kept messing up the orders.

The manager told me that I wasn't entitled to the elements of the package I had purchased because one of the elements of my package was a third night free. So I had to go to my room, pull up my confirmation on my computer, take it back down to the desk and show him that the third night free was a part of my package.

The ice cream social was outside on the porch with very little seating. The nightly movie, which I was told when I made my reservation was in the hotel theater ended up being in a side room with a projector screen and folding chairs because they had rented out the theater for a private function.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,619
    363
    178
    141
    84
See reviews for
655
1,064
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My mother and I visited the Grand Hotel (which we hadn't done since the '70's) and found this beautiful hotel needed some work. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous and the views from the porch are really beautiful. The rooms are nicely appointed, but showing their age (wallpaper peeling in spots, rugs look worn) and the walls are thin. You very clearly can hear your neighbors or people in the hall. Worst of all is the food. With your stay, breakfast and dinner is usually inclusive and I wish it wasn't. They have the tradition of dressing for dinner and I think if you have to "dress" for dinner then dinner should reflect the tradition. I had very dull and uninspired food. Breakfast even was lackluster and something I could have skipped. For a hotel which charges $10 for someone to just visit the hotel and grounds for the day, I expect a far better food service than I experienced.

Room Tip: Get a room with the "porch view" and you can't miss as far as views go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank ktmccb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Grand Hotel was a perfect place to celebrate our 36th anniversary. Beautiful gardens, beautiful veranda with white wicker rocking chairs and 8 mile road around the island to bike or take a horse and carriage.Excellent meals.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRSWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Mackinaw Island is a charming island and the Grand Hotel is an historic hotel there. It is a very large hotel and very elegant.

The rooms were satisfactory, the service was very good. The restaurant is enormous and it overwhelmed us. The second night we ate at The Jockey Club on the premisses. The food and ambiance were more to our liking. The service there was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantor Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lothrop, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Wonderful hotel and beautiful surrondings no cars allowed so travel by foot, horseback,carriage or bikes..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have been to the Grand Hotel several times and have NEVER been anything less than blown away. Mackinac Island is a very special and unique experience. But a stay at the Grand Hotel always puts it way over the top. Relaxed atmosphere. World-class service. Excellent dining. My favorite place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadillacCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stayed at the Grand before and have loved every unique thing about it. The views of the Mackinaw Bridge, Island, and Lake Huron are stunning. If you stay and have the evening dinner included, take the carrige ride to The Woods Restaruant, also owned and operated by the Grand Hotel. You won't be dissapointed. It is truely a unique dining experience. I am looking forward to returning with my family next summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a bridge or lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing