We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chip is the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Chip is the Best!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have stayed at the Chippewa several times and it is always perfect! Clean rooms, incredible views, huge hot tub, great food and the fun Pink Pony. I have stayed in the large suites and the main street twin rooms. We really like the cozy feel of the small rooms and the clip clop of the horses going by! Also, the location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    195
    33
    18
    18
See reviews for
322
394
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is our 3 time staying at the Chippewa Hotel and it been a great experience every time. The staff is very friendly from the desk help, to the waite staff, to The best bell boy ever "Archie". The room was beautiful " the honeymoon suiet". It was very spacaus and the view was wonderful. We'll defentaly be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Salem, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Checked in in at the Chippewa Hotel Fri. 07/27 and checked out Sun. 07/29. Stayed in a "street side" 2 queen room on the fourth floor (room 411). It was very clean and decorated nicely. It included a loveseat and chair for sitting. From the windows we had a neat view of Fort Mackinac on the hill and also could look down on the street scene. There was no street noise or loud partying heard from The Pink Pony on the fourth floor at all. Very quiet. Very close to Arnold Line dock and close to everything else as well. Would definitely come back to the Chippewa in the future.

Room Tip: Street side view isn't much of a downgrade from water view. You can save some money. You may l...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ROB W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for 3 days in celebration of my 65th birthday. Had the top floor suite on the corner with great views from 2 sides. The suite was quite large with 2 queen beds and a spacious separate living room area. The location was perfect and the view from the balcony was ideal. Had 3 meals in the restaurant and they were all well-prepared and the serving staff were very good. If you've got the money (it's not cheap), this is a wonderful place to stay on the island.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, then get a waterfront view room. You'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

NIce room, good staff, killer view, great location. The hotel is a bit on the pricey side $355.00 before taxes. My wife and I were in room 202, a second floor, end room, king suite, that over looks both the Pink Pony and the water. The room is large comfy room. In reality it's a $150.00 room with a $200.00 view.

The bed is comfy, with a second sitting room. The hotel is located 1/2 block from the Arnold Ferry dock, and in the middle of down town. We did not notice any street noise at all. The Pink Pony bar and resturant is located down stairs (highly recomend).

You will enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: if you are willing to spend a little extra - get an end room over looking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We just spent two nights at the Chippewa, and we loved it. We were on the fourth floor, and had a room with a balcony with a harbor view. The view was fantastic! Both days that we were there there was someone playing music in the early evening down on the patio of the Pink Pony. We were able to relax on our balcony with a glass of wine and enjoy the music and watch the boats come in an out of the harbor. Our room was a suite that was nicely decorated and sparkling clean. It had an AC unit in the harbor side room but not the bedroom, but with the ceiling fans both rooms stayed cool. I liked the Chippewa's location as it is on the edge of the very busy downtown and is diagonally across from the city park and right beside the marina. The Arnold Ferry dock is also very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingRetireeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

my wife and i went to macinac island the day after our wedding for a pre honeymoon "honeymoon." we met some friends there and before we arrived they asked the front desk if our rooms could be closer. The lovely Julie upgraded us to water view honeymoon suite. complete with jacuzzi, balcony, living area, dual shower heads and an amazing view. Thank you Julie for all your help. We loved it. great location, great food and drink, great service!

Room Tip: get a view, its worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
249 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing