We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly "Grand"”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly "Grand"”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed for two nights in late june. The weather on the island was awful, but we had an amazing time!
The hotel has amazing service. We had a room on the first floor. It was lovely, with a lake view, but it was a bit small. The first night, the people above us were making so much noise at four in the morning and the people in the hallway were quite loud. The next morning, we complained to the front desk, and they moved us to a larger, more luxurious room on the fourth floor. It was so quiet and nice! The front desk was very professional and understanding throughout the whole process. The staff in the dining room were also very nice. Whenever we asked them to take something off a certain dish, (allergies), they would.
The food was the only part of the hotel that wasn't amazing. The breakfast was good, eggs, bacon, pancakes, and smoothies, and the lunch buffet was interesting. The dinner was not bad but not great. The appetizers lacked flavor, the salads were decent, and the main courses seemed to be prepared to serve a large amount of people, almost like cruise ship food. The dessert, however, was AMAZING! I had a wonderful chocolate cherry cake that everyone at our table tried the first night and then ordered the second. I'd come back for the cake, certainly. There is also a dress code after 6:30 PM, so it's fun to dress up for dinner.
Like I said, the weather when we visited was terrible, fifty degrees or sixty degrees. However, we still could enjoy the heated pool when it was freezing an drizzling rain out. The pool would certainly be fun in hotter weather.
The decor at the hotel was also cool. It was very old fashioned and there were certainly bold color choices and mismatched rugs. It all fit together in a truly amazing way. Some other reviews complained about vinyl couches, but the furniture totally fit in with the cottage-y old fashioned feel of the place. The lobby also had an interesting array of little shops, including an art gallery, a cafe, and a candy cart. There was also a screening room where you could watch "Somewhere in Time", a movie filmed at the Grand in the 1950s. Interesting touch!
We will definitely be back next summer. We had an amazing time and will probably make plans on the spur-of-the-moment, as we want to enjoy the island when the weather is nice.

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a view, go for an interior-view room. They are large and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kennedyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Great information provided, thank you for your review. Sorry about the weather, if only we could control such things we would love to! Maybe on your next visit the weather will cooperate better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,681
    375
    181
    146
    86
See reviews for
682
1,100
53
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a beautiful piece of history that allows you to come in and look around. As a hotel it is as glamorous as it looks and the food is impeccable. It is one of the finest "old school" resorts in the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
While you are here taking a look around, be sure to try the Grand Luncheon Buffet for an experience you will not soon forget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, MI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Wow, Every aspect of this hotel is a bit of old fashioned class. When the guests all get dressed after 6pm, it makes for a wonderful experience. Probably the only place I know that retains the turn of the century charm and elegance. Nicest place I have ever stayed. .... it's the whole experience that makes this place special.

Room Tip: Pick what you can afford.. I didn't stay in the room much so it didn't matter to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Have been to the Grand Hotel 3 times and will return this year. After my first stay I realized a vacation to Mackinac Island requires a stay at the Grand Hotel. The beautiful architecture, gardens full of butterfly, lawns, pool, dated decor... ..all add to the charm of this hotel. Dinner at a table overlooking the straits, bridge and grounds of the Grand offers one of the most beautiful views in the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stepped back in time to a wonderful weekend at the Grand.

Food, service, and the grounds exceeded our high expectations. This isn't for young adults looking to party, but for people looking to splurge at one of the finest "old school" resorts in the world.

Please get out and explore the grounds. Go up to the Cupola Bar, walk through the gardens, experience every square inch of this place! Go to the bars hidden in the woods and go candle-pin bowling. What a weekend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aww3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel is a cultural and historical jewel located in a stunning natural setting -- definitely worth the money. Take the horse-drawn carriage up the hill, enjoy the view of the lake from the front porch, swim in the pool, hike or bike around the periphery of the island. In the evening, dine on delicious food in the beautiful formal dining room, then enjoy the coffee service with harp accompanyment in the sumptuous lobby, followed by dancing in the ballroom. The service is impeccable -- you will feel like you have stepped back in time. What a place of rest/relaxation/renewal/fun. Not to be missed -- rare American experience in unique setting.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and some have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redbirdseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Such a beautiful Hotel that really knows how to treat it's guests. Beautiful rooms and good service. The island is teaming with tourists but if you aren't a guest you can't go on the grounds with out paying so it's kept pretty quiet. my husband and I love this place and would go back all the time if we could! The food at their restaurant is also amazing all courses!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing