We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Named the Hotel Right!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Gladwin, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“They Named the Hotel Right!”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

What a grand place to have some R&R. 5 course dinner, great breakfast included and large room!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Investor51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,730
    391
    187
    150
    87
See reviews for
700
1,136
55
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

the Labor Day Weekend Jazz Festival couples a beautiful hotel with great music in a fantastic setting

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skifree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at the Grand Hotel to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We knew about the Grand from the movie "Somewhere in Time" and had always wanted to stay there. We both thoroughly enjoyed the Grand experience and would return there again.

What we liked about the Grand was its ability to create a unique romantic experience. Its Retro Gilded Age ambiance was enchanting, from the 600 foot porch overlooking Lake Michigan to its interior furnishings, artwork, and immaculately maintained grounds. Our interior room was spacious and comfortable, with a flower (roses) motif. The staff was cordial and polite, and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the romantic atmosphere, dancing in the ballroom, strolling along the tree-lined paths, and sitting in the Parlour with an after dinner drink listening to talented harpist. For us it was the perfect place to spend a "togetherness" weekend.

The Grand is not cheap, but we knew that ahead of time and decided that for this special occasion the experience was more important than the cost. The Grand is a large operation and there were a few minor glitches, such as the waiter forgetting to ask us if we wanted coffee after dinner one evening, but we didn't let such a small inconvenience spoil our stay.

I think whether or not you'll enjoy the Grand will depend on your perceptions and expectations. What one person views as tacky another will view as eclectic; if you enjoy the cuisine on cruise ships then you'll probably like dinner, but if Joel Robuchon is your standard then you'll probably find it disappointing. With almost 300 TripAdvisor reviews, there's more than enough information to help one decide if the Grand Hotel is for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Who are the people that give this aging grand lady 5's? I would love to tour the place with them and point out all the dirty/worn/ and broken furniture. Also our room with it's worn/dated/chipped/stained furniture and rugs. Also the poory cleaned bathroom.
then we could have dinner adn they could try to explain to me how the tastless dried tough meat was gourmet.
We;ve not stayed at a hotel with the Grand's high rating - we usually stay at places that provide guest accomadations - the Grand offers visitor toleration. We were bluntly told by a waiter and the dinning captain that we could not take our continental breakfast on the porch (a continental that included paper cups for coffee -elegant and 5 star!)
The concierge acted put upon whenever we asked a question - he was very busy and acted upset we bothered him - very 5 star!
This place is living on reputation and as long as people confuse paying a lot with getting a lot, this place will not change.
Jennifer the Pool Manager should be put in charge of the place. She shows pride in her job and genuine warmth in accomadating guests and making them feel they matter.
At half price I felt we overpaid.
This place is extremely overated - the $10 they charge to walk the grounds and sit on the porch is the only value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAG102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The hotel is beautiful in the aging queen kind of way. Landscaping and grounds are gorgeous. We got a great off season rate, which made the value more attractive. It was a lot of fun to stay there once, but I think once will be enough. A copy of "Somewhere in Time" DVD was in our room. Fun touch!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha, ne
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

It was always our dream to stay at the Grand Hotel, and we did so earlier this month. We can now mark it off our list. It is, indeed, grand. The property is immaculate, the hotel itself is beautiful and evocative of an earlier, elegant period. We had no qualms with service. We did the afternoon tea, dinner, dancing. We sat on the porch and sipped champagne. Was it worth the expense? Probably not. As we left the island we agreed we wouldn't be in a hurry to return. But we have some lovely memories to help fill up the empty bank account.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clokpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I booked this hotel late and got a suite on the 4th floor. Our room was beautiful, the veranda off our room was a treat. Great views. The "grand" porch was impeccable. Absolutely wonderful place.
The hotel has a lot going on. There are multiple tours and visitors paying to see the hotel. It feels a bit like a cruise boat. In the dining room you are met and escorted to a table. Either the buffet at lunch or a dinner menu just like cruises is offered. It's not bad but not comfy cozy either.
I had some miscommunication with the front desk. This was immediately remedied by the manager. A woman, I wish I could remember her name.
Definitely stay here if you visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havefuntoday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing