We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Grand Hotel is a Grand Experience”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, WI
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staying at the Grand Hotel is a Grand Experience”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We are return guests of the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island for many years, we just returned from our annual trip and just can't describe how happy we are with the hotel. The rooms are so charming and interesting in the decor, they are very clean. We had the Celebrate Michigan package which included the lunch buffet, the food is wonderful. The beds are very comfy but the pillows are a little hard. We love staying at the Grand and will return next summer!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,775
    406
    193
    153
    87
See reviews for
727
1,167
55
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Staying at the Grand Hotel is like going back in time... in fact, the entire Mackinac Island experience is like going back in time. Dressing for dinner, horse-drawn carriages, butler services, and more. I was at the Grand Hotel for a conference, as one of the planners of the conference. It was a great experience, and the hotel has wonderful customer service. The food is amazing. I ate probably the best filet mignon I've ever had at the Jockey Club, the restaurant at the Grand's golf course. My only one minor negative are the sleeping rooms. For a Grand experience, the upkeep in my sleeping room was somewhat lacking. Peeling wallpaper, dingy curtains. However the room was clean and comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure. Overall, a great experience. This would make an excellent romantic getaway...too bad I was there for work.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomiaRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akron
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Just spent two nights at Grand Hotel in a beautifully decorated room. All rooms are bright colors and each room is different. Turn down service at night with a chocolate on your pillow. Just made you feel special, the service throughout the Grand is wonderful. Had breakfast and dinner which is 5 course and delicious. You have several choices for appetizers, soup, main entree, and dessert. It was all good and the service is superb. No tipping is allowed in dining room or hotel room. Stroll onto the large porch which overlooks the water and grounds. It is specatacular. Music and entertainment throughout the hotel. Just a big trip back in time to the more gentil days, with no rushing. Loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, it cost more to have water view. You spend very little time in your room and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I joined a group of 49 Senior Citizens on a 4 day 3 night package stay at the Grand Hotel. We were all treated like royalty. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and ours overlooked the water. Each meal was delightful and the staff were great. This was a great time to visit the Island as the colors were spectacular and we were able to get some great end of season deals at the shops in downtown Mackinac Island. We had a delightful tour around the Island in a horse drawn carriage with a very nice driver who provided some interesting information as we explored the Island. We have always wanted to stay at the Grand Hotel as we had visited the Island many times but we finally were able to afford it with this great package.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, try for a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmother3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

It was a bit expensive but what is life for except experiences like staying at the Grand Hotel and enjoying Mackinac Island. The room (we had the Wicker Room #301 and it is recommended), food, and ambiance were all excellent. Staff treats guests well without being stuffy.

Also do use the Sheppler's Ferry service which makes storing your car and baggage service easy.

Go for it and enjoy the experience - I am sure we will again.

Room Tip: We had a room "without a view of the front" but the Wicker Suite #301 which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

OK - Must admit that I could never afford to stay here, but it was still a great $40 tour and grand luncheon buffet. Roaming the magnificent public areas and sitting on the front "porch" will give you a real feel for the overall beauty of the hotel and the setting on the island. Don't miss the views from the Cupola Bar - Breathtaking! The buffet lunch is worth it, even if you decide to try only the desserts! Get there when it opens or you may be in a long line. It is well run and the line does seem to move pretty fast. Do not attempt to count calories!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Liberty, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The perfect place for a romantic weekend getaway! Hotel and grounds were immaculate and strickingly beautiful. Dinner was spectacular. Hotel room was beautiful and cozy. Staff was amazing. Fall colors added to the beauty of this very special place. Mackinaw Island and the Grand Hotel will always hold a special place in our hearts!

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a lakeside view, you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing