We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically beautiful”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sandusky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historically beautiful”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel 4 times now with the Win-Some Women Ladies Retreat and it is amazing. Being here as a group is much cheaper than staying on my own, but I would love to share this place with my husband. The service is above and beyond what you would ever expect!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,682
    376
    181
    146
    86
See reviews for
682
1,102
53
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
239 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel makes it a point to provide the best service in the area! Their staff is very well trained and perform their jobs admirably and with zeal. While out of the room during the day, the cleaning staff came back in and changed the towels and cleaned the shower area. Check in and checkout is fast and simple. They let us in our room about 3 hours early because it had been cleaned already. The horse and carriage ride from the docks to the hotel was enjoyable, and the luggage service to and from our room worked fine. They had entertainment and a "welcome hour" out on the porch, a harpist playing in the lobby, a piano player in the dining room for dinner, and an orchestra in the evening for dancing.

Many of the dining room staff are from such far away places as the Philippines and Jamaica. They are right on top of things, and exercise great care in carrying out their duties! You never have to ask for refills of water or coffee. They are always there to assist, but are never in the way.

On the other side of the coin though, the hotel and the grounds have not been upgraded that much and are not maintained as one would expect for such a "grand ole" hotel. The carpet has ripples in it in a number of places. TVs are old non-flat-screens. The room doors locks have regular keys, not the more secure card keys which are changed all the time. The lawn areas, the landscape beds, and the golf course do not show a very high level of maintenance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelalot963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was what felt like my 100th trip to Mackinac Island, but my first time ever staying at the Grand Hotel. We finally stayed here because of the great deal that we received. I would probably never stay here again. I felt quite out of place. It was fun looking at all of the history that the hotel holds, but it certainly would not have been worth it if we would have paid full price. Dinner was good but nothing amazing, but women, you better have a nice dress, and men, a suit and tie. Breakfast was good, but I would have rather been down town. The room was alright, but I have stayed in better on the island. Now if you want to eat and drink not during meals, you better bring your own. Water was $7.50 a bottle which was quite ridiculous! I would much rather stay in a hotel downtown, but I am glad I had a chance to stay here once!

Room Tip: If you want a good view, you better be ready to spend a pretty penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicville, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Somewhere In Time is my favorite movie and I have always wanted to visit this hotel, so my husband and I decided to spend a night for our 30th anniversary. We couldn't have made a better choice. They gave us the Huron Suite, which was beautifully appointed and had a balcony overlooking Cadotte Avenue. We started our stay with drinks on the porch, which has beautiful views of the lake. Around 7 pm we made our way to the main dining room for dinner and it was lovely to see everyone dressed up. The waitstaff was kind and attentive and the food was outstanding. We then listened to beautiful harp music in the parlor afterward. Unfortunately we were too tired to enjoy the orchestra and dancing, but we had biked around the island for 4 hours during the day. The next morning we enjoyed a full breakfast in the dining room, again with wonderful staff and delicious food. Our stay was outstanding and we would completely recommend the Grand Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattilake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It started out as a once in our lifetime visit, and has become a yearly excursion. We first went as a celebration for our fortieth wedding anniversary and felt we had hit our stride for style. Lovely accommodations, wonderful views, friendly and helpful staff and the food was amazing. This trip was our fourth and we plan to return every year for as long as we're able. There are plenty of things to do, and what really made it special was everyone dressing up for dinner. This year, we
had a very talented person playing the harp after dinner, she was awesome!
Thanks,
Mary V.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Grand Hotel's staff knows how to make a stay exceptionally enjoyable. We've been to the Grand 7 times now, and this time was a get-away for our 25th wedding anniversary. Not sure how the staff found out, but even though we were staying on one of the discounted early spring dates, we were given a lovely, huge, primo-view suite. The included 5-course dinner is always perfect in every way. And breakfast the next day - whether the continental or the earlier breakfast/buffet - is also delightful. The history of the Grand, the decorating, the views, the amenities - all help translate into an exceptionally unique and memorable get-away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annielizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Grand Hotel was worth every penny and more. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The food was excellent, wonderful options for everyone. In addition, the other dining locations were great. The Woods restaurant had a charming, cozy atmosphere and the food was outstanding, I had the maple salmon and my husband had the duck and we couldn't stop talking about how good it was! The carriage ride from the hotel to the restaurant was also fun. We also tried out the Gatehouse which is just down the road, a sports bar atmosphere with great service and fun. We spent one morning golfing 9 holes on the Jewel golf course, which was a perfect way to spend the morning. Once again, the staff was kind and had everything ready to go for us. We tried out Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, they make their own waffle cones which are yummy. We spent time sitting on the porch, having drinks in the Cupola Bar (outstanding views!), sitting at the pool, playing bocce ball on the front lawn and renting bikes down by the tennis courts. We truly enjoyed all the artwork and the overall atmosphere around the hotel. We are a younger couple and enjoyed every minute of the spectacular service and quality accommodations. Highly recommended for a special weekend away.

Also, taking Shepler's Ferry was perfect, they delivered our luggage right to the hotel which was then delivered to our room!

And...my favorite part was that they turned down our sheets in the evening and left chocolates on our pillows :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing