We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Chippewa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love the Chippewa!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We thought the Chippewa was just right. Comfortable, air conditioning was great, but the staff were very helpful, one of the best aspects. We did not have a balcony and did not miss it because we were in the town most of the time. We heard clop-clop but not too often, not enough to wake us up. One of the best parts is being next to the Pink Pony, probably the best bar on the island. Have the BBQ Chippewa Chips - to die for!!! We would stay there again! We wish we would have read TripAdvisor to know that we could take Arnold Ferry which stops right next door, no need to pay to have our bags transported via bike. Thank you Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: High floors have less clop-clop from horses. Use Arnold Ferry which is right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisMegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    189
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
308
390
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

We opted for a street view room so that we could listen to the clip-pity coop of the horses' hooves. The room was small, but very nice! We arrived early and they were more than happy to hold our bags while we explored the island. The outdoor hot tub was also nice, though right next to a restaurant/bar.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysawigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Clean, comfortable, and great "in town" location! Loved the balcony overlooking the water. The suites are quite large and our family of 5 was able to comfortably spread out. Kids loved the waterfront jacuzzi. Only critique is that the chain lock on the door was not useable and the door to the balcony was impossible to lock... I'm security minded so this was somewhat bothersome. Overall great stay!

Room Tip: Chose a suite! Much larger !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baygirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and were very satisfied. The suite we stayed in was on the first floor and I was a little concerned about the noise, but they quickly went away. The room was a lot bigger than we expected. It was very clean and it looked like it was recently updated. The restaurants had good food, for both breakfast and dinner. The Pink Pony bar faces the harbor and you can actually sit at the bar and look out over it, enjoying the view. An excellent place to stay and convient to the town. The service from all the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiml48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This was out second year staying at the Chippewa for our anniversary & it was excellent both times. The staff is friendly & very accommodating. The restaurants are great as well. We were upgraded to a top floor suite the first year after some confusion & allowed to check in at 11 instead of 3 since our room was ready the second. We will stay again! Love the Chippewa! Julie, the manager, is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulli301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel because the bed and breakfast we were staying at was booked for our last day. Guess we are just hotel people because our stay here was much more enjoyable. We had the room by the patio and view of the water. Although it was noisy outside, our room was surprisingly quiet. We could hear a little of the music, but it was music we liked, so that was o.k. The room was large, bright and cheery. The restaurant was the best we had on the island. Will stay here again next time we are here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, MIchigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at the Chippewa Hotel last Sat.night. What a wonderful place. GREAT island location,good service, beautiful room with a lake view. A Suite with a very very large living room and porch over looking the water. Pricey for sure but well worth a special occasion. Wish we had been there for two nights. The Pink Pony has great food ... had both lunch and dinner there . My only complaint would be the pillows.... not what you get at the Westin or the Hilton esp. for the price... thought they would have had luxury ones... Would stay again in a heart beat but would bring my own pillow..... like down feather pillow..

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyTroyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing