We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Once again i have returned to this wonderful and historic place. first timers need to slow down enjoy the island pace and if possible take the historic tour offered by the hotel.
The hotel is charming and delightful. it is meant to be savored. Ask any guest is is more than a first time guest. this is a uniuque and beautiful property.
if a day tripper go for lunch and the visitor fee is waived.
wander the building . Visit the cupola bar where the views are spectacular. They even have afternoon high tea!

Room Tip: lake view rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,650 - 1,656 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I along with our grandson just returned from a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel. The Hotel truly lives up to its Grand name. Our room was beautiful, the food was imaginative and excellent, and the service was perfection. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this historic and beautifully situated hotel. We highly recommend it for couples and for families. We will never forget our grandson's happiness at being there. We are going back to the Grand with our granddaughter in the near future and our grandson said that what she will love most is how special the staff makes you feel. That says it all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked a Pure Michigan golf package early in the year for the end of May for ourselves and another couple. We were upgraded to the Masco Cottage. Thrilled with our accommodations. The resident manager overhead us on the porch saying we were from Bay City, which is where he was from. He sent us a basket with wine, fruit and cheese for each couple. That was just frosting on the cake. We were very impressed with the service both in the hotel and at the pro shop. Everyone was very helpful. We had the best gin & tonic to drink on the way back from the golf course. Expensive but well worth the money. Dinner was excellent; we each had something different and we all loved what we ordered. First time for all of us to stay at the Grand and we were very impressed. Been telling everyone how much fun we had.

Room Tip: If you get upgraded just smile and say "thank you". We were told them upgrade as often as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you love history and historical places this is perfect for you. Not only is the hotel a step back in time, with all the present-day amenities, the whole island is the same. You arrive in a horse drawn carriage because no cars are allowed on the island and that really sets the tone for your stay. Stepping into the lobby instantly carries you back to the Victorian age. We had the privilege of attending a theme weekend. Dressing for the period was expected and so much fun. If you attend a theme weekend, and they have several each season, your days will be filled with planned activities, which you may or may not attend, as you see fit. Each room is decorated differently and beautifully and they are clean and well-maintained. The food is to die for - one of the choices for breakfast was strawberries & whipped cream. No tipping is allowed, another plus, and service is impeccable. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This grand historic hotel is a well-maintained wonder. Perched on a bluff overlooking the straits and the mighty Mac bridge, it feels as if you are somehow 'home'. The service is excellent. The food superb. The swimming pool is a treat; the beds very comfy. The pubs are friendly and all is well, when you stay at the grand. Treat yourself to a little bit of history and a lot of romance. (Although they have children's programs too.) Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thumbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel 4 times now with the Win-Some Women Ladies Retreat and it is amazing. Being here as a group is much cheaper than staying on my own, but I would love to share this place with my husband. The service is above and beyond what you would ever expect!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel makes it a point to provide the best service in the area! Their staff is very well trained and perform their jobs admirably and with zeal. While out of the room during the day, the cleaning staff came back in and changed the towels and cleaned the shower area. Check in and checkout is fast and simple. They let us in our room about 3 hours early because it had been cleaned already. The horse and carriage ride from the docks to the hotel was enjoyable, and the luggage service to and from our room worked fine. They had entertainment and a "welcome hour" out on the porch, a harpist playing in the lobby, a piano player in the dining room for dinner, and an orchestra in the evening for dancing.

Many of the dining room staff are from such far away places as the Philippines and Jamaica. They are right on top of things, and exercise great care in carrying out their duties! You never have to ask for refills of water or coffee. They are always there to assist, but are never in the way.

On the other side of the coin though, the hotel and the grounds have not been upgraded that much and are not maintained as one would expect for such a "grand ole" hotel. The carpet has ripples in it in a number of places. TVs are old non-flat-screens. The room doors locks have regular keys, not the more secure card keys which are changed all the time. The lawn areas, the landscape beds, and the golf course do not show a very high level of maintenance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelalot963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
4.7 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £277 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing