We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Grand at the Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
368 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“It's Grand at the Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have been fortunate to stay at the Grand Hotel on numerous occasions over the past five years. At the registration desk, the friendly staff greets you with a genuinely warm smile. Each guest room is different so each visit offers a new room décor and view. The dining room staff and food are excellent. The rooms are kept clean by friendly housekeeping staff. A large parlor area (and of course the world-famous porch) offer guests spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac, Mackinac Bridge, and Round Island Light. Sunsets and moonsets over the Mackinac Bridge should not be missed. The heated outdoor pool is HUGE! The pool and hot tub areas are well-maintained. The gardens around the hotel are beautifully manicured. There are planned activities throughout the day or enjoy the day on your own - rent a bike, take a horse & carriage ride, or relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of the island from a white rocking chair on the porch. This is one hotel stay that should be on everyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    363
    178
    141
    84
See reviews for
656
1,064
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We waited years to be able to stay at the Grand. When we were finally able to stay there it was a dream come true. It's just as beautiful as you can possibly imagine and is in fantastic shape for it's austere age. Since that first stay I have been fortunate to return to stay with my husband and then with best girl friends. No matter we have best service, the best times, and the best memories of the Grand and the Island. The service is always outstanding. They always try to accommodate. I'm ready to book for 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Go ahead and pay the $10.00 to get in. There is so much history, especially if you saw Somewhere in Time. The porch is one of the biggest you will ever see, and you are looking over Lake Superior. And then your entry fee goes toward a huge luncheon buffet!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Misheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Sunday Oct 28th to help close it for the 2013 season. We had a wonderful time. It was our first time staying at the hotel. We have been coming to the island for years but always stayed at other hotels or B&B. We attended the talk of the hotel historian. He was very entertaining. He filled us in on the history of the hotel. He talked about all the funny questions that have been asked over the years. The dinner and breakast buffets were excellent.
Sunday afternoon the porch furnitue was brought in with the help of who ever wanted to help. Monday morning the owner rang the bell ending the season. We are looking forward to returning again next year for one of their other great events.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vette079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is well worth a visit, but there are others in town that might make a better place to stay. The front porch is a beautiful place to sit. Especially in the evening watching the sunset. The dining room was a disappointment for our evening meal. It cost us close to $200. for two entres and wine. Our food was more like cafeteria food. The dining room is very large, very crowded and noisy. The waitstaff is mostly from South Africa and didn't understand our orders very well-and we were end of the season guests. HOWEVER Our breakfast was excellent. We did not do the buffet but ordered and it came out hot and was very good. Omelets, Eggs Bedicict, Smoked salmon, all were very good. If you go just don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank drose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Planning a trip to Michigan, I found an October 2013 package being offered by the Grand Hotel. As a solo traveler, I planned on spending only a couple of days to experience this historic facility, and the price being offered made this quite acceptable. I made the reservation by telephone and made the mandatory pre-payment for two nights. I was told that a confirmation and packet of information would be mailed to me. It never arrived. I call the reservations department and spoke to someone who was quite rude and annoyed that I was requesting this information. I was told that it would be e-mailed to me. It never arrived. I then e-mailed the hotel, and finally a confirmation was received. But no information packet was sent.

As usual, for a solo traveler, the room assigned was in the back of the hotel with absolutely no view. My world-travel experiences have been that this is routine. I inquired at the front desk about the room, and was told that rooms are assigned arbitrarily (I don’t believe that for a minute) and that 50% have no view. So tough! This apparently was not going to be my lucky day. I pointed out that this was the off season, the hotel was not full, and that there were many keys showing in the room slots behind the reception desk. Surely there was a better room available. As I soon found out, at the Grand, you don’t question what the staff says. This is apparently a part of their superior, snobby attitude.

Also, unfortunately, what was included in the fall “package” was never communicated. So in ignorance, for example, I paid for admission to Fort Mackinac, and later found out that the entrance fee was pre-paid for Grand guests.

The food was excellent, although the portions were small. The dining room staff was efficient. When I asked for a window seat each evening (I always arrived early) I was pleasantly shown to one with no question.

The Grand is expensive and overpriced. A single cocktail or glass of “house” wine costs $12+. A bottle of water in the room is $7.50. There is an automatic $7.50 charge for baggage handling added to your bill, which is not disclosed in advance. When you arrive at the hotel, in the hotel’s horse drawn carriage, you find out that there is a $4.50 charge, payable on the spot. Very inconvenient to quickly dig out the fifty cents! Just make it $5.00 already! They do make it a point that tipping is not expected. But what would you tip for? Everything is pre-paid and there are no personal services offered that I could find. And finally, for tourists that would like to take a peek at this historic hotel, if you are not a guest, a staff member stands on the driveway ready to collect $10 per person for the privilege of putting a toe on the property. They don’t want the riff raff roaming about inconveniencing the guests. I can understand the problem, but $10 per person?

In my opinion (and not being judgmental), this is a hotel that would seem to be attractive primarily to people who are well-off and like cruise ship travel. There is the opportunity to have breakfast, look in the few shops on site, have lunch, play cards, have dinner, and then perhaps go to the ballroom to show off DWTS moves. I saw no hotel guests at Fort Mackinac and the town was abandoned. My impression is that the guests never leave the property, so this is the perfect place for that kind of experience. My guess is that for more adventurous types, this wouldn’t be the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you did not experience more of Mackinac Island, and feel it is not the place for the adventurous type. Mackinac has nearly 100 miles of hiking, biking and walking trails, bike and horseback riding, historic sites and acres of State Park. We hope you return in the future and have the opportunity to experience more of Mackinac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a must for everyone's bucket list. It takes you back in time in a very elegant way. My friend and I had never been to the Island let alone the grandest hotel on it. (Pun intended). I saw an add for a special on a room at the "Grand" for two people $235.00 a night. This seemed outrageous but, after all this was the oldest most, beautiful hotel ever and it included dinner in the formal dinning room that included several courses, wine and dessert. I called the hotel direct and spoke to a wonderful lady who explained that not all the rooms had views, balconies or much at all but a bed and bath for that price. I was heart broken because I had imagined large airy rooms with antique furniture. She said because it was or first visit she would give us a suite for that price. It was everything I had dreamed of and more. We had a huge poster bed, beautiful tables, chairs and love seat. The bathroom was all marble and bigger than my living room. We dressed up, had drinks on the huge front porch in rockers, ate the finest foods, were treated like royalty and sat on our private balcony and gazed at the stars. They sent up a VCR and the movie Somewhere In Time. It was heaven! This was 15 years ago but, my husband and I visited recently and it is still breathtaking. We could not stay there this year but, one year again even if it isn't a suite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FunfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing