We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice, Grand Place to Visit”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Nice, Grand Place to Visit”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My family and I have visited Mac Island a number of times over the past few decades. Always fun if you are a sailor and enjoy the Mac Race. Remember there are no cars on this island, just horses and bicycles. This lovely, historic hotel is remote and sits majestically over the island as if it were holding court. It is old and they have tried very hard to update as much as they possibly can. The rooms/ beds are small and expensive; larger rooms with balconies are absurdly expensive. Only for the rich or those wanting to be viewed as rich. Yes the AC is very nice to have as open windows afford the aroma of horses - alot of horses. The Grand's famous porch is fabulous with its comfortable rocking chairs and large scale chess board; the Esther Williams pool was a bit of a disappointment, dirty and walled off. Grill/Food/ Bar Service at the pool was poor and very slow - unlike service anywhere else on the property. In fact, the service is what makes this place stand out; the staff is so attentive at every turn. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept. They have the processes down to a science - and that is so helpful. From the ferry to check- in and out...you do not need to lift a finger. Housekeeping is wonderfully attentive and the little extra touches are very nice and calming.

Room Tip: If you can bring your bicycles as it is very costly to rent - the farther you are away from the dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAM360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,771
    406
    193
    152
    87
See reviews for
725
1,164
55
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My family and I decided to stay at the Grand Hotel for our first time while we were on Mackinac Island. We have stayed at many of the other hotels on the island previously and figured it was about time we tried the Grand Hotel.

We booked our room by calling the hotel a couple months before our trip. We explained to them that we had 4 people and we would need four beds. The man on the phone said that we would be given a special room and we would be so impressed when we got there.

When we walked into the room, I can assure you our first reaction was not that of awe, more of disappointment. It was just one very large room with two beds. I went down to talk to the manager thinking we had been given the wrong room, but he assured me this was the correct room.

We had been completely misled by the man whom we had booked the room through on the phone, and two of us ended up sleeping on rollaway beds, that left us with sore necks and backs in the morning.

The manager did say that he would only charge us the price for a room cheaper than ours, but honestly we would rather have paid extra for a bigger room, than to have to stay in the small room, but the hotel was booked.

The front desk staff were completely unpleasant every time I had to deal with them, and as much as I loved the hotel, I do not think I would stay here again.

Other than the staff, the hotel was very lovely as everyone else has said, the dinner was excellent, and enjoying cocktails on the porch was a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My family has been coming here every few years as a special treat splurge for years. It's still quite a blast from the past to visit there, but they've modernized it a LOT over the past decade or so. Thank goodness they have air conditioning now! Most of the guests are "old money" types of people and the place really has that feel to it, but I can still appreciate it for what it is: first and foremost, a historical landmark. The porch is incredible and there's nothing like sitting in one of the rocking chairs, sipping a drink and watching the ships go by. The rooms are hilariously, gaudily decorated, but that's part of their "thing," and each room has a different theme. The staff are extremely plentiful and helpful, everyone is very nice and accommodating. It's a bit of a hike to town, and if you're biking, you'll have fun getting back up the hill! The food is a league all its own. Breakfast and dinner are (I'm pretty sure) always included and the lunch buffet is optional. I would suggest only doing the lunch buffet once because you'll have SO much for breakfast and dinner there, it just gets ridiculous with the extensive buffet too. I never go down to the dining room for breakfast because their room service breakfast is seriously the BEST I've ever had, and I've been in top hotels all over the world. You can go crazy and choose all kinds of options (except for the main dishes; those are 1 per person) or simply one of everything and also order extra things that aren't listed on the menu - they'll bring it. And dinner is also quite an experience with course after course of incredible, world-class gourmet cuisine. After dinner, it's my favorite to go for a walk up the hill at the backside of the hotel, then sit on the porch for a while, then go and have a drink and dance a little in the jazz bar, then up to the Cupola Bar. Always love the Grand!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We didn't stay here but we visited the beautiful porch of this historic hotel. We were able to sit and enjoy a cocktail while taking in the breathtaking views. Just great! We can't wait to visit and hopefully stay overnight and take in the ambiance of this great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My family and another family stayed at The Grand Hotel the first week of August. Our children's ages were 8, 9 and 13 (2). At first, we had mixed feelings about the rooms, but we all became realistic that this is not a new hotel. Both of our rooms overlooked an alley, but we did book in June. However, the service, the experience and the food more than made up for the view from the rooms. The grounds are meticulously kept and the service was outstanding. The food was excellent and we all commented that we felt like we were on a cruise ship and back in time. The view from the large porch that is a trademark of this beautiful hotel was breathtaking. I would highly recommend enjoying a cocktail and the view in one of the rocking chairs on the porch. The experience at The Grand Hotel that my children had is something that we will never forget. Their pool was relaxing and wonderful. They also have tennis courts, croquet, bocci ball, golf. walking trails and bike rentals available. If you wish to dine less formally (coat/tie and dresses are required for dining room), there is a restaurant across the street that is part of the meal plan. This had to one of the best meals (though all meals were excellent) that we have enjoyed in a long time. The location of The Grand was within easy access of the downtown district. We enjoyed hours of biking, walking the downtown shopping district and a carriage ride. This was a wonderful trip that my family and I will remember and speak of for many years to come. It was an expensive trip, but one that created lasting memories. FInally, I would also recommend Shepley's Ferry Service to get you to the island. They were well organized and completely took care of luggage both to/from the hotel and back to your car.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for a lake view (you will pay a premium for the view). Also, elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeeM392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, IN
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We wanted to do something special for our 50th and The Grand Hotel got the nod as our destination. The Anniversary Package is a three night stay with breakfast and dinner each day (there is a dress code for the evening meal). When we arrived at the hotel we had special treats in our room: flowers,champagne, basket containing Grand Hotel Fudge, crackers and cheese.

The package includes: Afternoon tea one day, a one hour romantic carriage ride, and free admission to the Art Museum downtown.

On our first full day we joined Bob the Grand Hotel's historian for a two hour lecture on the history of the property. In the afternnon Bob took us up the hill to see the "cottages" on the west end of the Island. We were allowed to go into one of the cottages and tour the house. Very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodie219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

One of the grand hotels of a bygone era. The only disappointment was the sleeping accommodations. I had requested a Category III room with 2 beds. Apparently their idea of two beds is a queensize and a rollaway. I had booked the room nine months previous to arrival and called several times to reconfirm my request for 2 beds and was assured it was noted. Upon arrival and discovering only one bed, the front desk said rooms weren't assigned until check in, and that a 2 bed room was not available. Major letdown. They delivered a rollaway shortly thereafter.
The food was very good, although the dining room was always crowded and the noise level was higher than what I expected from such a refined establishment. Other than that, the rest of our stay was wonderful. The grounds were beautiful, and it was an easy walk to the shopping district downtown.
For the price, I'm not sure I'd recommend The Grand, unless one bed is all you need, as that's the only accommodation that is guaranteed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing