We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Off Season”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Value Off Season”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We visited October 19 thru 21 and paid 108.00 per night. Booked it in August. What a fantastic place. Very romantic. Hats off to Zak who took care of transporting our bags to and from the dock. Never had a worry.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLOBAL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    64
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
152
337
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and pictures from their website. For mid-October, a "deluxe" room on the first floor (#103) was $190 per night plus all the taxes which add up to about 20% additional. Per their website, the room costs about $400 - $500 during the summer months. $190 isn't outrageous for a water-view room on Mackinac Island. I guess we just expected something better based on the rack rate prices. The room was nicely decorated (but certainly not to everyones taste with very busy flowered wall-paper, striped draperies, and a predominance of lavender colors.). The room was very small with three uncomfortably small chairs. There is no refrigerator, mini-bar, safe, etc. The bed was hard (not firm) and somewhat spartan in appearance. I would have expected down/feather pillows and coverlets but the pillows were lumpy synthetic material and there were no blankets. The linens were flimsy. The bathroom was tiny and ordinary. Rather than a nice hotel spa-like bathroom, it was more something you would see in cookie-cutter builder grade housing. The small tub/shower combo was a plastic insert with a dark heavy rubbery shower curtain. Service was spotty and the housekeeping staff seemed to just want to get the job done and go home. Twice they came to the door for turn-down service at about 5 PM. When we asked them to come back later when we left for the evening they seemed put out. There is no bedtime treat left at turndown - several lower priced properties on the island provide a small piece of fudge and most nicer hotels provde something.
Breakfast was cold continental but the breads were delicious and the coffee fresh. This location is excellent and room 103 has a nice outdoor area (although there is no privacy from your neighbors). This is an old building and there is noise - we could hear the person in the room above us walking when we were trying to sleep and all hallway noises seem to be magnified.
Over all, I think we would opt for a different property if we visit he island again. This is a cute, small hotel but we made the mistake of expecting a 4-5 star property.

Room Tip: There are three rooms on the first floor that have outdoor patios and overlook the water and lightho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

If Mackinac is your cup of tea, the Iroquois is the sweetener. My wife and I love the laid back atmosphere of the island, and appreciate what this hotel does to make the experience even better. The owner of the hotel is a stickler for cleanliness - inside and outside the hotel. The Iroquois is located on the lake. Open your windows, enjoy the waves lapping upon the shore, and watch the sun rise. If you want, go outside and enjoy the restaurant/patio. The food is the best we have found in downtown Mackinac. If you have a question, Betsy at the front desk is there to help get your answer.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First time to Mackinaw Island. My wife picked the Iroquois from reading reviews on "Trip Advisor". What a wonder decision! The hotel is beautiful, clean, we did stay in one of the tower suites because we celebrated our 45 years of marriage with them.
Our suite had fourteen window facing the straits of Mackinaw so if you want the best view they have to offer, the tower suite rooms are the place to be! There three tower suite rooms since they have three levels.
We reserved our room early for the month of May, I had to have a surgery and our dog of twelve years passed away. So we really needed to cancel. The Iroquois found it hard to refund our deposit since we were cancelling two weeks before our scheduled trip in May.
They almost pleaded with us to come later in the summer. We decided on the first week of Oct. and were so happy we did that!
Having a great time and still have one more day to stay!
Loving our stay at the Iroquois!

Room Tip: Tower suites are the best for water views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim3549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I went there last weekend to relax with an old college buddy. Our room had amazing water views. The location is perfect. We biked all over the island and parked our bikes right outside. The staff was attentive and the morning breakfast added a nice touch. Our rooms were clean and spacious. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were very pleased with our room which was upgraded to a water-view. The hotel offers a high level of service, helping with tour info, dinner reservations, taxi's (horse-drawn carriages!), etc. It's a wonderful retreat all by itself but also offers an excellent location for enjoying the island. Don't miss their restaurant - best food on the harbor!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This summer we again did our nearly yearly visit to the Hotel Iroquois ... and loved it again! It was the first time we've had one of the three first-floor rooms opening to the wide deck, with the very comfy lounge furniture, overlooking the gardens. Great place to relax and read between bike rides and fudge-shop runs. Yes, you also face the big white wall of Mary's Bistro from this vantage point. But it didn't bother us at all. Sealed us off kind of nicely, in fact, from the often manic Main Street scene. This year we also decided to take more advantage of the delightful bar in the Iroquois' Carriage House restaurant. Nice cocktails and fun chatting with the fellow tipplers from places far and wide. DEFINITELY recommended. A different experience from the Grand Hotel -- calmer, quieter, its own special vibe. Both wonderful in their own ways.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iksnamhcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing