We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I accompanied my mother to Mackinac specifically to stay at the Grand Hotel. It is indeed a landmark and the island is lovely. Even off season, as we went the last weekend before the island pretty much shuts down for the winter. Our rooms were excellent, with the premier front view over the garden, town and water. The service is very "old world," feeling as if the staff-to-guest ratio is 1-to-1, tho' of course that's not the case. We were on the American plan and the included meals were generous and well-presented. Two things stop me from a 5-star rating: first, the beds are unusually high, which was stressful for my elderly mother who feared she might fall, getting in OR out, and second, the walls and floors are old and thin, carrying sound far too well. We heard voices and footsteps all night long.

Room Tip: Book through a travel agent. I have no doubt that our superior rooms were the result of their expert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,616
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
654
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clio, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have been coming to the Grand the last 5 years, at least 2 times a year, once three times and some 2 nighters! We absolutely love it and wouldn't stay anywhere else! With breakfast and dinner included and all amenities in the Hotel, you really don't need to leave! Have had some great rooms, except for this last one. Bathroom tub tiles were moldy and needed caulking aroun tub! Didn't like step in room. But overall room was great! Have made some friends with staff, so enjoy it very much! Recommend to everyone! Great special pricing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Celebrate Michigan special made this an affordable treat. Definitely worth it! Our room was on the 2nd floor (generally considered the 3rd floor nowadays) and looked over the front porch at the Round Island Lighthouse and the Straits of Mackinac. It was very large and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was huge and I particularly liked having the stool and make-up mirror as the lighting wasn't very bright. Since one has to dress up in the evening having a safe in the room for jewelry was nice. The hotel is 125 years old - the walls were kind of thin and it took a long time for warm (not hot) water to get to the bathroom. That being said, if I get a chance to go back, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Breakfast and dinner were included in the price of our room and the meals were excellent. It was an wonderful experience to stay in a grand, old hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HikingGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel last September for two nights. It was a wonderful experience. Far exceeding our expectations. Our room over looked the front lawn, lake and town. We enjoyed watching the horse drawn carriages come up to the hotel. We sat on the front porch on the rocking chairs and relaxed. There is entertainment throughout the day and night. Though we don't normally dress for dinner, it was nice to get dressed up keeping with the traditions of the past. Our package included the breakfast which was well worth the money. It is a short walk to the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I stayed this past September, along with our 6 month old daughter, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. At the time of our booking, we had requested a room with a lake view and were told that they would try to meet our request (which is all you can ask for). Upon checking in, I asked whether our room had a lake view (was told yes) and whether it had a balcony. We were so happily surprised to find out that our room did have a balcony - and WOW were the views amazing! The hotel doesn't appear to actually have that many rooms with balconies, so we were blown away when we were given room 446 with a spectacular terrace, views of the entire hotel grounds and pool, and majestic views of the lake. Our expectations were far exceeded. We enjoyed a leisurely afternoon cocktail on the beautiful porch, and had room service delivered the following morning for breakfast. The food was excellent and it was such a treat to enjoy it from the comfort of our gorgeous room. Thank you Grand Hotel for making our anniversary so special, and for a family trip that we can't wait to repeat in years to come!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

It rained and even snowed both days we were there. The view and mental warmth of the hotel staff made all the difference. Weather may not have been perfect but everything else was. It is our favorite anytime get away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisterlils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at Grand Hotel. We packed so much into two days and two nights and our stay was so wonderful we felt like we were away for a week. We got the Celebrate Michigan package which was a cheaper hotel rate than normal which they offer to guests in September and October. It included breakfast and a five course dinner along with many other wonderful amenities. Grand Hotel has to be seen and experienced for you to understand how magnificent it truly is. The food was amazing. The hot food was served hot as well as the coffee. All the desserts are made in house and they are exceptional. Their standard of service and hospitality is superior. The rooms were elegantly decorated and the beds were extremely comfortable. Our bathroom was on the small side but it didn't really bother us because the heat lamps in the ceiling were amazing, the towels were white and fluffy and the geranium scented bathroom essentials were heavenly. There is music playing everywhere through out the main areas of the hotel almost constantly. It was so relaxing and enjoyable to dine in the formal dining room, to dance in the Terrace Ballroom after dinner and have coffee in the morning in the Cupola high above the hotel overlooking the Straights of Mackinac. The wait staff in the dining room were always smiling, very polite, efficient, attentive and gracious. We enjoyed a 2 1/2 hour historical tour of Grand Hotel with Bob Tagatz their resident historian. This is a must when you stay at Grand Hotel and worth every penny and more. The trip through the kitchen is an awesome experience. Bob gave us a fascinating look at this historic old hotel and her history. We had an interior room but didn't feel like we needed a view when we could just go outside at any time and enjoy the world famous front porch of Grand Hotel and her white rocking chairs. Another thing that makes Grand Hotel so special are her guests. We enjoyed meeting all kinds of wonderful people and just having a great time at Grand Hotel. It truly was a grand experience and one that should be on everyone's bucket list of places to stay. Grand Hotel is so amazing that you will want to return once you see how special it is. We quickly realized why Grand Hotel is one of the most visited resort hotels in the USA. Grand Hotel is truly a remarkable place to stay. Go, relax and enjoy...I dare you!

Room Tip: Outside rooms with a view cost more. The higher you go the quieter the rooms are because there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank praedewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing