We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Loved my stay at Hotel Iroquois. Staff was friendly, attentive and so helpful. Stayed in the Garden Suite with balcony. Absolutely charming! Had clear view of the lighthouse as well as quiet end of the "Main Street strip." The history of the hotel is amazing. All the luxury amenities were provided. Totally worth the money. Restaurant was fantastic. Loved hearing the clip clop of horses! Always wanted to stay on the island and it was a neat experience to see what it was like after the tourists left on the last ferries of the day. Hearing the echo of Fort Mackinac's bugler play Taps at sunset gave me chills. So glad I chose Hotel Iroquois. Felt like a princess up in my tower balcony suite! If you go in early to mid June, the smell of lilacs is in the air!

Room Tip: As I said, I had a Garden Balcony Suite. Highly recommend this room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had stayed at the Iroquois previously and fell in love with the hotel. This trip my expectations were high and I was not disappointed. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a manner that takes you back in time to horse and buggy days but have been updated to offer the more modern amenities. The staff at the Iroquois were welcoming and made us feel very welcome. The continental breakfast was very nice and the common areas of the hotel, inside and out, were well maintained and were designed for guest enjoyment. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends looking for a special treat. The only disappointment of our visit is that due to the unusually cold winter the Lilacs were late in blooming so there were few to see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have visited Mackinac Island about 6 times. Our stay at Hotel Iroquois this visit surpassed our expectations. We have enjoyed eating there in the past - the outdoor terrace for lunch can't be beat for the view, privacy (peace and quiet from the Fudgies!), and the food. The evening meals are creative, (and this visit's young pianist was a real master of improvisation). And don't miss exploring the amazing garden walkway that leads to the outside door of the restaurants! This trip we wanted to enjoy one aspect of Mackinac Island that can be harder to experience - the beauty of the Great Lakes. We splurged on one of the Biddle Point Suites facing the Mackinac Straits (our preference) and found the view out the 2nd floor windows exactly what we had hoped for - lighthouses (fog horns in the early morning), kites flying over the park, Great Lake vessels navigating nearby, and views of the bridge coming in and out of the fog. The sitting area with the expanse of windows (with shutters) made for a wonderful place to relax and enjoy. We did find the Wi-fi service a little on the wimpy side. We hope to stay again during our next visit - and will likely try another week-day slightly off-season visit to take advantage of some discounts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a wonderful experience!
Our room was SO beautiful...we could have stayed in the hotel the whole time and been happy!
The beautiful way it was decorated...it was like a dream.
Everyone at the Hotel was so kind, and the breakfast in the circular room overlooking quaint Main Street, was so fabulous! Thank you for making this trip even better than one could imagine!
Karen G
^..^

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed at the Iroquois many times and it has always been a pleasure. We have stayed there with children, teenagers, grandparents and friends. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is attentive and friendly. And, don't miss lunch and/or dinner on the patio or in the Carriage House!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We splurged the Cottage Suite for our honeymoon. Our suite had great character, was beautifully decorated and had great views. Unlike most hotels where the rooms are generic and bland our suite looked like a room from a historic home. I especially loved the bathroom with the vintage tiles and roomy shower. The suite's living area/bedroom was also well designed with lovely architectural details and a small private walkout where we could view the lake. Whereas the cottage suite was pricier than the standard rooms at this hotel we would definitely consider staying again. We are even contemplating booking the same room for one of our future anniversaries we loved it so much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Manager at Hotel Iroquois, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you were able to enjoy one of our suites for your honeymoon. The architecture of that room is a very unique use of space while preserving the historic features of the hotel exterior. The small picture window in the shower, that frames the fort, many guests enjoy as well as some of the other hidden architectural details of the suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and grandson were treated to a very charming stay at the Hotel Iroquois. The room was very comfortable and clean. We were able to get a roll away bed for our grandson which was a big help. We also were able to get help with room 104 which had a lot of noise due to washing machines. We were offered another room immediately. Our stay in room 108 was really pleasant.
The Iroquois makes a stay on the island very memorable.

Room Tip: Avoid room 104. It is above the washing machines that run till very late at night... Larger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rags1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Manager at Hotel Iroquois, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Since your stay our facilities staff were able to rebalance some makeup air fans in the laundry room and remove the noise you experienced. While we are sorry for the disturbance we are glad you were able to enjoy your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £100 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing