We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Loacation and Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Loacation and Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had one of the Tower Rooms...fabulous. Panoramic views. Comfortable bed. Attractive room. The only reason to not want to stay here is that you will be tempted not to leave your room. Located at end of business district. Star Line docks are closest. Attached restaurant is very good. Do yourself a favor and check-in.

Room Tip: The Tower rooms are pricey...limited availability...but get one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoeNozeAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    64
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
151
334
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our 34th year at the Iroquois - having celebrated our anniversary there each year from no matter where we lived - including Tokyo. We've had the opportunity to stay in the best hotels in the world -- and each year the Iroquois calls us back because of the character, the location, the ambiance and especially the people. The location cannot be beat, and being close to everything is wonderful. The delightful continental breakfast with homemade pastries is hard to surpass. And the food in the Carriage House restaurant is just outstanding. It's been wonderful for the past 34 years, it just keeps getting better, and we'll be back for as many years into the future as we can.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful - but the waterfront rooms and the suites have especially nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tmichael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
++++++++++++++++++

Quiet. Relaxing. Perfect for couples. Not really for kids.

Elegant dining. Great food. Much better value and less hustle n bustle than the Grand.

Would definitely stay at the Iroquois again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakland_Hills1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I have come back each June to the Iroquois. We love it! It's a charming location right on the water. It is at the end of the main street and so it is quiet and truly beautiful. The porters, Zach & David, will quickly handle all luggage and leave it (or pick it up) right in your room. There is really no need to carry anything on your own from the ferry. The rooms are air conditioned which can be a major plus. My only warning is that the staircases are narrow. If one has any health concerns regarding stairs, the first floor is a must, but I highly recommend the 2nd or 3rd floor overlooking the water. The Hotel Iroquois is a wonderfully romantic place!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd or 3rd floor room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjmb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in June. Things were still pretty slow on the Island, which made it all the better. Location is excellent ----- 5 minute walk from the ferry docks!!!! We had a third floor room (#303) overlooking Biddle Point and the Round Island Light. View was FANTASTIC!!!!!!! Room was large, with a smaller sitting area, decorated very nicely. Facilities inside and out were very nice, and staff was very polite and professional. The lobby area was very welcoming, with lots of seating (for breakfast), and the small porch was very peaceful in the morning. The only negative comments I have concerns the breakfast. It was pretty minimal considering the cost of staying there. OJ, coffee, and some small coffee cakes, that's all. They could have done so much better. Carriage House restaurant also is a nice facility, with good food and view of the water. Considering its reputation, my wife and I were a bit disappointed with the food (she had the whitefish, I had the Kobe beef).

Room Tip: Rooms on one side (e.g., 303) overlook the water, rooms on the other side overlook the town and isla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
266 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a beautiful, well maintained inn-type hotel perfectly located right on the water at the end of the shopping area. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished and decorated with brightly colored quality fabrics. Our room and the common areas were all clean and bright. We loved sitting on the porch watching the horses and carriages go by in the morning while we enjoyed our coffee. The place has more of a bed and breakfast feel than a hotel.

All of the staff were very helpful and were eager to offer suggestions on where to eat or what to do while on the island, etc They have the handling of the luggage down to a science and were there when we arrived at the dock to assist us getting the luggage to our rooms. The same was done on our departure.

One big issue was that there is no elevator and we were on the third floor. That became a problem because I hurt my leg and there were no other rooms available to change to as it was a holiday weekend. Our room faced the marina which was nice but also noisey as ferries were coming and going all day.

For the record, we had also wanted to stay at The Grand Hotel but our budget would not allow. We ended up being happier where we were. We liked our location and fellow guests better. We did visit The Grand Hotel for the high tea and were happy that we did not spring for their prices.

Room Tip: See above. Request a room on a lower level if mobility is an issue. If you are a late sleeper, get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarkow314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
489 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel took great care of us as my fiance told them he was planning on proposing. We had a beautiful suite with plenty of windows overlooking the lake. There is a bright pastel theme throughout the hotel, and the room was very pretty and clean. The location is on the edge of the part of the island with all the stores and ferries, so you're close to the shops but still have some quiet. The staff was very helpful and even wrapped up my bouquet of flowers so that I could take it back on the ferry. There's a continental breakfast every day with fresh baked goods; tasty! It was an amazing experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank interviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing