We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little heaven on earth!!!”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our little heaven on earth!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have been visiting Mackinac Island for the past 11 years. The most wonderful place to relax and unwind. We stayed at the Grand Hotel, Mission Pointe and a small bed and breakfast. Last year we decided to try Hotel Iroquois...boy, are we glad we did! We were fortunate enough to get the most amazing room with a magnificent water view. When we made our vacation plans this year there was absolutely no-where else we would rather stay that Hotel Iroquois. We visited the first week of June and although the weather was a little on the cool side, we had an amazing visit. We were given the same room as we had in the previous year and the hotel, restaurant, staff and view were all we remembered and more. We are currently planning to return in October and most likely every year there after...we will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    66
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
157
347
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This charming historic hotel is my favorite ever. I've stayed at nicer, bigger, more elegant hotels but nothing tops the class and charisma of this beautiful place. Our room overlooked Lake Huron and was beautifully decorated to keep with the decor of the era it was built. The staff went out of their way to provide us with amenities since we decided to spend the night spur of the moment and had no luggage. The porches, sitting areas and entire grounds were so welcoming. I felt like a little girl again since that it is the hotel I always dreamed of staying in when I visited as a child. It was our 40th wedding anniversary and a true "Somewhere in Time" kind of experience.

Room Tip: Go the few extra dollars to have the deluxe water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had one of the Tower Rooms...fabulous. Panoramic views. Comfortable bed. Attractive room. The only reason to not want to stay here is that you will be tempted not to leave your room. Located at end of business district. Star Line docks are closest. Attached restaurant is very good. Do yourself a favor and check-in.

Room Tip: The Tower rooms are pricey...limited availability...but get one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoeNozeAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our 34th year at the Iroquois - having celebrated our anniversary there each year from no matter where we lived - including Tokyo. We've had the opportunity to stay in the best hotels in the world -- and each year the Iroquois calls us back because of the character, the location, the ambiance and especially the people. The location cannot be beat, and being close to everything is wonderful. The delightful continental breakfast with homemade pastries is hard to surpass. And the food in the Carriage House restaurant is just outstanding. It's been wonderful for the past 34 years, it just keeps getting better, and we'll be back for as many years into the future as we can.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful - but the waterfront rooms and the suites have especially nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tmichael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
++++++++++++++++++

Quiet. Relaxing. Perfect for couples. Not really for kids.

Elegant dining. Great food. Much better value and less hustle n bustle than the Grand.

Would definitely stay at the Iroquois again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakland_Hills1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I have come back each June to the Iroquois. We love it! It's a charming location right on the water. It is at the end of the main street and so it is quiet and truly beautiful. The porters, Zach & David, will quickly handle all luggage and leave it (or pick it up) right in your room. There is really no need to carry anything on your own from the ferry. The rooms are air conditioned which can be a major plus. My only warning is that the staircases are narrow. If one has any health concerns regarding stairs, the first floor is a must, but I highly recommend the 2nd or 3rd floor overlooking the water. The Hotel Iroquois is a wonderfully romantic place!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd or 3rd floor room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjmb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in June. Things were still pretty slow on the Island, which made it all the better. Location is excellent ----- 5 minute walk from the ferry docks!!!! We had a third floor room (#303) overlooking Biddle Point and the Round Island Light. View was FANTASTIC!!!!!!! Room was large, with a smaller sitting area, decorated very nicely. Facilities inside and out were very nice, and staff was very polite and professional. The lobby area was very welcoming, with lots of seating (for breakfast), and the small porch was very peaceful in the morning. The only negative comments I have concerns the breakfast. It was pretty minimal considering the cost of staying there. OJ, coffee, and some small coffee cakes, that's all. They could have done so much better. Carriage House restaurant also is a nice facility, with good food and view of the water. Considering its reputation, my wife and I were a bit disappointed with the food (she had the whitefish, I had the Kobe beef).

Room Tip: Rooms on one side (e.g., 303) overlook the water, rooms on the other side overlook the town and isla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
801 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Property: Hotel Iroquois
Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing