We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We go to the Grand every fourth of July weekend as a family with the grandparents. It's always an enchanted experience that includes elegant rooms, daily family dinners in the enormous banquet hall with tremendous staff, activities for everyone including the tandem bikes and horses, and the overall feeling that you've left the hustle and bustle and jumped back in time for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_S_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    402
    191
    152
    87
See reviews for
718
1,162
55
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our first trip here was the Somewhere In Time weekend. We didn't know what to expect. We loved every minute of it! The hotel is stunning, the food delicious, and the staff is warm and welcoming. We met so many people from around the country, and the world. From the nightly turn-down service, to the daily activity sheet, you feel as if transported to a different time. In fact, we are planning a return trip this year, and hope to return in the years to come.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have lived in Michigan my entire life and have traveled to Mackinac Island many times. I always wanted to stay at the Grand and this last October my husband finally agreed to stay at the Grand. WE LOVED IT!!!! The room, staff and dining were fantastic. We were lucky enough to book at a special rate of $126.00 PP/night. I actually booked a package weekend for this upcoming May. This place is special and nothing can compare. Can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganBmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with our Celebrate Michigan special, and look forward to seeing you again in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We love the Grand hotel...my husband and I were engaged on their 'porch' 21 years ago and we now take our teenage children there every fourth of July...our kids love it and we love it too...we have traveled all over the world and keep on coming back year after year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraceRose35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I've been staying at the Grand for decades. The newly renovated rooms are lovely, albiet still a little loud. It's an old hotel, if you want the Victorian charm, you have to put up with a mall degree of Victorian inconvenience. Fortunately the service at the Grand more than makes up for it.

Sadies is an excellent addition! We love the turtle sundaes! It is a great place to stay with your family. We enjoy the pool, the labrynth, croquet, and game room. Breakfast is amazing. We prefer dinner at the jockey club.

Treat yourself to a private carriage tour. Book it at the corner of Marquette Park. About the same price or less than the big cattle car tour and far more enjoyable. Best deal on the island.

Joann's has the best fudge, hands down. All natural ingredients. They also make a mean latte.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank besthamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My son and I spent the night and had a wonderful time! It was on his bucket list to stay overnite at the Grand Hotel. We had a great time! Decor was beautiful! and Service lovely. The food was wonderful. The atmosphere in the restaurant was grand! The ice cream spot was great

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you can check us off your bucket list, and hope that you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have been fortunate to stay at the Grand Hotel on numerous occasions over the past five years. At the registration desk, the friendly staff greets you with a genuinely warm smile. Each guest room is different so each visit offers a new room décor and view. The dining room staff and food are excellent. The rooms are kept clean by friendly housekeeping staff. A large parlor area (and of course the world-famous porch) offer guests spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac, Mackinac Bridge, and Round Island Light. Sunsets and moonsets over the Mackinac Bridge should not be missed. The heated outdoor pool is HUGE! The pool and hot tub areas are well-maintained. The gardens around the hotel are beautifully manicured. There are planned activities throughout the day or enjoy the day on your own - rent a bike, take a horse & carriage ride, or relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of the island from a white rocking chair on the porch. This is one hotel stay that should be on everyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing