We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like royalty while staying here!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Absolutely beautiful! Breathtaking views, gorgeous grounds. And the food was outstanding. Loved every minute if my stay. The area is very unique and a must see. The staff at this hotel is wonderful . They take care of your every need with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momomary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,588 - 1,594 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were treated like royalty. All requests were handled above our expectations! Meals were delicious and service was exceptional. We were there for the 127th birthday cocktail reception. Weather and service was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Grand Hotel provides a total experience. Make sure you take a garden tour, or attend a history lecture -- you won't be sorry. Music suffuses the hotel -- a combo during dinner, a harpist in the parlor after dinner, the Grand Hotel Orchestra in the Terrace Room to end the evening. Enjoy the adventure of finding the cupola bar, take time to sit on the porch, and don't miss Sadie's Ice Cream!

Room Tip: All rooms are uniquely decorated, with some interior rooms so well done that the decor makes up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VAFR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to Mackinac for years but this is the first time me and my wife had had the chance to stay in the world famous Grand Hotel. Must say we should have done it way sooner, the time we spent their was just exceptional. It really does live up to it's name because there is no other way to describe it but GRAND.. It is a special place and I'm just sorry it took us so long to realise that. I'm already looking to go back and i only left 3 days ago. Can not wait to return. I would recommend it to any and everyone who asks!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrStevek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Magnificent historic Summer hotel on beautiful Mackinac Island. Sparkling clean with great service. Probably the best swimming pool of any hotel. From the front porch you can see freighters plying the Great Lakes, and bicycles and horse drawn carraiges traveling the Island. Sirloin steak and eggs for breakfast.

So why not 5 stars? $405 for an inner room with a view of the maintenance shed roof. The full breakfast ends at 9:30am; which is 8:30am Central Time. Who wants a wake-up call on vacation just to make breakfast? Also, although the hotel is generally quiet, you can hear the floor above creak a bit in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room if available and/or affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travelours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your comments and your input on our breakfast hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Let's start with "no tipping" and really meaning it. Exceptional service. Loved the porch. Men need coat and tie for the evening but the hotel provides both free of charge, makes packing much easier. Great food selections.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank nosliwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel lives up to its name from the time you get there until you leave.

The staff was very cordial and accomadating to every request we had from the largest to smallest.
It was a pleasurable experience. We sure are going back next year.

The only thing I would say I was a little disappointed with is the 5 course dinner. It was expensive for the amount of money you paid and the food was just okay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
4.7 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £277 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing