We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Vacation on the Island”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation on the Island”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We recently returned from Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island and had a fabulous time, the hotel is always maintained beautifully, the rooms are spotless, the hotel staff are so warm and inviting. I would like to mention Sara the Photography Manager, she was just excellent with our grand-daughters senior portraits, the proofs that we have seen are perfect! The next staff member we would like to comment on is Shantel, she was our server in the main dining room, Loved her!!!! She welcomed us every night, by the time we left she remembered our preferences in beverages and food and lastly we would like to recognize Saeed also a dining room staff member... We have been staying at the Grand Hotel once or twice a year for over 10 years and believe that the hotel is magical.... Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: if you can afford a Category II or higher do it, the views are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    365
    178
    143
    85
See reviews for
668
1,076
52
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

In July 2014, we attended an ICLE conference. We stayed at the Grand overlooking the true blue, sparkling waters of Lake Huron off the tip of the Michigan's Mitten(lower peninsula, with a view of the Mackinac bridge in the near distance. It lights up at night!).
The grand keeps improving with age. Our food was quite good, the service was wonderful. Our room was huge. The Esther Williams Suite, a collection of movie memorabilia. Lunch at the Jockey. Club was delicious. Dinner one night is always at the WOODS restaurant. It is magical. It is a horse drawn carriage ride away through the forest. The food is great. Highly recommend everyone having a serene, fun, moment in time at the Grand on Mackinac. (Heated pool, tennis, fitness room, paths, bikes, guided tours etc)

Room Tip: Find out the options. You can request specific rooms. Each room is decorated by Carleton Varney. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We love that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our off property dining experiences and appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

There is something special about staying at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island, especially when the experience can be shared with 100 Red Hat Sisters. Everything is GRAND at the Grand! The food, the service and overall ambiance creates a unique vacation.

Room Tip: The decor of every room is different and they are all tastefully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the northern Michigan area, one of which was on Mackinac Island. My parents actually recommened the Grand Hotel even though we were only staying a night. Over the phone it was brought to my attention that dress attire was required for dinner at the Grand and that a suit coat with a button up and tie, but that the coat wasn't required. So of course I brought everything needed except a coat as I didn't have one available at the time. That night when we double checked they told us a coat WAS required so we made reservations at the Jockey Club to eat instead. We called a third time to verify, this time they told us it WAS NOT required. So we canceled our reservations at the Jockey Club, got dressed up, and were denied entrance at the door after they specifically told us not to worry about it. So we had to redo our reservations at the Jockey Club. Can you make your customer feeling anymore terrible? Talk about embarrassing.

The Jockey club waiter sat us outside where it was not very warm. Given that my wife had dressed for our meal inside the hotel, she was not dressed for this and was freezing. We ordered food that took almost an hour to get. Our waitstaff seemed to forget we were there and the food was not great. The bill came to roughly 100 dollars, which was shocking to both of us for the taste and service of the meal. But since we couldn't eat at the Grand, this was our only choice as we payed a hefty price for our hotel room.

Overall I had multiple questions throughout our stay and interacted with many of the people on staff. They seemed knowledgeable on most subjects but were short and what we took as annoyed that we were asking any questions.

We honestly would would never recomened this hotel to our friends and we definitely won't be staying in this hotel again. As a paying hotel customer, being turned away from dinner and feeling akward to even ask simple questions to your staff should make anyone not want to come back to this here. We had breakfast as well the following morning and our waitor didn't appear to want to be there at all. There was no smile and definitely no manners.

I think the nicest person in this place was the younger guy renting bikes to us. He was extremely polite and accomodating. I am in my earlier 30's and I would like to think that I am pretty easy to please. I actually have never written any type of review for any buisness online and I felt compelled enough to let you guys know how very displeased we were with this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than pleasant and thank you for letting us know. Your review helps us see areas that may need some attention and will be used to insure we are giving our guests correct information, not make them feel uncomfortable while they are with us. If you wish to discuss your experience more, please contact us at reservations@grandhotel.com and we will have the proper person contact you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our honeymoon stay was awesome! Everything was taken care of for us by the staff at the grand and the 5 course dinners were amazing. We also had breakfasts delivered to our room, which was a nice addition.

If we ever needed anything, we just had to talk to the concierge and they would take care of it for us. Also, if you are to sit on the porch for a little bit, someone will ask you if you would like anything.

It was just nice to get waited on and it will be an adjustment getting back to normal life in Ohio.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are awesome and worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights on a tour of Pure Michigan. Service, comfort & ambiance was unquestionably GRAND. Surpassed Asheville's Biltmore. Every service (food, front desk, housekeeping, wait staff...) was excellent. We felt very much like "Somewhere in Time," or on the "Titanic" every moment. Senior travelers, families with infants to teens were all enjoying life around us.

Room Tip: no bad rooms. We had an assisted room on 1st floor near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have been coming to the island for the last 8 years. The Grand is a step back in time, my 17 yr old loves the food and my boys both enjoy dressing for dinner. The pool is my favorite of anywhere I have ever been. For the most part the staff is awesome--only bad experience this year was the dining room on Saturday eve, sat in Elroy(??) section. Dinner order was taken and first course arrived before anyone came to take drink orders or bread. Finally flagged a wine steward and got drinks, but second course had arrived.. Not the norm for this hotel. The rest of our three dinners were superb! Kids love going to the ball room and dancing after dinner--they always meet other teens on vacation also. Golfed the Jewel and the Woods -- always a nice day. The time at the Grand is a family highlight and will be remembered by our family for ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor porch room or one overlooking the porch. Save your money on the waterview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelClick so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing