We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“music in an old time setting”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2010

the Labor Day Weekend Jazz Festival couples a beautiful hotel with great music in a fantastic setting

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,432 - 2,438 of 2,708 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at the Grand Hotel to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We knew about the Grand from the movie "Somewhere in Time" and had always wanted to stay there. We both thoroughly enjoyed the Grand experience and would return there again.

What we liked about the Grand was its ability to create a unique romantic experience. Its Retro Gilded Age ambiance was enchanting, from the 600 foot porch overlooking Lake Michigan to its interior furnishings, artwork, and immaculately maintained grounds. Our interior room was spacious and comfortable, with a flower (roses) motif. The staff was cordial and polite, and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the romantic atmosphere, dancing in the ballroom, strolling along the tree-lined paths, and sitting in the Parlour with an after dinner drink listening to talented harpist. For us it was the perfect place to spend a "togetherness" weekend.

The Grand is not cheap, but we knew that ahead of time and decided that for this special occasion the experience was more important than the cost. The Grand is a large operation and there were a few minor glitches, such as the waiter forgetting to ask us if we wanted coffee after dinner one evening, but we didn't let such a small inconvenience spoil our stay.

I think whether or not you'll enjoy the Grand will depend on your perceptions and expectations. What one person views as tacky another will view as eclectic; if you enjoy the cuisine on cruise ships then you'll probably like dinner, but if Joel Robuchon is your standard then you'll probably find it disappointing. With almost 300 TripAdvisor reviews, there's more than enough information to help one decide if the Grand Hotel is for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Who are the people that give this aging grand lady 5's? I would love to tour the place with them and point out all the dirty/worn/ and broken furniture. Also our room with it's worn/dated/chipped/stained furniture and rugs. Also the poory cleaned bathroom.
then we could have dinner adn they could try to explain to me how the tastless dried tough meat was gourmet.
We;ve not stayed at a hotel with the Grand's high rating - we usually stay at places that provide guest accomadations - the Grand offers visitor toleration. We were bluntly told by a waiter and the dinning captain that we could not take our continental breakfast on the porch (a continental that included paper cups for coffee -elegant and 5 star!)
The concierge acted put upon whenever we asked a question - he was very busy and acted upset we bothered him - very 5 star!
This place is living on reputation and as long as people confuse paying a lot with getting a lot, this place will not change.
Jennifer the Pool Manager should be put in charge of the place. She shows pride in her job and genuine warmth in accomadating guests and making them feel they matter.
At half price I felt we overpaid.
This place is extremely overated - the $10 they charge to walk the grounds and sit on the porch is the only value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAG102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The hotel is beautiful in the aging queen kind of way. Landscaping and grounds are gorgeous. We got a great off season rate, which made the value more attractive. It was a lot of fun to stay there once, but I think once will be enough. A copy of "Somewhere in Time" DVD was in our room. Fun touch!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

It was always our dream to stay at the Grand Hotel, and we did so earlier this month. We can now mark it off our list. It is, indeed, grand. The property is immaculate, the hotel itself is beautiful and evocative of an earlier, elegant period. We had no qualms with service. We did the afternoon tea, dinner, dancing. We sat on the porch and sipped champagne. Was it worth the expense? Probably not. As we left the island we agreed we wouldn't be in a hurry to return. But we have some lovely memories to help fill up the empty bank account.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clokpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I booked this hotel late and got a suite on the 4th floor. Our room was beautiful, the veranda off our room was a treat. Great views. The "grand" porch was impeccable. Absolutely wonderful place.
The hotel has a lot going on. There are multiple tours and visitors paying to see the hotel. It feels a bit like a cruise boat. In the dining room you are met and escorted to a table. Either the buffet at lunch or a dinner menu just like cruises is offered. It's not bad but not comfy cozy either.
I had some miscommunication with the front desk. This was immediately remedied by the manager. A woman, I wish I could remember her name.
Definitely stay here if you visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havefuntoday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The key to great service is TIPPING!! Yah...I know...they have a "no tipping policy." It doesn't take a Bachelor of Science to know that is B.S. We tipped EVERYONE for their service/advice. I put myself through college as a server, and have a special appreciation for how money can talk.

We started at the registration desk. We gave the girl at $20 when we checked telling her we wanted an upgraded room. She tried to say "no" but I said, "we insist." We got a beautiful, beautiful room! Then, prior to our arrival in port via the ferry, I called to inform them we were arriving at Shepler's Ferry and to have a taxi waiting for us. There were two Grand Hotel taxi's (the only way to travel)! So when we got to the hotel on the taxi, I asked for Dondi (remember that name!). Dondi is the primary Doorman. (You can see who some of the other people are that work there by going to http://grandhotel.com/blog/. ) I tipped him for helping us acquire our taxi. From then on, he recognized us, greated us and greated us by name. Sure makes you feel like a big frog in a small pond among the other guests. One of our first tasks upon getting our room was to look for the Maitre D'. We explained it was our anniversary, and while we are aware that seating is first-come-first-served, we would appreciate his help in getting us into the private room at the end of the dining room (of course, tipping him with our request). Later that day, they called to inform us that there is a private party in that room, so they could not accommodate our request. I just said okay, thank you. Then after that, they called again to ask us when we thought we would be coming for dinner. I told them between 6 and 7. When we arrived for dinner, and for every meal after that, we were provided a fantastic window table. We also tipped the servers $20 per meal. And....did I forget to mention that we were greated by name by the maitre d' each time as well?

We took advantage of the anniversary/honeymoon package. This package included a 1 hour carriage ride. So, one of the four days we were at the Grand, we received a phone call asking if we would like to take advantage of a carriage ride in the owner's personal carriage. So of course we made plans to do so the following morning. We had a WONDERFUL ride in the areas we requested (we have been to Mackinac Island many times ---we got married there--and have done many carriage rides).

We also took advantage of the awesome pool. There are two hot tubs as well. Most of the kids were at the shallow end of the pool. That end of the pool had a hot tub. But the deep end (9 ft) had no people. There is also a hot tub that no one was using....except for me. The pool provides float noodles, which makes it nice for floating in the deep end of the pool without being bothered by the kids if you are so inclined.

As for eating, we dined at Woods one evening, which is a great ride deep into the woods. The atmosphere of the restaurant is also great, as well as the food. We also had lunch out by the lake at the Iroquois....WONDERFUL!

We had scheduled a West Lighthouse cruise through Shepler's, but due to high waves, it was cancelled. (FYI---DON'T FORGET YOUR CHARGERS FOR YOUR PHONE/BLACKBERRY/CAMERA, ETC). But...if you do, the service desk has crates of chargers that you can search through. Dave helped me alot with searching for chargers for our Blackberries and camera.

We are mostly day people rather than night people. While we had high hopes for watching the sunset at the Cupola bar and dancing at the Terrace Room, the days at the pool in the sun pooped us out. One morning we had breakfast in the room and one evening we had dinner in the room.

The flat panel TV's in the room have a DVD player in the side of the screen...another FYI. We bought "The History of the Grand Hotel" and watched it in the room one evening. They also show "Somewhere In Time" and some other movies in the evening.

Each morning they give you a schedule of events at the hotel. It may look like this:

6:53 am Sunrise
8:25 pm Sunset
6:30 am - 8:00 am Morning Coffee, Audubon Wine Bar
7:30am - 9:30am Breakfast, Main Dining Room
7:30 am Geranium Bar Opens
7:30 am Sunrise Stretch, Pool House
9:30 am - 11:00 am Continental Breakfast, Geranium Bar
11:00 am The Jockey Club at the Grand Stand, the Gate House Restaurant and Fort Mackinac Tea Room Open (we've had nice times at the tea room)
11:00 am Quattro's Quarters Game room opens at the Gat House (shuffleboard, air hockey, skeeball, the claw, and more)
12:00 - 2:00 pm Grand Luncheon Buffet, Main Dining Room
12:00 pm cupola bar, Bobby's bar and Pool Grill opn
2:00 pm Audubon Wine Bar Opens
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm Afternoon Tea, Parlor
5:30 pm Woods Restaurant opens
6:00 - 9:00 pm Hotel photographers will be availalbe to take your pickture, Parlor
6:30 pm - 8:45 pm Dinner, Main Dining room (Menu #)
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm Demitasse, Parlor
8:30 pm Music-with-a-view, Cupola Bar
9:00 pm S'mores, The Jockey Club
9:00 pm Movie,, Somewhere it Time
9:00 pm Children's Movie, Ice Age - Dawn of dinosaurs
9:30 pm The Grand Hotel Orchestra, Terras Room
10:00 pm Live Entertainment, That 80's Band, The Gate House (must be 21 after 10pm)

The Jockey club is just across the street within walking distance. The Gate House is a bit more of a walk down into town. Manageable going doing, but steep going back up.

There is an art gallery right near the concierge desk. Make sure you go up the steps in the art gallery to see the reproduction in miniature of the Grand Hotel.

If you give the doorman 2 hours notice, you can just leave your luggage outside your room and they will take care of having it delivered to the dock in Mackinaw City or St. Ignace. You can also ask for assistance with moving it down to the entrance by calling the Service Desk. That way, you can bring it with you on the taxi to your ferry.

If you use Shepler's and stay at the Grand Hotel, you get $4 off your ferry fee. And if you take the 9 am or 10 am boat from Mackinaw City to the island, you get a great cruise under the bridge.

If you want to stay in Mackinaw City, CHECK OUT THE RIVIERA MOTEL. Its right on the water, looking at the bridge, with a nice pool by the lake and right next to the lighthouse park. Rooms 212 and 112 are the best, but we had 203 and it was perfect too!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank NV_Bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £284 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing