We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We visited the hotel again this year after a fantastic stay last year. It was just as enjoyable the second time. Great rooms, views, gardens, restaurant, and location with an accommodating staff. Can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Book early and chose one of the first floor rooms with a balcony viewing the water and park.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkM386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Iroquois
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

Hotel was recommended by family member. It did not disappoint. This was our first trip to the Island. Our only disappointment was the fact that our 3 rooms were on 3 different floors. We had made reservations in early July for Sept. arrival & had requested our rooms be together. The hotel is an historical hotel. The rooms are small, but meticulously cleaned. The turn down service at end of day is a luxury. The location at the end of Main St. made for beautiful views from our room (203). We requested a balcony, which we had with a view of the water. However, we had to turn sideways to go thru the small door & could only stand on the balcony. Be aware there is no central air in this hotel. Some rooms do have a unit on the wall (203 did) which we did not have to use. However, in the heat of the summer, this could be a problem. Our friends had a 3rd floor room (306) with no air. The windows have shutters on them . . if you leave the windows open at nite & lock the shutters . . the wind causes the shutters to vibrate, making noise at night. We learned on the second nite to put furniture against the shutters to silence them. On the first floor, the "balcony" rooms are not private . . but 3 rooms share a large porch with comfy wicker furniture overlooking beautiful garden. Don't get me wrong . . the hotel is wonderful, service is great. And an added note . . .ice comes from room service . . but they were quick & would bring 2 ice buckets at a time. It was never a problem.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If this is a problem, request the 1st floor,
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

By far the best place we stayed on this trip. It is right at the end of main street - out of the noise, but very accessible - on the harbor with great views and incredible gardens. The food was fantastic - in fact I think it's the best place to eat on the island! The front desk and the restaruant staff made sure that everything was perfect! Eating breakfast on the round porch was a treat.

Room Tip: We had a 'garden view' room as my husband has problems with stairs and it was wonderful even...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyNoelWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I know a lot of people only review things when they have a negative experience, so I'm writing this to tell of our EXCELLENT experience at Hotel Iroquois. It is an older hotel, but you would never know it by how meticulously clean it is kept. We saw staff cleaning the wicker furniture and washing the street each day. That's cleanliness! Our room, 321, was beautiful with a view of the garden and the water. The decor in the whole hotel is very charming and has a sea-side feel. The gardens are fabulous. The extra touches, like fresh cut flowers & ice water w/ lemon in the lobby, the bakery continental breakfast and the turn down service put this hotel above anywhere we've ever stayed. It's pricey but worth it. Someone else's review mentioned noisy kids. We experienced that, too (what's with parents?!) but we called down to the front desk, and they took care of it. Not much else I can say but that it is wonderful! Perfect location, right next to the ferry, close enough to the main street but out of the way of all the craziness and noise. It didn't even have the manure smell. Right next to a boardwalk, too, for a nice walk at any time. Highly, highly recommend. Oh, and there's no elevator, but they told us that on the phone when booking. If you don't like stairs, just book on the main floor. You'll get a private porch.

Room Tip: Room 321! Amazing view, beautiful decor. And air conditioner if you need it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

There is no elevator so request a lower floor room if needed. The Biddle Point room has surround window views of the Harbor, Governor's retreat, as well as the Fort. This property is maintained with excellent care. The various breezy rooms, porch and patio eating are a treat for the soul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank otisokansascity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

From the welcoming porches to exceptional housekeeping and an efficient staff, this hotel makes a wonderful first impression. After that initial impression, you will not be disappointed. The rooms are beautiful and furnished with Mackinac Island-appropriate quality furniture, fabrics, and finishes. Our room overlooked the harbor and lighthouse. The on-site restaurant offers delicious options, and you can eat in the dining room which has large window-walls with views of the harbor or outdoors in the beautiful Proven Winners Showcase Garden. We highly recommend this hotel. Our stay there was memorable for the four adults in our party!

Room Tip: The top floor Lighthouse Suite is THE BEST with a lovely sitting area, mini-kitchen, and en suite ba...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janofarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here with 3 other couples the weekend of 10/21/11. Our room was lovely, fantastic breeze from our balcony on a perfect fall weekend. We loved the "inn" feeling of the hotel, so clean and cozy, and elegant. It was a treat to stay at the Iroquois! We are frequent guests on the island (twice per summer/fall) and have yet to stay at the Grand. We so love the "in town" location of the Iroquois and will be back again soon!

Our only complaint: We booked our stay at the Iroquois, and then invited 3 other couples (3 additional rooms) to join us and they booked as well! The bummer was that the last couple to book was upgraded at check-in to the Biddle Point Suite for the same price we paid. When we were the ones who brought them along! Maybe we will get the upgrade this year ;)

Room Tip: Love the rooms with the breeze from the lake!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £104 - £592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing