We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on the Island”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great hotel, defiantly the best on the island. Rooms are pricy just don't come over July 4th unless your willing to spend a lot. Good pool and hot tub exept that the pool is a little cold. Beautiful porch, a great place to relax. Excellent food and service. Great for families, weddings, other special occasions, and parties. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,614 - 1,620 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at Grand Hotel on the Titantic Package from May 30th until June 2nd. Shelagh in reservations began our planning not only with professionalism, but with such enthusiasm. Any questions we had were answered happily and added to our looking forward to staying at Grand Hotel. We requested a specific room. As we could not be guaranteed a specific room since we were staying on a package plan, Shelagh let us know she would attempt to meet our request, if possible when we checked in. We were very fortunate as our request was able to be fulfilled. Beautiful room with a beautiful view and we thank Shelagh for her efforts.

The receptions on the grand porch for the Titantic schedule resulted in many guests in period costumes and production staff members inter-mingled also in period clothing. Many were not in clothing of the Titantic era, but all were dressed in cocktail to formal wear. The receptions were a sight to behold - in particular, two sets of children of guests were precious. Several production staff members made such an effort to make guests feel a part of everything. Those production staff associates we came in contact with who made the receptions so much fun were Dan Hogan, Bernie & Jim and Sam. Can't say enough to give them enough credit for their positive impact on the guests.

We dined at The Woods restaurant, owned by Grand Hotel which requires a carriage ride to and from Grand Hotel. Again, the staff at The Woods, Michael and Calvin, provided superb service.

We also had occasion to use the florist in the hotel and found the staff there very accommodating - and creative!

There is no doubt Grand Hotel is one of a kind, with its grand porch, too many amenities to enumerate and grandeur in so many ways, but what stands out to us are the associates with whom we came in contact! What a great team!

Room Tip: Request a room with great light if available. It is our belief every effort will be made if there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ItsTheJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your review. You may enjoy our Somewhere In Time weekend package in October on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wow! Beauty and grace abound in this impeccable hotel. We didn't have the privilege of staying here but our visit was thrilling to say the least. The grounds, the views, the service - this place has it all. Next visit we will stay here!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A hotel room is a hotel room and this is no exception. Jacket and tie requirement for dinner and dancing is haphazardly enforced (I guess it depends on who you are and how much money you are perceived to have) In any case ties can dangle loosely around the neck and large orange bowties worn with loud purple shirts are acceptable. The food is ok and the service average. There are many nicer and better value accommodations to be had on Mackinac Island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TizzyMyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed at the Grand Hotel a number of times. The service has been A+, plus eating there has been a joy. Carriage ride to the hotel, the driver said we needed to pay at the end of the ride. Later we found out we did not have to pay, since we were guest. Check in was fine, staff was very pleasant. Our room was on the first floor room 25, it looked at the back of the hotel. We had bought a special package so we knew we wouldn't be getting a room with a view. Every room at the Grand is decorated differently. Ours was the worse we have ever stayed in black and white wallpaper, along with green and red bedding, just kind of gave it a weird look. Certainly not one of our favorite rooms. We took our grandson along for his first visit. Hotel is always a nice time. Dinner was not included in our package. Dinner was 79.00 for each adult and 29.00 for the child. It was not a good value. My husbands soup was cold, the salad because of the greens they used, was very hard to eat, the beef dish we got was just very dry. The beef was almost uneatable I didn't eat most of mine. The vegetables was a combination of red and green peppers,and brussel sprouts . My husband liked his desert. I got the bread pudding, it was so sweet you couldn't eat much.My soda was added cost of 3.76. The children get a buffet, the grill cheese on the buffet was so hard you could not eat it. I tried. He loved the gummy worms. When you look at the cost of this meal it was just not worth it. We may stay at the Grand again, but with the cost of eating dinner there probably is out. We did have two breakfasts there and they were good. How can you destroy breakfast? It was a disappointment. Please do go and experience Mackinaw Island, it is a magical place. The cost of our room for two nights was 693.60 for three people. There are lots of other places to eat and stay on the island. The fudge is really good. We took a private carriage ride around the island with Rachael, She did an excellent job keeping our 10 year old entertained. We ate at the fort one day, and that was very good. We got a sandwich, which my husband and I split because it was so large. We rented bikes, and rode for about an hour. Long enough for a 10 year old, and two people in their 70's. We went swimming, or I should say our Grandson went swimming, it was very cool for us. The water is heated, if the air had been warmer it would have been top notch. It is a wonderful pool. Many conventions held at the grand, so some nights the porch was not available because receptions where held there. Sometimes even weddings are held on the porch. If the meal had been excellent, then maybe spending 185.50 for a meal would have been worth it. However, we sure didn't think this meal was worth that cost. Enjoy travel, there are so many wonderful places to see, so little time, and so little money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Beckfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is still Grand because of it's history but has seen some better times. This past weekend was not my first stay but may be my last for some time. The quality and service as dropped a bit in the past decade and it is missing the same class and style it once had. The sofa's in the hallways were worn and the back of our bathroom door was badly chipped and missing paint. The room had cobwebs and our ice scoop was dirty. The dress code is not being enforced and the standards of the hotel have seemed to have drifted with it's laxed enforcement. I no longer feel this is worth the price tag associated with it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it is reviews like yours that help us to look at areas that may need a little work. We do hope that you return in the future, and that we continue live up to the expectations that you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It was all I hoped for, and more. From the moment we got to the Island, until the day we left, it was an experience of a lifetime. The ambience was as if I had gone back "Somewhere in Time". It was amazing. A trip to treasure.

Room Tip: I believe there is no bad room. We had the Jane Seymour Suite. Gorgeous. Fantastic view of the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope you don't wait 33 years to visit again. :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
4.7 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
5.2 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £279 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing