We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel that is like a cruise, with golf, and NO TIPPING!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel that is like a cruise, with golf, and NO TIPPING!”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

loved this hotel. It had everything I get on a cruise, plus golf. Meals were included and the service and menu choices put one very much in mind of a cruise. The wine list was extensive and reasonable, and the price on the menu was the price you paid, plus a small tax, as there was no tipping in the hotel.

We had a room called the Teddy Roosevelt Lodge, and the decor was consistent with the name - a hunting lodge complete with animal head trophies, stuffed bird lamp, animal horns and a chair made from horns, dark color fabrics and wood. We liked the room but a member of PETA would have had a heart attack. We did not have a room overlooking the lake, but we did have a private patio with a table and chairs. Other rooms did not have names, and I don't know what they looked like, but I understand each is different.

The decor in the hotel is shockingly colorful, but it works very well. Bright green rugs with bright red geraniums in the hallway, green and white striped chairs in the dining room. It is all very cheerful and fun.

Before dinner, weather permitting, cocktails on the porch that spans much of the building is quite nice. The bar is set up right outside so it is easy to get drinks.

Dinner is open seating, tables for two or more as you enter the Salle a Manger.

After dinner, there was a harpist in the parlor, a very long room that looks out over the lake was accompanied by included expressor served from a very pretty urn by uniformed staff.

To top off the evening, there was a very good band playing in the Terrace (not really a terrace but a ball room). Their music spanned big band and old time rock and roll, and they were good. There was no cover charge, but you could buy drinks if you chose.

Next day, golf on the course was interesting. The front nine had almost the appearance of playing on the lawy of a very large estate, though there was challenge for a poor golfer like me. To get to the back nine you got into a horse drawn carriage and travelled with your clubs to the Woods course, which is extraordinarily beautiful and more difficult than the front. The half hour plus interval is off putting for a real golfer, but part of the ambiance of the island.

The island has no cars, just horse drawn vehicles and bikes (though the golf carts were gas powered). This is more quaint and charming when you contemplate it than it is in practice. When you arrive on the ferry, the pungent odor of the horses (etc.) greets you. In addition, travel is very slow in the carts. You can get around as well by walking, and the scenery makes a stroll very inviting.

I like this well enough to make it an annual trip but for the fact of getting there from Texas. I still may look into it instead of cruising as we did enjoy the golf at the hotel and there is a municipal course as well. And the views are breathtaking.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    393
    188
    150
    86
See reviews for
702
1,140
55
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

As I write I have just completed my stay at this hotel as part of a recent conference. If you wish to select a stay with "old world charm" with all the current amenities this is it!

First, the porch is gorgeous and nearly 500 feet with wonderful white rockers to "sit a spell" and enjoy the view to the Mackinaw Bridge. I must saw rocking on this porch was a highlight and I looked at opportunities to rock my self to peace and calm.

The decor is elegant and definately not boring. Each of the rooms is individually done with a warm and inviting feel. I found out approximately 20 are re done each year. If you can, try to score a front of the hotel room as it looks over the water.

The remainder of the hotel is wonderfully appointed and definately not your typical hotel feel. Rather, there are luxery carpets, crystal chandeliers, soft chairs to lounge in the parlor (yes , you heard right). In the evening the parlor hosts a complimentary after dinner coffee (demitasse) service with a harpist to complete the mood. All in all it is very airy, cheerful and luxurous (sp?)

Each evening there is an orchestra that plays in the ballroom (reworking of all time music favorites) formal dress i.e. no jeans, khakis etc are required. This really is quite wonderful as it provided a special opportunity to enjoy another kind of "living it up". WHen I went to listen to the orchestra persons from young and old seemed to enjoy their opportunity to "dance with the stars" and be the star in this lovely experience.

The food was wonderful, whether the free (quite filling) continental breakfast in the Geranium Bar or the more formal breakfast in the dining area you will not be disappointed. Try to get a table by the window for the wonderful view.

Getting there. All transport is by foot , bicycle and or horse drawn carriage. Your bags are (easily and freely) brought to your hotel from the ferry dock. Try to take a carriage up to the hotel for a wonderfully elegant start to a wonderfully and thoroughly elegant stay.

P.S. I overheard some guests say there are special hotel packages available that provide food, room and golf for about $95 a night. P.s.s Movie screenings are held nightly for movies such as "Somewhere in Time" filmed at the Grand Hotel over the years.

If you want to treat yourself or experience it with a special someone do consider the Grand. There is lots to see and do much of it very walkable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usacountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Once again i have stayed at this wonderful historic hotel for a weekend of music, meeting old friends who return every year , meeting new friends and enjoying the fine hospitality of this hotel coupled with great music all weekend and almost of the day and evenong for the entire weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skifree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We enjoyed our very first stay at the Grand, - it was a wonderful experience. Staff was friendly and helpful, grounds were breathtaking, and the room was charming! Would recommend this property to everyone - well worth the extra $$ to stay. Dinner was delicious - chance to try new things, as well as some favorites. Breakfast was good, also. It was an experience everyone should try - especially if you live in Michigan! Best place in the world in the summer time!

Room Tip: Lakeside view is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a horrible rip off. I booked a reservation for four people, 3 months in advance of arrival and paid for a named suite and requested the "Somewhere in Time" Suite. They placed us in a room with 1 bed which had purses on the wall for decor. The one bed was two twin beds that had been lashed together. They said there was not another room available. Check in is not until four p.m. and after a boat ride and then a carriage ride (which you pay extra for) to get there, I didn't see how we could go anywere else that night. One of us slept on a couch and the other on a roll away. The package for 3 nights cost almost $2000.00. The waiters kept messing up our food order and bringing us things we hadn't even ordered and I am sad to say the food service was poor, they kept messing up the orders.

The manager told me that I wasn't entitled to the elements of the package I had purchased because one of the elements of my package was a third night free. So I had to go to my room, pull up my confirmation on my computer, take it back down to the desk and show him that the third night free was a part of my package.

The ice cream social was outside on the porch with very little seating. The nightly movie, which I was told when I made my reservation was in the hotel theater ended up being in a side room with a projector screen and folding chairs because they had rented out the theater for a private function.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My mother and I visited the Grand Hotel (which we hadn't done since the '70's) and found this beautiful hotel needed some work. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous and the views from the porch are really beautiful. The rooms are nicely appointed, but showing their age (wallpaper peeling in spots, rugs look worn) and the walls are thin. You very clearly can hear your neighbors or people in the hall. Worst of all is the food. With your stay, breakfast and dinner is usually inclusive and I wish it wasn't. They have the tradition of dressing for dinner and I think if you have to "dress" for dinner then dinner should reflect the tradition. I had very dull and uninspired food. Breakfast even was lackluster and something I could have skipped. For a hotel which charges $10 for someone to just visit the hotel and grounds for the day, I expect a far better food service than I experienced.

Room Tip: Get a room with the "porch view" and you can't miss as far as views go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank ktmccb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Grand Hotel was a perfect place to celebrate our 36th anniversary. Beautiful gardens, beautiful veranda with white wicker rocking chairs and 8 mile road around the island to bike or take a horse and carriage.Excellent meals.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRSWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing