We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soo fun and worth it!”

Mackinac Island Bike Shop
Ranked #1 of 13 Shopping in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Soo fun and worth it!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The employees were very kind and helpful. The better bikes are well worth the extra few dollars. Road the 8 miles around on an absolutely stunning landscape. Lots of fun. Will do it again.

Helpful?
Thank Usontherode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    24
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackinac Island, MI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The owner and name of this business has changed!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This business is now called the Mackinac Island Bike Barn. It has a new owner and is no longer referred to as the Mackinac Island Bike Shop.

Helpful?
Thank BennieHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is the place for your bike rental!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We took the Sheplers Ferry over and this bike shop is the first one to your right as you exit the boat. Be aware! Other bike rentals advertise lower fares, but that is for a standard, gearless, bike. You need a mountain bike if you plan to bike the entire 8 miles around the island. The staff is quick and friendly and they prorate your fee according to the actual time you use the bike. Our 1-1/2 hour fee was $12 each

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lunchlandqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“With so many rental stations located on Main Street, it may be difficult to decide which one to pick. Look no further!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were assisted promptly, given advice as to which style of bike would work best for our activities, and fitted. We were given our water, basket, and map complimentary as well. With approximately 10 minutes, we were on our way! We were expecting to pay quite a bit for the 2 of us. However, we were pleased to end up with a charge of about $21 for just over an hour of rental, which was enough for us to take our time on the 8 highway around the island. Great value, great service, no complaints or suggestions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite Vacation Activity Ever”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughter and I rented bikes when we visited Mackinac Island. It ended up being the best activity I have ever experienced on a vacation. There are no motorized vehicles so you are free to ride without worry of being hit by a car. We rode the entire perimeter of the island. It was beautiful and relaxing. I enjoyed every second of the ride.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank B5587TDjenniferc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mackinac Island Bike Shop also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mackinac Island Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing