We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

One of the grand hotels of a bygone era. The only disappointment was the sleeping accommodations. I had requested a Category III room with 2 beds. Apparently their idea of two beds is a queensize and a rollaway. I had booked the room nine months previous to arrival and called several times to reconfirm my request for 2 beds and was assured it was noted. Upon arrival and discovering only one bed, the front desk said rooms weren't assigned until check in, and that a 2 bed room was not available. Major letdown. They delivered a rollaway shortly thereafter.
The food was very good, although the dining room was always crowded and the noise level was higher than what I expected from such a refined establishment. Other than that, the rest of our stay was wonderful. The grounds were beautiful, and it was an easy walk to the shopping district downtown.
For the price, I'm not sure I'd recommend The Grand, unless one bed is all you need, as that's the only accommodation that is guaranteed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,615
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
653
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

It seems almost pointlless to submit a review for the Grand Hotel. It has been a classic location for 125 years. We have stayed there a number of times during the past 25 yrs and its excellence hasn't changed. A few details have changed to keep it up to date but there is no aspect of this hotel that isn't excellent. Perhaps you could point to the lack of motorized transportation as a problem but we look at it as an opportunity to obtain the exercise that we always promise ourselves daily anyway. Do be aware that the carriage ride from your favorite ferry company to the hotel after you arrive (or back to the dock when you depart) is not free -- typically about $5 per adult. There is lots to do for adults or children without resorting to "forced" activities. The pool is fabulous, especially for the younger crowd. The golfing is outstanding. They had a terrific tennis coach who made our 7-yr old granddaughter remarkably improve in just two patient, thoughtful, challenging lessons. The food was fabulous. No repeated dinner menu items during our four day stay; many different, amazing choices. The breakfast buffet could not be beaten. When it comes to the room, their service reminds you of the way most other top hotels treated you in days gone by. Nightly bed turndowns with mints on your pillow. Clean bedding each day. Seems like this should be taken for granted but if you have stayed elsewhere, you know that cost-pressures typically have cut this out. Get there while it's still open this fall!

Room Tip: We stayed on Floor 2 in the "new wing." Excellent room, well-appointed, air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimgreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your review! It sounds like your family had a wonderful time and we always enjoy hearing that. We hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagp
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have very mixed feelings as I do this review. Loved the island. It has more historical sites than I anticipated and I really enjoyed walking around. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the public areas were fun. There was a real sense of history. However, our room was a disappointment. Even with our third night free plan, the room averaged over $500 a night including breakfast and dinner. It was a category 3 room so had a nice view, but also had a bathroom right out of a roadside motel - plastic tub surround, single sink, cheap finishes. There was a tiny TV on the desk. We didn't want to watch anyway, but I haven't seen a TV like that in a hotel in years. There were no robes in the room, although other reviewers did mention robes. The other disappointment was the Grand Dining Room. Definitely avoid the lunch buffet. It was over run with tour groups. Dinner was somewhat better, but still crowded, hectic, noisy and rushed. The second day we found the Jockey Club which can be substituted for the Dining Room in the meal plan. It was quiet and relaxed with good food and much better service. Another reviewer mentioned amenities that came with a premium room. They definitely weren't included with ours. So - mixed feelings. You can pay $10 per person to visit the hotel as a non guest - might explain some of the crowding - although I don't think you can use the pool. Staying at a less expensive place and doing that might be a good option.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the dining room. They were added when it was converted from two stories to one. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I'm not accustomed to staying at such an exclusive hotel, but could get used to it. I took advantage of a special the Grand Hotel ran for its 125th anniversary. We had a cocktail reception, dinner, dancing, breakfast, and Grand Buffet luncheon in our package. Also golf, but didn't use due to rain. For a historic hotel it is beautiful beyond compare. The staff is amazing and is the reason we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our Celebrate Michigan special and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Beautiful island, upgraded to the Lincoln room off of the front porch. The food at the hotel is amazing. We're vegetarians and so is the chef so we were wowed at the quality and interesting flavors.

I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepmovingpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are honored you chose Grand Hotel for your honeymoon and hope to see you back for many anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel really is grand. First the good. The hotel is gigantic, so there are many places to roam, relax, have cocktails, play tennis, watch movies or you can sit on the big "grand" porch and read. The decor is nice, it is grand in scale, and it is over the top in brightness and patterns. I liked it, although my preference is for the modern look, but I knew that before coming to the Grand. The place has the ambiance of "somewhere in time,” the place reminds you of how the Titanic may have been decorated or times when "Gone with the Wind" decor existed...but, it is tastefully done. The rooms, including mine were decorated with the same old world charm. Some are much larger than others, so if you have a family of more than 3-4 do ask for two queens or a suite. Be prepared to pay from $500-$800 a night. That is right, because it is grand, and you will pay for the "grandness." If you want a view, and I would suggest that you get one, you will pay at least the $800.00 or more a night. You should make sure that you are guaranteed your room, prior to paying. If they say they will try...do not take that answer. Therefore, the bad is the beds and pillows (at the lower price) horrible. The good is that next summer they will all be replaced. Included in the bad is the 5-course dinner. Some will disagree but it is not spectacular! It is not a culinary delight as you might think. Although, breakfast is fabulous and we loved it! A delightful young man name Daniel helped me who is the Front Desk Manager. He is definately angel material. Thank you Daniel! We had a problem and he helped solve it. One other thing, most of the staff is from Jamaica, Thai, China or the Phillipines. Most really seemed to like their job and many are students. The hotel is very convinient to everything on the Island.

Room Tip: You will pay if you are not on the All American Plan - our bill at the Jockey club was $290.00 for 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finicky_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We also appreciate your review of dinner in the Main Dining Room. Reviews like yours help us to improve where needed. Your comments are appreciated and will be shared with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Lovely, wonderful, perfect! If you can afford to stay, do it since a place like this is living history and cannot be found anywhere else in the world. The food is fabulous and the service lovely. It is expensive and difficult to get to but worth the effort.

Room Tip: Top dollar equals top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Especially appreciated is your comment about the hotel being "living history". We strive to insure that our guest appreciate the history of Grand Hotel and it sounds as if you did during your stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing