We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel and Staff”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Solomons, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Best 4th of July you could ever imagine and more!!! Fabulous Hotel on a Beautiful Island....
Travel back in time...no cars...just bikes and horse and buggy or carriage. Lovely weather every day!!Great food,music and even a carnival for the whole family! A Wonderful family vacation!!!!We had the opportunity to stay in the Royal Suite, the Napolean Suite ,the Presidential Suite and on the Millenium Wing on our many visits to the Grand.
We even had our family reunion there several years ago and they rolled out the red carpet for us...it was unbelievable!!! This year will mark our 10th stay at the Grand!!!

Room Tip: Make your reservations early for the 4th of July and add on as many days as you can ...it is well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,649
    365
    178
    143
    85
See reviews for
668
1,076
52
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were there with family last summer and had a wonderful time. Our package included dinner and breakfast and both meals were wonderful and staff was very friendly. Kids enjoyed the pool and horse carriage rides. Our room was a little far and small. We did not expect the luggage to take as long as it did to arrive to our room, so plan ahead and pack bathing suits in your handbag which you take with you from the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Six of us traveled to Mackinac Island after having been there many years before. Memories of the Grand Hotel as a very special place brought us all back there. Since we were only on the island for the day and thus not registered guests, we had to pay a ten dollar admission fee to even enter the hotel. We wanted to experience the "Grand Luncheon Buffet", and were ushered upstairs to the vast dining room, where we were immediately struck by the beauty of the historic, well-preserved space.

Non-guests are only permitted to dine at the hotel for the "Grand Luncheon Buffet". For $40, we were expecting nothing less than a fabulous experience.

We paid for our meals in advance (cafeteria-style), and the six of us were seated at a round table for four. Although the room is expansive, all of the "luncheon" riffraff were squeezed into a corner of the otherwise empty room. We were so close to other tables that the servers could not maneuver around ours, which led to a lot of reaching in front of us - so much for Victorian manners.

Now for the food:

Overall, it was on par with a $19.95 lunch buffet.

- To encourage minimal consumption, the plates at all stations except for the entrees were small, salad-size plates. For a slightly indulgent "luncheon", this meant about ten trips.

- For $40, one would expect at least a complimentary glass of champagne, or even soft drinks - but no. Instead, coffee, tea, lemonade, milk, and water were free. Mimosas and bloodies? $10.

- The "salad bar" had one kind of lettuce, and two types of dressing.

- All of the pre-cut portions were extraordinarily small.

- The shrimp were 15-20 count at best - and had to be peeled!

- The salmon and smoked fish plates were empty during a number of our many return visits to the buffet.

- All meat offerings were unrecognizable and served at room temperature. For this price, we were expecting a carvery of beef tenderloin. Instead, a desultory employee was serving pressed turkey breast (not making that up). The beef course was an unknown cut with gravy that could have been from a can.

- Dessert portions were child-sized and the offerings were again truly unremarkable. In Michigan, one hopes for amazing pies - the Grand Hotel's appeared to have been prepared with canned fruit. Cookies paled in comparison to those offered in the plastic containers at our local chain grocery store.

As an additional affront, Grand Hotel employees from all departments are welcome to join the "Grand Luncheon Buffet" guests in the 25% of the dining room into which we were squeezed. What atmosphere - We felt so special!

All in all, a grand disappointment at the Grand Hotel. Pay the $10 to enter the hotel and meander its stunning public spaces. Do not waste an extra $30 on this most disappointing "luncheon buffet".

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Marker_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hotel as part of a women's retreat. My group had 3 rooms, We sent all the registrations together so were received the same time. The other 2 rooms had lake views, one of the rooms had a balcony. My room was an interior room that had a view of the roof. The room was very pretty and clean. The TV was a small flatscreen sitting on a table in the corner of the room.

The sight of the hotel as you are walking up the hill toward it is really magnificent. The view from the porch is beautiful. The inside just didn't WOW me. It's nice enough, but I expected GRAND. It just didn't live up to my expectations of elegance.

My only complaint would be that they don't hire locals in the dining room. Our waiters were from Jamaica and Philippines. Their English was very hard to understand.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a lake view.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank CLEMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I recently had an opportunity to celebrate the 125th anniversary of The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. We came away amazed at the reception, the accomodations, and the service we received! The Barbara Bush presidential suite was plush and comfortable with a view of the Mackinac Bridge right from our bed!! The meals at the Grand are comparable to eating at a 5-star restaurant! The wait staff could not have been more attentive and friendly. The grounds are spacious and sprawling and the flower beds are meticulously tended. If you are looking for a unique, relaxing vacation, The Grand is the way to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, MI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I travelled to the Grand with my husband and our one year old for her birthday and for mother's day. there are a few things that I read in other reviews that I want to mention. Quality of rooms - they aren't 5 star by any means. But they're clean and in an 'old fashioned' theme. By no means would I throw myself onto the bed crying over it. And I think reading the other reviews and seeing the pictures on the hotel we had enough of a warning about that. We had a view of the roof (boo) and two double beds (boo), but oh well. We weren't there for teh quality of the room, but for the experience of the Grand overall.

Dinner was great, breakfast was great. they rush you a bit, but that was fine for us with a one year old. She was a bit overwhelmed by it all and made a mess all over the dining room (sorry!). There are a lot of activities and the grounds are nice to walk around. The pool wasn't open but if it were, I would imagine it would be nice. I think three days / two nights was teh perfect amount of time. We got to do some fun things, but not there for too long.

You pay $4.50 for a taxi ride, but for us worth it with a stroller and a baby. But if you don't have to carry a bunch of stuff and want to save the money, it's not a far walk to the hotel.

We did have to request the cleaning people to come to our room because we were gone until about 2pm, came back, and room not cleaned. Once we left again and came back it was clean, so issue was taken care of.

Amenities aren't anything spectacular, but the nice thing was a bathtub so we could give our daughter a bath rather than shower with her.

I like the grand. It is not the four seasons in term of the room, but it is an experience in itself and is like stepping back into the past.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqs924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I was fortunate enough to go on this trip with my mother, and sister in-law and her mother for the Mother's day weekend special. We left from Shepplers dock in Mackinac city, Where we were greeted like long lost friends when we pulled into the parking lot, before we could get out of the car someone was standing there waiting to take our luggage to the ferry. We never had to touch it! and it appeared in our room! A bit of advice when riding the ferry, if you ride on top you WILL get wet! once you arrive you are greeted by horse drawn taxis awaiting to take you to the hotel. The taxi is $4.75 per person anywhere you want to take it. You may also choose to walk to the hotel but be advised it is uphill all the way! As you pull up to the beautiful Grand Hotel you are in awe it is most impressive. You are greeted by the bellman. Check in is a breeze. Starting at 6 pm there is a cocktail reception, then dinner begins with wonderful 5 course meals, dessert to die for and unbelievable service! Also if you are concerned about the children and what they might eat, they have not been forgotten. There is a fantastic buffet set up just for them with mac n cheese, pizza, hot dogs, etc. and a dessert table with m&m's, gummy worms, cookies, Marshmallows dipped in chocolate and rolled in graham crackers, The views out the windows are spectacular. After dinner you can sit in the rocking chairs on the longest front porch watching the sunset over the Mackinac straights with the bridge in the background. Play games in the trophy room or go dancing to the live music. Don't miss out on the high tea in the afternoon it was a wonderful experience. The breakfast was also not to be missed. If you choose to stay here be prepared to be impressed and have a memory of a lifetime! I can't say enough about it. And most important thing of all is Don't forget the FUDGE!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muralsbymichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing