We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced ice cream” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velvet - CLOSED

Velvet
Restaurant details
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overpriced ice cream”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

I know everything on the Island is high priced, but this is ridiculous. Dish of ice cream and a cone for $11 seriously??? Well that's if you can get the staff to acknowledge your presence. By the way this isn't a restaurant, its just a ice cream and fudge shop.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miafioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best fudge on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Yes, there are a ton of fudge places on Mackinac Island. However, after much experimenting (and taste-testing), we have discovered that Velvet is indeed the best one! They're not lying: their fudge is so sweet and smooth it is just like velvet. Wonderful peanut butter and chocolate/peanut butter!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PugCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

2 doors from the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa. Staff very friendly. The coffee ice cream and the chocolate peanut butter was delicious. It became our lunch every day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nurselindag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fudge on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Velvet is a more recent addition to the fudge shops on Mackinac Island. I have tried all of the different fudge shops over many years. Velvet is by far the best one.The prices are good and they have a good special going on all the time. Their chocolate cherry is my favorite.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank graybeard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
409 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“We sampled everyone's fudge and this was the one we liked best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Taste is a personal thing. We sampled everyone's fudge (you quickly learn that there are only five different fudge shops on the island although there are something like 18 fudge stores). We liked Velvet's fudge very much and for the price you cannot beat it. While we did not try it, they were scooping HUGH ice cream cones too. A true sugar high.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Velvet also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing