We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$173
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
US$148
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,759)
Filter reviews
2,759 results
Traveller rating
1,880
430
200
159
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,880
430
200
159
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupola barcourse dinnerno tippingthe main dining roomjockey clubgrand experiencebucket listlongest porchhigh teaonce in a lifetimedress codecoat and tiecelebrate michiganpecan balllunch buffetcruise shipterrace room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,657 - 1,662 of 2,759 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A step back in Americana! Lovely, gracious place, reminded me more of Europe than the USA. Wonderful service, lovely room (every room is unique -- size and decoration). I had heard so much about the hotel, it was everything I expected. My only complaint is that it is huge and there are so many people, everywhere. The hotel itself is a tourist attraction; not only do you have all the people staying there, you also have many people at the hotel just to see the hotel and eat at the hotel (was told the dining room seats 800). There is nothing they can do about that, it is just huge and there are a lot of people! Very well run!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've been staying at the Grand Hotel one or two times a year for some years now. The quality of service and accommodations has never been less than top notch. Perched atop small Mackinac Island in the straits between the Great Lakes of Huron and Michigan, the view from the largest deck in the world (660 feet) is stunning. You can see the 5 mile long bridge which connects the upper and lower peninsulas of Michigan,along with freighters making their way back and forth between Lakes Huron and Michigan and the small town on the island spread beyond the beautifully groomed grounds of the hotel. Thanks to a ban on motorized vehicles and the ever-present sound of horse-drawn carriages, it is as if you have stepped back in time 100 years. If you have the chance, don't miss the talk given by hotel historian, Bob Tagatz.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

One of the best times of my life we stayed for 5 days, pricey but well worth it! The rooms are moderate at most but with that said we spent most of our time touring the island in carriages, walking, riding bikes, swimming in the gigantic pool( free sno cones)and poolside cocktails and burgers! shopping they have a wonderful candy shop and gift shop the kids had a blast! The five course gourmet meals were outstanding! You get to choose! Breakfast was great the service was impeccable! The jewel is a great 9 hole beautiful course, games on the lawn , just an incredible old school family fun vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaGray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Once again i have returned to this wonderful and historic place. first timers need to slow down enjoy the island pace and if possible take the historic tour offered by the hotel.
The hotel is charming and delightful. it is meant to be savored. Ask any guest is is more than a first time guest. this is a uniuque and beautiful property.
if a day tripper go for lunch and the visitor fee is waived.
wander the building . Visit the cupola bar where the views are spectacular. They even have afternoon high tea!

Room Tip: lake view rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I along with our grandson just returned from a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel. The Hotel truly lives up to its Grand name. Our room was beautiful, the food was imaginative and excellent, and the service was perfection. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this historic and beautifully situated hotel. We highly recommend it for couples and for families. We will never forget our grandson's happiness at being there. We are going back to the Grand with our granddaughter in the near future and our grandson said that what she will love most is how special the staff makes you feel. That says it all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews