We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Summer Tradition” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Elegant Summer Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is hands down one of my all-time favorites. I've been coming for over 30 years and had the privilege to share this experience with my own daughter. The hotel caters to the kids really well with cribs, age appropriate food buffets, etc. Beds are comfortable and nightly turndown service is lovely. Walls are thin in this 100+ year hotel, so be forewarned about noises. Absolutely love sitting on the famed porch taking in the view, enjoying cocktails, and having the on-site photographer snap our family portrait. The weather cooperated so we were able to use the pool. Friendly service throughout although dining room service tends to be better from the more seasoned waiters. No tipping throughout which is nice to not worry about. Great handling of baggage to/from ferries downtown. Fantastic meals... you'll need to fast after a couple days of breakfast/dinner feasts. Simply Fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,615
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
653
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

A beautiful place. The service was excellent and the grounds were very enjoyable. We spent our mornings lounging on the Grand porch enjoying the spectacular views. We spent our early evenings by the big fountain on the lower level just enjoying the experience. The breakfast was very good and the service was impeccable. The island was a unique experience and we very much enjoyed the quiet( no cars on the island). We liked the island tour and highly recommend a walk around the island.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice. With our bed & breakfast package we received a room with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went on a Celebrity mediterranean cruise last year. We all felt we received even better care at the Grand. Felt like we were guests at the ball on the Titanic. Will return!!!! 12 in our party ages 4-71. Perfect for the whole group from the food to the pool to the entertainment...Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to know we can entertain such a vast age range, and we hope your family will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Simply Elegant. Really there is nothing else necessary to say. My wife and I stayed at Grand Hotel prior to the 4th of July holiday. Everything out about Grand Hotel speaks to classic elegance. Starting with the carriage ride to the hotel, the red carpet greeting by the doorman, the welcome reception on the Grand Porch, dressing for the 5 course dinner, after dinner drinks in the Cupola and dancing in the Terrace Room, "the Grand" is an experience. Service is exceptional. We had a category 3 room with a balcony providing a spectacular view of the water. Probably the most relaxing weekend I have had in quite some time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenmgrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Absolutely beautiful! Breathtaking views, gorgeous grounds. And the food was outstanding. Loved every minute if my stay. The area is very unique and a must see. The staff at this hotel is wonderful . They take care of your every need with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momomary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were treated like royalty. All requests were handled above our expectations! Meals were delicious and service was exceptional. We were there for the 127th birthday cocktail reception. Weather and service was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Grand Hotel provides a total experience. Make sure you take a garden tour, or attend a history lecture -- you won't be sorry. Music suffuses the hotel -- a combo during dinner, a harpist in the parlor after dinner, the Grand Hotel Orchestra in the Terrace Room to end the evening. Enjoy the adventure of finding the cupola bar, take time to sit on the porch, and don't miss Sadie's Ice Cream!

Room Tip: All rooms are uniquely decorated, with some interior rooms so well done that the decor makes up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAFR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing