We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but not a true 5 star property... way overpriced too”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok, but not a true 5 star property... way overpriced too”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I just stayed at the Grand hotel for a 2 night stay with a group of 4 adults and 6 young children... the hotel is indeed impressive when you view it from the outside. The problems start as soon as you check in and start trying to figure out what to do. It is not kid friendly. There is no lifeguard in the large and cold outdoor pool. The TV sets in the rooms are tiny ... 9-11 inches ... no joke ... no dvd players either. The food takes a long time to arrive, and is gourmet style.... kids just cannot wait for that long..... also our rooms were small even at $ 750 per night... the beds were tiny...

suggestion --- visit mackinaw for a day trip and then go somewhere else to sleep

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cambedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    402
    191
    152
    87
See reviews for
718
1,162
55
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I find it hard to write a negative review of a venue so unique and historic. The cost to maintain such a facility on such a remote local is certainly a challenge. Although I tried very hard to overlook the poor condition of some furnishings (the yellow rose plastic couches), the bright and almost Madonna Inn -esque decor is somehow wacky and attractive. The bathrooms were sorely in need of updating. For example, a molded tub/shower surround sure doesn't fit a $600/night rate.

I agree with the previous poster that the meal staff is inconsistent. The no-tipping policy seems to bring out lack-luster service. The quality of our meals was good. The amenities are very nice and the concierge staff are great. "Dressing for dinner" and all the formality is a fun escape from the real world.

Despite the feeling that we had severely overpaid, the notion of how unique this hotel is made the cost tolerable. The island is great fun and a wonderful expereince to treasure, with the right avenue. It's not the Ritz Carlton -- it's a very different experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

My family stayed at the Grand Hotel for three nights on the modified American plan, which featured breakfast and dinner. The rate was significant, just under $700 per day, so we had high expectations for the quality of the dining experience. We were greatly disappointed. The room was lovely and service outside of the dining room was professional, however both the quality of the food and the performance of the serving staff were poor. The Grand serves hundreds of guests each evening, each guest choosing from a menu featuring about five entrees. Unfortunately, the food was never hot when it arrived at our table. The portions were substantial, however. I would rate the quality of the food served to us at dinner at the Grand at 4 on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being superior. Our greatest disappointment, though, was with the service by the dining room staff at dinner. The servers we had were uniformly inattentive and indifferent. Frankly, they reminded me of cruise line food service workers who have been on the job for months without a break; they acted like they just didn't want to be there. An example of the indifference we experienced occurred on our third night when, because my entree was cool and unappealing, I took two bites and sat back. After awhile the server came and snatched it from in front of me without comment, then returned about seven or eight minutes later to ask, "How was your dinner? Good?" Obviously, the server just wasn't present in his role. The Grand uses employees recruited from foreign countries and, I understand, does not pay them much. It also has a no tipping policy. In addition, it was evident that there was very little supervision of their performance. It appeared that not only was the wait staff inattentive, management was inattentive to the performance of the wait staff. The Grand is a five star destination hotel/resort which prices its packages very high. Given our experience in the hotel's main dining room, the hotel is not delivering acceptable value for the dollar, and their rating lacks merit. When I shared our experience with the employee at the check-out desk, her response was that she hears many complaints like this one.

The Grand is an interesting hotel to visit, an historically significant place, certainly. I was left with the strong impression that the management and owner of the hotel is milking its historical significance and under-invested in its present performance. One can only assume that management is aware of the level of service it provides in its dining room and is content not to bring it up to par. I would not recommend The Grand Hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank capelan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clermont
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

What a wondrful experience and that is what it is an experience. We had such a wonderful time. Our room was simply beautiful and huge. It had a great view of the Lake. The room was clean and could not find a thing wrong with it. I was very impressed with the upkeep of the hotel-it was in tip top shape. The staff was friendly and attentive. You felt very relaxed and welcomed. I had thought that it might be "uppidity" but this was not the case. The food was fair and the next time we would not get the dinner plan. It was very hot when we were there and our room had air but walking the downtown you see that many, many of the places to stay do not have air. It was a marvelous weekend - one never to forgotten in time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whimisical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We booked on the special - stay one night and get 2nd night 1/2 off. Our kids, including a teenager loved and everyone was so delighted with the place that we asked to stay a 3rd night and the manager said we could get the 1/2 price special for the 3rd night. The rooms were really nicely decorated; bathrooms very nice; plenty of towels. When they do turndown service in the evening, they bring new towels which is really nice. The breakfast and dinners were excellent. Service a bit slow sometimes, but you really get to enjoy the experience. The kids loved the evening dancing. We felt like we were on a cruise. Excellent place for an extended family vacation and with the meals included it is really a good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Best thing is view - other than that I would not pay the $$$ to stay. Interiors looked very dated and some floors, walls even dirty. Spend the $10 to rock on the porch and then stay at a B&B......

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

the view, history are as advertised, but the service was awful and value for breakfast and dinners were very poor. also too many rules which are not explained well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richlai_2000_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing