We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Photos and the website are not able to do justice to the atmosphere, spectacular views, and truely special feel to this hotel. The staff are helpful, courteous, cheerful and precise. The decor is from another time and when experienced feels very different from the looking at pictures. My husband and I did not know quite what to expect. Highlights of the trip included a wonderful lunch at the pool bar, playing croquet on the lawn, tea in the salon complete with harp music, sunning on the porch, and meals in the beautiful dining room. Our room was exquisite with comfortable chairs, flowered accents and a spectacular view. There is a dress code after 6:30pm which adds to the tone. This seems to be a popular place for large family events like anniversaries etc. One should be prepared for a great number of children at this venue. For the most part this is not a problem. The children are well occupied with games and outdoor play. They are a charming addition to dinner with both the boys and girls dressed in their best clothes and using thier best manners. However, we were disappointed that children were allowed in the Terrace lounge which features a live band and is a wonderful space for dancing. There were a sizable number of adults, including us, who came to dance only to have the floor taken over by a number of twirling and jumping children encouraged by adoring parents and grandparents. This happened both nights but was much worse the second evening. Since dancing does not start until after 9:30pm it was unexpected to have children at this venue. At times any kind of adult dancing became almost impossible due to this behavior. I hope that the hotel reconsiders and makes this an adult only space. We did manage to dance in spite of the disruption and will likely return for the ballroom dance weekend. All of the music at the hotel is wonderful, adding to the atmosphere of quiet gentility. I hope everyone has an opportunity to step back in time through visiting this wonderful hotel. This is one place that is truely worth the price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel have spectacular vies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAMChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,619
    363
    178
    141
    84
See reviews for
655
1,064
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingsford
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Everybody should do the Grand at least once in their lives. Put it on your bucket list. We just returned from a weekend stay and I miss it already. Every staff person that we encountered was friendly and polite. Sure it costs, but there is no tipping. The breakfasts and dinners are wonderful. Anything you need is brought to your room. Our balcony overlooked the town with the Mackinac bridge on our right. Your luggage will be hauled from the dock and brought to your room while you walk or take a $4.75 taxi (horsedrawn of course) up the hill to the hotel. Use the $5 vallet service with the Arnold line ferry and your car and luggage will be waiting when you get off the return boat. Ferry costs keep rising and I was surprised to find regular adult fares at $24 for a round trip. It certainly makes family day trips to the island a fairly pricey excursion.

Room Tip: I know 342 is a large king bed room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank javo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were at the Grand Hotel Mackinac Island for Mothers day weekend.
The room was large, as it fit four of us. It was adequate and clean.
We did not make it to the welcome reception as our bags did not make it to our room until 5:30-6:00. I was a little upset at that. The next night they had another reception but there was nothing on the "what is going on today" at the Grand, paperwork. Had I know I would have made my boys move a little quicker so I could have tried some of the house wine.
It was beautifully decorated, they cater to your every need. My son has a peanut allergy and they were very kind to help us decipher the menu each night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This was our second stay at Grand Hotel in less than 8 months. My wife & I adore everything about the atmosphere / culture at this facility, but two things really stood out on this visit:

The wine sommelier - Adam Leemon. We spent less than 30 seconds describing the typical wines we like, and Adam made a recommendation that ended up as "perfection". Please check him out at http://www.adamthewineguy.com/.

The hotel carriage ride drivers - Shelby & Jeff. Both extremely knowledgeable about the horse breeds on the island and the history of the hotel. Friendly, professional & courteous...

We're looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clintsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solomons, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Best 4th of July you could ever imagine and more!!! Fabulous Hotel on a Beautiful Island....
Travel back in time...no cars...just bikes and horse and buggy or carriage. Lovely weather every day!!Great food,music and even a carnival for the whole family! A Wonderful family vacation!!!!We had the opportunity to stay in the Royal Suite, the Napolean Suite ,the Presidential Suite and on the Millenium Wing on our many visits to the Grand.
We even had our family reunion there several years ago and they rolled out the red carpet for us...it was unbelievable!!! This year will mark our 10th stay at the Grand!!!

Room Tip: Make your reservations early for the 4th of July and add on as many days as you can ...it is well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were there with family last summer and had a wonderful time. Our package included dinner and breakfast and both meals were wonderful and staff was very friendly. Kids enjoyed the pool and horse carriage rides. Our room was a little far and small. We did not expect the luggage to take as long as it did to arrive to our room, so plan ahead and pack bathing suits in your handbag which you take with you from the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Six of us traveled to Mackinac Island after having been there many years before. Memories of the Grand Hotel as a very special place brought us all back there. Since we were only on the island for the day and thus not registered guests, we had to pay a ten dollar admission fee to even enter the hotel. We wanted to experience the "Grand Luncheon Buffet", and were ushered upstairs to the vast dining room, where we were immediately struck by the beauty of the historic, well-preserved space.

Non-guests are only permitted to dine at the hotel for the "Grand Luncheon Buffet". For $40, we were expecting nothing less than a fabulous experience.

We paid for our meals in advance (cafeteria-style), and the six of us were seated at a round table for four. Although the room is expansive, all of the "luncheon" riffraff were squeezed into a corner of the otherwise empty room. We were so close to other tables that the servers could not maneuver around ours, which led to a lot of reaching in front of us - so much for Victorian manners.

Now for the food:

Overall, it was on par with a $19.95 lunch buffet.

- To encourage minimal consumption, the plates at all stations except for the entrees were small, salad-size plates. For a slightly indulgent "luncheon", this meant about ten trips.

- For $40, one would expect at least a complimentary glass of champagne, or even soft drinks - but no. Instead, coffee, tea, lemonade, milk, and water were free. Mimosas and bloodies? $10.

- The "salad bar" had one kind of lettuce, and two types of dressing.

- All of the pre-cut portions were extraordinarily small.

- The shrimp were 15-20 count at best - and had to be peeled!

- The salmon and smoked fish plates were empty during a number of our many return visits to the buffet.

- All meat offerings were unrecognizable and served at room temperature. For this price, we were expecting a carvery of beef tenderloin. Instead, a desultory employee was serving pressed turkey breast (not making that up). The beef course was an unknown cut with gravy that could have been from a can.

- Dessert portions were child-sized and the offerings were again truly unremarkable. In Michigan, one hopes for amazing pies - the Grand Hotel's appeared to have been prepared with canned fruit. Cookies paled in comparison to those offered in the plastic containers at our local chain grocery store.

As an additional affront, Grand Hotel employees from all departments are welcome to join the "Grand Luncheon Buffet" guests in the 25% of the dining room into which we were squeezed. What atmosphere - We felt so special!

All in all, a grand disappointment at the Grand Hotel. Pay the $10 to enter the hotel and meander its stunning public spaces. Do not waste an extra $30 on this most disappointing "luncheon buffet".

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Marker_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing