We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect from a Grand Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything you expect from a Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

From the moment you arrive on the island, its very well organized. We arrived at the docks and the employees said the luggage will be taken to the hotel. The Grand Hotel also has a carriage to meet you and to take you to the Grand Hotel about 6 blocks away. We have been to the island yearly and stay on the island however it was the first time we stayed at the Grand. We were here for the Titanic weekend. Arriving at the Hotel it is neat, clean and well organized. The ambiance of the place is something out of time that one can't explain. The lobby, the desk the overall atmosphere is great. The service is great from tea in the afternoon to coffee early in the morning to room service if that is your preference. There are plenty of activities around the hotel or going for a nice walk, shopping or taking a bike tour around the island. The Titanic weekend was our first and we had a great time and well worth looking into for first time travelers. The meals are exceptional from a wonderful breakfast through dinner. The service is exceptional and the selection for every discerning taste. We selected a room overlooking the water and had a nice balcony which was nice to enjoy the weather and relax and read the paper. The rooms are decorated individually and had all the amenities one would expect. This was the second weekend that they were open and some training of the staff was ongoing. The only comments I would make would not take away from the experience nor deter me from staying here in the future was a better trained staff to answer some of the questions regarding the menu selections. On two occasions neither server could tell us what the products were and just more attentive to ensuring coffee cups were kept full. The overall supervisor worked diligently to ensure the meals and experience were outstanding and he was a pleasure to see taking care of the needs of his customers. Again neither of these items would stop me from booking again, just notes about things that would help the next traveler. Overall this is a "classy Hotel" and well worth looking into for a Grand Experience.

Room Tip: We loved one that overlooked the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    391
    187
    150
    87
See reviews for
700
1,134
55
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lived up to its billing, everything we imagined and more. From morning coffee on the grand porch, to outstanding dining in the evening, this was an anniversary to remember. The staff are all efficient, friendly, and unobtrusive - there when you need them, but invisible when you don't. Accommodations were comfortable and what you'd expect from someplace this old, but so well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelsurfswimdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We planned a surprise stay for my spouse's friend's monumental birthday in July...what a fantastic stay! We had stayed on Mackinac before at another hotel (which was great), but the Grand is a one-of-a-kind. There is still a magical quality that you can experience here...we plan to go back and would like to spend 2-3 nights. There is so much to do, eat, experience on the Island and cannot say enough great things...service was beyond, food was great, the premises is just spectacular, although old, it's well-kept, and 5-star!!!

Room Tip: We recommend requesting a lake-view room on the upper floor...do not be surprised at the price...it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We just returned yesterday from a long weekend at the Grand Hotel. We've been on the island many times, but never stayed at the Grand. The trip was a gift for my husband's birthday and we got a special deal that a friend turned us on to. Without the discount, we never would have done it. Seven hundred a day is just a bit out of our comfort zone. I do have to say, though, that with breakfast and dinner included and the fact that no tipping is allowed, you have to take that into consideration as a huge amount that you won't be paying out once you get there.
I'm a bit anal about planning, so it was frustrating to me that we had no idea what room we would be staying in when I made the reservation. I get it, though. We were using a deep discount, so they had to put us wherever there was availability. We lucked out, though and ended up in the Versailles Suite. Beautiful room on the 3rd floor with a lake view. It was kind of funny that we didn't even realize it was considered a suite until we noticed the sign above the door on our second day. Looking into some of the other rooms as they were being cleaned, we realized that our room was quite a bit larger. We had a fainting couch in our room that we put to good use since the view from it was amazing!
There were two small things that put me off during our stay and I'd like get those out of the way and then finish up with the positive things. One of our pieces of luggage went missing and when we went to the "luggage" office to check on it, the young woman there began to help us. A minute later two other staff members came in with gentleman who needed a suit jacket and tie for dinner. Well, all three of the staff, including the woman helping us, began to trip all over each other to help him and left us standing there as if we didn't exist. Odd. Don't know who the guest was, but he must have been someone extra special. Eventually we were helped and the bag was found very quickly. The other thing was how our request for a later check out was handled. Check out is at 11 a.m. and we asked for noon. We were told to return to the front desk in 15 minutes so the front desk staff could talk to a manager. Well, we were told we could do 11:30, but that noon would run us an additional $125!! Come on! For a half-hour? It was a Monday, so the hotel was not as busy as, say, a Sunday. On a Sunday, I wouldn't have even asked. So, a word of caution, when the website says they make every effort to accomodate later check-out, that is not true.......unless you have the cash. With both of these issues, you really got the sense that even though they say they treat guests exceptionally, in reality, they have their own culture and it's basically, "we are the best and we can do whatever we want." Hey, more power to them. Nothing I can say will diminish the allure of the hotel, but I just thought I'd point this out.
Okay, so everything else was amazing. The staff was great. I loved that most of them were from other countries. We spent a lot of time talking to staff about where they were from, how they liked being on the island.... Everyone seemed happy to be there. I would have to guess that they are trained really well, because no one ever didn't know how to answer a question. The food was great. We just did the breakfast buffet in the morning and it was very good, always well-stocked and you never had to wait long to get your food. The five course dinner each night was great, but I would stay away from fish if I were you. It's just hard to serve nearly 1,000 people each night without food cooling off a bit and the temp of the fish entrees was never hot enough. Each meal was a great experience. We just loved watching the choreography of the meal service. Very smooth, but a complete whirlwind at the same time. Very cool. We also had a drink at the Cupola Bar. The view is great, so it's well worth it. Did some dancing in the Terrace room. The band was wonderful! The last night we spent in the Audubon bar. Sit at the bar and talk to the bartender is my suggestion. Very relaxed and fun. It was a little cool so early in the season, but we did spend some time on the porch to soak up a bit of sun. We also had lunch at the Carleton in the hotel one day. Very good, but sit inside if you can. For some reason it's very breezy in the hallway where the is also seating. Oh, and there is a pretty decent fitness room near the pool - plenty of cardio and weight equipment If you are a runner, get up early at least one morning a take a run before the day-visit tourists arrive. The town is so beautiful and quiet. I only went as far as the Arch Rock, but enjoyed every minute of it!

Room Tip: If you can, try to get an even number room on the third floor. They face the lake and the view is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leezee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

What a beautiful hotel - a real trip back "somewhere in time". The Grand Dame is all one expects - except for the service. I made the mistake of going pre-season. I was informed many of the services would be unavailable but I didn't realize greeting guests cordially would be one of them. We were shown to a room below ground despite the fact that the 380 other rooms in the hotel were available and ready for guests. It seemed no one knew what was going on or could answer even the simplest questions.

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media & Internet Sales Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the service we are sure you expected and your comments will be shared with our Management Team. Many employees were new to Grand Hotel during your stay, however, this is no excuse for poor service. We will use your comments to assist in training new staff, and we hope you will come visit again when things are in full swing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife had always wanted to visit, so for our 25th anniversary, I booked a long weekend to celebrate. It was a themed Titanic weekend and package prices were offered which made visiting for the first time affordable. Almost immediately after booking in early January, I began reading online reviews. After reading some comments I considered to be questionable, I called the Grand and asked to speak to someone in management. I was concerned that our investment coupled with a 6+ hour journey would not be "worth it." The person I spoke to addressed each of my questions and assured me our trip would be special.
Indeed it has been. I write this review with one more night left because I didn't want to risk not writing something upon my return.
Our room with a view of the lake 358 is exceptional. Though the first weekend, everything is in top notch working order and is dare I say perfect. We've never stayed in a room as spacious.
The food has been incredible! For someone who likes to eat, I was concerned about portions and quality, considering the size of the hotel and amount of people present. I have zero complaints about the food. Every meal has been tasty and filling.
The service has been without question, the best my wife or I have ever experienced. From Matre Ds, Servers, table setters to management, everyone has been "annoyingly" friendly in a great and unexpected but appreciative way. Coming from the NYC area we are not used to such a level of consistent kindness, that everyone being so friendly all the time, seemed awkward - at first. For someone like myself who worked in the service industry for nearly 20 years, it has been an incredible experience seeing people work so hard with no expected return. Though "tipping" is not allowed / required, one can't but help feel guilty by not extending a gratuity..
The owners must be doing many things right to have staff return year after year and to have faithful customers look forward to their next trip. Today alone, we met a couple who was visiting for their 5th time in a span of one year and a waiter who was back for his 20th season.
We have had such a great time, we dread returning to reality.
However, we have had such a great time, we dread waiting to return.
Best wishes to anyone who chooses to come to the Grand Hotel. We hope your experience is as good as ours has been. And thanks to everyone on staff. Have a healthy and prosperous season.

Room Tip: Book early. Speak to a reservation specialist, and be nice! Everyone who works here tries incredibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband & I just returned from a short stay at the Grand Hotel. It was beyond perfect in every way. Highly recommend all areas and experiences. The Main Dining Room is beautiful and the food & service is beyond excellent. We used Sheplers Ferry and they and the Grand Hotel handled our car (inside, secure) and our luggage to & from the hotel. Completely carefree travel.

Room Tip: Request a Lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmichigan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing