We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beyond luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights on a tour of Pure Michigan. Service, comfort & ambiance was unquestionably GRAND. Surpassed Asheville's Biltmore. Every service (food, front desk, housekeeping, wait staff...) was excellent. We felt very much like "Somewhere in Time," or on the "Titanic" every moment. Senior travelers, families with infants to teens were all enjoying life around us.

Room Tip: no bad rooms. We had an assisted room on 1st floor near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,615
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
653
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have been coming to the island for the last 8 years. The Grand is a step back in time, my 17 yr old loves the food and my boys both enjoy dressing for dinner. The pool is my favorite of anywhere I have ever been. For the most part the staff is awesome--only bad experience this year was the dining room on Saturday eve, sat in Elroy(??) section. Dinner order was taken and first course arrived before anyone came to take drink orders or bread. Finally flagged a wine steward and got drinks, but second course had arrived.. Not the norm for this hotel. The rest of our three dinners were superb! Kids love going to the ball room and dancing after dinner--they always meet other teens on vacation also. Golfed the Jewel and the Woods -- always a nice day. The time at the Grand is a family highlight and will be remembered by our family for ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor porch room or one overlooking the porch. Save your money on the waterview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here during jazz festival and our family has come up again on a seperate occasion and we had a great time. The music was fantastic, our room was awesome, the people that work there are very helpful and caring. We rode bikes around the inside and outside of the island, swam in the Esther Williams pool, played tennis on the old fashioned tennis court and it was a great time! We were married on the island at the Windemere Hotel in the garden (owned by the Mayor of Mackinaw Island) and it was beautiful right on the water. We then walked up to the Grand in our formal dress and many people stopped to tell us they were celebrating their anniversary from that day. People cheered and clapped, it was awesome. We returned to the Grand at cocktail time when the photographers were out and we grabbed one to follow us around the Grand and take pictures of us. We bought the entire disc of pictures, it was amazing! So its creaky and flowery and the steps are slanted...this place has charm and character and history, that is what you get at the Grand and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Bring your bike, you won't be disappointed! Have a good time dressing up for dinners, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

1 hr later (after midnight) and the review is the same - the amount of noise echoing through this hotel from the kitchen area (clean-up time, apparently), the conference rooms (an all-night birthday party for some lucky man), and the hallways (no insulation in the walls), makes it impossible to sleep. If you like flowered wallpaper, green indoor-outdoor carpet, creaky floors, and uncomfortable pillows, this hotel is for you! It is absolutely "grand." :) All of that said, it really is a beautiful island. And the Mussers really are good people. And this really is on the list of "1000 Places to See Before You Die." The trouble is, 5 hours after arriving, you'll wish you were dead. :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Bgsteds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input and we realize that we are a bit different from other hotels out there, with our floral interiors and wooden floors. If you do return to visit, please know we do provide earplugs in every room for those who are light sleepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have stayed in many amazing resorts and hotels - in Asheville NC, Bar Harbor ME, Toronto, Chicago, New York City - and this is definitely one of my favorites. When we (my family and I) arrived on Mackinack Island, the weather was pretty bad; heavy rain and very cold for mid-July, but once we got to the Grand Hotel, it didn't even matter. Our room was a category 2, and it was beautiful and spacious. We didn't have a view of the water or anything amazing, but that's what we paid for so it was only to be expected. Our luggage seemed to magically appear from the ferry to our room - that was really nice. I also loved dressing up for dinner and seeing everyone else dressed up was also very nice. The food was very good and was included with our rate so we could choose off of the 5-course menu, which changed every night. For kids, there was a children's buffet with things like chicken fingers, carrot sticks, and watermelon. Something for everyone. After dinner, we went dancing in the terrace room, which was so much fun for everyone. It was like a step back in time - the band and singer did old, classic songs, like Rolling on the River, as well as actual dance music (like swing and waltz music) so I suggest brushing up on your dancing skills before coming!! It was one of the best, most unique parts of the hotel. Breakfast was also very good, but my one comment is that there seemed to be much food being wasted - often when the waiters brought guests large mixed pastry baskets, I would see them just barely eaten and thrown away. But all and all, our stay was wonderful and magical. The Grand Hotel really is a must at least one time in everyone's life!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Grand Hotel is extraordinary. The property is unique and beautiful and fun, but what puts it over the top is the people who work here. Cast your eyes in any direction at any time and you will see someone performing a job at the highest level. Crack of dawn, some really competent horticulturist tending the flowers on the porch; morning noon and night, the incredibly nice and hard working housekeeping staff keeping the place clean and well supplied; late afternoon, staff members setting up for an elegant wedding or reception on the porch; any minute of the day, doormen Gabriel or Dondi warmly welcoming (back) a guest; before any meal, Rhine or one of the other beautiful and gracious young women greeting and welcoming guests to the dining room; any minute of the day, every participant in the GRAND opera of the GRAND dining room; seems like every minute of the day, musicians playing or singing---perfectly. The dance band in the Terrace Room is fabulous, and it's fun to see Caitlin Fox belting out a rock tune in the Terrace Room after hearing her "chanteuse" renderings of the more subtle tunes of Cole Porter in the Cupola Bar, not to mention the wonderful harpist enhancing the parlor during High Tea in the afternoon, and again for demitasse after dinner. Not to mention, the easy-to-like youngsters who take care of the (incredible) Esther Williams Swimming Pool, the endlessly patient, attentive and kind men and women who work the front desk, and the enthusiastic and helpful folks who serve up the ice cream treats at Sadie’s. As if the place weren't already perfect, the move of the flower shop into the ground floor provides the treat of a little blast of "fresh," every time you come in the east door.

This year our granddaughters were 5 and 7 years old. Old enough for Disney perhaps, but we opted for a unique experience, the two-day children's carnival in the tea garden over the 4th of July holiday! The band plays all afternoon, there are more kinds of bouncy houses than we knew existed, the carnival games are just right for little kids, and some are even winnable!

The first day of the carnival featured an ice cream extravaganza that we thought was incomparable till the second day, which featured a classic picnic-Americana that made this old man think of summer fun at Grandmother's house right down to perfect potato salad, baked beans and dill pickles, and a sweet table that may have exceeded Great Grandmother's most enthusiastic efforts!

- - -

Not to mention, wonderful menus for every meal of every day, delicious food, a children's menu and buffet--perfectly perfect, AC works, windows open, Wifi throughout (at no additional charge), comfortable beds, comfortable everything.

Bob Tagatz, the hotel historian and concierge, whose lectures and tours are informative and entertaining and absolutely not to be missed, says the mission of Grand Hotel is to create beautiful summer memories. Indeed it does.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinaw City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have stayed at Grand Hotel 15 times so far and it never fails to be wonderful. The food is so good. The waiters in the dining room are so much fun. Every room we have stayed in has been different and so beautiful. The staff is always helpful and accommodating. The views are gorgeous. We sat on the front porch and just marveled at the beauty of the island.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing