We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal on the island.......”

Mackinac Island Bike Shop
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best deal on the island.......”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We happened upon this bike rental company and could not have had more luck. The owner greeted us out front, he actually knowingly made less money on our bikes once he understood our goals for our trip. His tips on how to break up the tour of the island were spot on. He gave us little known destinations to ride past. With a free basket, a free map, a free bottle of water and great advice from someone who cared about his customer first, and our impression and experience on the island more than making an extra dollar himself, how could you ask for anything more. We took the bikes around the 8 mile loop with a stop at Arch Rock the first day. On the second day went up past the Grand Hotel and into the interior spots of the island near the Woods restaurant. The ride or should I say coast down the hill from the Grand Hotel made us feel like kids again. Don't miss out on taking both routes if you can do it. Have fun!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gelacor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great bike ride”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great ride. I love Trek bikes so we go to this bike shop only. The bikes are well kept and clean. The seats they use are more comfortable than most. We use them every summer. I recommend them to everyone I know. Also I have some difficulty getting a bike but the design of Trek bikes work we'll for me.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shecky478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent bicycles”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

They look at you and know the size of bike you need. They are in perfect condition and seem well maintained. Be aware the clock starts running the minute you rent the bikes. We rode around the island and it took us 45 minutes the first day and 50 minutes the second day. Even though you rent for an hour they give you 15 minutes grace.
Note: They take your credit card and run a $1.00 hold and you have to give them your card again to actually pay as the amount of time you use isn't known until afterwards. When you are done, they take your bike quickly from you and you are done. Reservations are not needed as there are many places to rent.
Use caution riding as there are many riders who quickly slow or turn around all of a sudden so do not go too fast. We talked to a local policeman and he told us the ambulance runs are typically for bicycle accidents and he went on to say they have about one casualty a year from them on the island.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We rented bikes here and even with a huge amount of people the service was fast and friendly-the prices were not bad. We rented several bikes and one amigo (electric scooter). Had a really good time and when we returned them it was also very fast. They are next to Shepler's ferry dock.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dkitchen794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Great Fun”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff here was very friendly and super-efficient. They had the paperwork done and the bikes ready in very short time. It was equally friendly and efficient when we returned our bikes. The bikes themselves are very nice. It is was comfortable ride with smooth and easy gears. We did the 8 mile path around the island and it was a great ride that featured beautiful scenery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RayRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mackinac Island Bike Shop also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mackinac Island Bike Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing