We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for interior design aficionados and relaxing views of the island”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I didn't stay here, but paid a fee to enter just to see the place and sit on the largest porch in the world! It was pretty cool. The interior is very gaudy. And there's even a room dedicated just to dog shows. So it's pretty over the top. But there are a lot of beautiful paintings and odd furniture and photographs and history from the hotel's past.

And the porch is very relaxing. We played chess on one of those life-size boards and then had some good iced tea and other drinks. We left on a horse-drawn carriage, which I thought was the best part! I wouldn't stay here, because the fees are astronomical. But it's a pretty quirky, weird place to see.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnaTomp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,508 - 1,514 of 2,709 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've been wanting to visit Mackinac Island and the Grand Hotel for some time. Being able to stay here in June was a dream come true. This hotel is truly amazing and so charming. It really brings you back in time when things were much simpler and people were much more social, courteous, and respectful of one another. From the largest front porch in the world (which is incredibly relaxing - sitting in a rocker, reading a book in the sunshine) to the incredible service of the employees to the attention to detail in the décor of each one of the guest rooms and public spaces, it truly is an experience! You will not be disappointed, and I believe it's worth every penny!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side by the Mackinac Bridge; corner rooms are small but have fantastic vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AimeeT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was very fortunate to be apart of my best friends bucket list trip....The Grand Hotel! We were
there for two nights, the first night in a very small room. My friend doesn't sleep well, so I asked
at the front desk if we could upgrade the second night and we were moved to a more spacious room at no extra cost:). The hotel, rooms, dining areas are all very clean and uniquely decorated.
We had two suppers and two breakfasts, all were great tasting and awesome service. We went on a horse and buggy tour which was interesting. I bought fudge at two places and both were yummy. The lilacs were still in bloom and lots of them everywhere, one of my favourite flowers.
I would love to go back, but it is very expensive to stay at the Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: If paying for a category one room, ask to upgrade to a category two at no extra cost. Fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fun_in_the_Sun_KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Grand Hotel.What sets the Grand above all others is the staff. They make you feel as you are the only guest. All greet you with a smile and warm words, be it at morning coffee or the turn down staff late at night.

Highlight this trip were the activities for our 9 year son, duckpin bowling, moves and yard games. As we took the ferry back to the fast pace of cars, our son wanted to know when we were returning to the Grand.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Social Media Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their visit, and that we have impressed your son. We always love new fans! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very expensive, but you will not find another hotel like it. Travel to the island on a ferry. When you get to the island, you take a horse drawn carriage up to The Grand with it's impressive porch. With over 300 rooms, each room is decorated differently. Meals are prepared for you by top chefs and you are waited on hand and foot. Live music during tea time, dinner and at night in the ballroom for dancing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front for a night time view of Mackinac Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank goldandsilverrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel really takes your breath away. The Draper designed interiors are colorful and inspiring, the whole lobby level smells like fresh flowers 24/7 thanks to the on site flower shop. The food is fantastic and they always offer a vegetarian selection which was appreciated. The hotel itself is a destination, combined with the views and the activities on the island it is truly a perfect place to visit either as a romantic getaway or with your family. My 2 year old loved it. They had a very nice babysitter available so that we were able to have dinner one evening without guarding the plates and silverware from curious hands. He was enthralled with the horses as well as all the bicycles and loved just throwing pebbles in the lake. The pool and gardens were also great places to take him.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MMFarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I were looking for a special experience to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary - had a lot of options on the table, inside and outside the country. And out of no where I thought of the Grand Hotel. Having never been there, we looked it up, decided to make reservations, opting for the anniversary package and were blessed beyond belief! It's like "Downton Abbey meets Somewhere in Time, meets Dirty Dancin". There's something for everyone. You can be as busy or as chill as you want. The hospitality, grounds, accommendations, service, food - all are five star! Not to mention the setting - it was the PERFECTplace to celebrate!

Room Tip: We simply asked for a view of the bay, and got 3rd floor center with a balcony - outstanding views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,031 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £285 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing