We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Iroquois(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,759)
Filter reviews
2,759 results
Traveller rating
1,880
430
200
159
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,880
430
200
159
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupola barcourse dinnerno tippingthe main dining roomjockey clubgrand experiencebucket listlongest porchhigh teaonce in a lifetimedress codecoat and tiecelebrate michiganpecan balllunch buffetcruise shipterrace room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,602 - 1,607 of 2,759 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to Mackinac for years but this is the first time me and my wife had had the chance to stay in the world famous Grand Hotel. Must say we should have done it way sooner, the time we spent their was just exceptional. It really does live up to it's name because there is no other way to describe it but GRAND.. It is a special place and I'm just sorry it took us so long to realise that. I'm already looking to go back and i only left 3 days ago. Can not wait to return. I would recommend it to any and everyone who asks!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrStevek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Magnificent historic Summer hotel on beautiful Mackinac Island. Sparkling clean with great service. Probably the best swimming pool of any hotel. From the front porch you can see freighters plying the Great Lakes, and bicycles and horse drawn carraiges traveling the Island. Sirloin steak and eggs for breakfast.

So why not 5 stars? $405 for an inner room with a view of the maintenance shed roof. The full breakfast ends at 9:30am; which is 8:30am Central Time. Who wants a wake-up call on vacation just to make breakfast? Also, although the hotel is generally quiet, you can hear the floor above creak a bit in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room if available and/or affordable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travelours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your comments and your input on our breakfast hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Let's start with "no tipping" and really meaning it. Exceptional service. Loved the porch. Men need coat and tie for the evening but the hotel provides both free of charge, makes packing much easier. Great food selections.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank nosliwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel lives up to its name from the time you get there until you leave.

The staff was very cordial and accomadating to every request we had from the largest to smallest.
It was a pleasurable experience. We sure are going back next year.

The only thing I would say I was a little disappointed with is the 5 course dinner. It was expensive for the amount of money you paid and the food was just okay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Hotel is simply fantastic, you can revive the old times. Serviçe is very good, Food at the Hotel is excellent. Worthy is also the whole Island with no cars at all. Very beautifull and peacefull place.

Room Tip: If possible get a room with a front side lake view, those are the best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews