We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Could not have been more perfect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“"Could not have been more perfect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My first visit to Mackinac Island was May 2012 - stayed downtown and adored our hotel. Decided right then and there to return in the fall and bring my mother and father. While making trip plans, more than anything, I wanted to treat them to a once-in-a-lifetime stay in the Grand Hotel. It was so perfect!! So sweet to photograph them enacting the scene from "Somewhere in Time" where Richard and Elise were reunited.
The staff was attentive, the hotel impeccable, robes were divine, beds comfy. The history displayed on almost every wall is so interesting. I was compelled to write a thank you note months later and even received a reply. There are specials offered at different times of the year that can be taken advantage of to make the stay more affordable. We did the bed-and-breakfast special - thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet, possibly even more than the lunch buffet my friend and I experienced in the spring. The views from the banquet room are simply breathtaking. I had the highest expectations imaginable for our stay at the Grand Hotel and they were all met. Can hardly wait to take my granddaughter one day!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    363
    178
    141
    84
See reviews for
656
1,064
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Mackinac Island is a very special place and this landmark resort is absolutely exquisite. The first time we went we stayed in a B&B in town ... meager but the town is so wonderful that I still loved the trip.
Going back we knew there was only one place to stay ... at least once. Excellent meals and all rooms are on the Modified American Plan which means breakfast and dinner are included in the price. Having lunch time to explore the island was just perfect. The choices for breakfast and dinner were overly abundant and everything was more delicious than the dish prior.
It is so elegant and takes you back in time. The ferry ride over is one of my favorite parts of the trip. Nothing is sweeter than eating Mackinac fudge and staying in the mansion on the hill. Since there are no cars, watch out for the "debris" left by ponies especially after a rain storm ... do not wear light shorts and flip flops!
The Pink Pony has the BEST chocolate martinis I have ever tasted!

Room Tip: very tiny rooms but the real joy is exploring everything outside of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atoz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Make sure you check your bill, they added so many fees onto our bill, that we paid more than twice the amount we were quoted. The hotel is nice, but it would have to be better than others for what we were charged, and it isn't the experience we were expecting. We were VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media & Internet Sales Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
We are sorry you had this experience. Please know we make sure our guests are aware of added taxes and fees upon booking a reservation. When booking a room online the guest must confirm the total before making their reservation where all taxes and fees are listed. All rates are listed in detail on guest confirmations as well as the registration card upon check-in. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I had first seen the Hotel, as many have, from the deck of the Ferry to Mackinac Island. Impressively positioned on the side of a Bluff, clearly large and stately.
My first visit was with friends who enjoyed it every bit as much as I, with a vow to return.
And return I have...

Room Tip: Arrive as early as possible (BEFORE Check-in ties) and ask for a room with a view of the Straits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TCMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I took my daughter and two grandsons, ages 10 and 13 to the Grand Hotel last summer. It was a wonderful 4 days and I cannot imagine what the hotel and staff could do any better. There is so much to do at the hotel itself that we did not even visit Mackinac the town until the day we were leaving the island. From the ferry trip to the hotel to the hotel itself, the views were spectacular. The horse drawn carriage was waiting for us to deliver us to the hotel. The food was delicious, many choices every night, 5 beautifully presented courses with no repeats. It was wonderful to dress at 6:00 P.M. every night for dinner and to sit on the grand porch to a fashion show presented every night by the guests. After dinner the ballroom would open, and my grandsons themselves enjoyed the dancing and even asked their mother and myself to trip the light fantastic. We all enjoyed ourselves so much, that the boys have been asking me if I would please take them this year for another treat of being at the Grand Hotel. From the grounds to the views, the beautiful huge Esther Williams swimming pool, it just cannot be beat. We will certainly try to get back there again this year. Thank you "Grand Hotel" for being so grand and for bringing the niceties of the past to this present time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank corny333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is the ultimate in being away from home! If I could afford it, I'd stay a few times a year! We've taken our children, we took my parents for their 70th birthdays and we've gone as a couple - each visit was fabulous! Dressing for dinner was fun & special, the pool is awesome, the views - well, they can't be beat! We've always gotta outside rooms,every time - had a sweet for the 70th celebration. The food is delicious and there is always something going on not just at the hotel, but also in town.

Room Tip: If you're going to go, get an outside/balcony type room to fully enjoy the views - between the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheriK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Been several times. Will go back every couple of years. Nothing changes since they put heat and air conditioning in the rooms. (Yes, I'm that old.) Top notch everything. Not kidding about their "dress for dinner" rule! Can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Go for a week if you play golf; otherwise 3-4 days at a time and plan to come back regularly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank decatur_dug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing