We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the lake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great view of the lake!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

When making my reservation by telephone, Whitney was very helpful. Staff at front desk when I arrived was also helpful. We stayed in Room 402, the corner room on the top floor, with a balcony and 180 degree viewing area. Room was 50 x 10, attractively layed out and spotless. Very comfortable bed, great location for all that the island has to feature. Attached restaurant, the Pink Pony, has good food and entertainment on weekends. 100% satisfied, but be warned that the room is expensive compared to other rooms in the hotel. The following night, we were transferred to a first floor room...our room was already booked. It was like two different worlds..very disappointed. Spend the extra money and get a top floor room (4th floor). Make sure you use Arnold Ferry to get to island. It lets you off right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms facing the jacuzzi. You save money, but the noise, horseplay and drinking wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    190
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
312
391
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The staff at the front desk are very kind and happy to help when asked but the rooms are really dirty. The same dirt and debris on the floor was there when we arrived and there when we left.Housekeeping never swept or mopped the tiled parts of the floor. It's also really loud at night because of the pub under the rooms in the lobby and the walls are paper thin. Not good for a family stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaileyGM, General Manager at Chippewa Hotel Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Chippewa Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We pride ourselves with this part of our business and I never want to fall short. If this were brought to our attention we would have remedied the situation immediately. As you can see from our many reviews we strive to provide a very clean enviroment. We certainly appreciate your business and hope you return and give us another chance because this is not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia City IN
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel is right next to the Arnold Ferry. The suite was beautiful and very clean. The staff was helpful. Beds were so comfortable. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants, bike rentals, and carriage rides. The harbor view of the ferry dock was wonderful. The hot tub was nice, but the towels they gave us barely covered our bodies. Ask for two towels per person! Also..there is no pool so don't plan on this hotel with kids. We were on the second floor and since the hotel is very old and poorly sound insulated, we could hear the people above us walking around (and the person above us didn't stop the walking until 3 a.m. and they were up at 6 a.m.) Also...the staff was vacuuming the floors on the 3rd floor at 10 p.m. at night both nights we stayed there. Our room overlooked the Pink Pony Patio, which wasn't open anymore for the season, but in the summer, I would imagine it could be very noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, harbor side, and furthest away from the Pink Pony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We loved the hotel! This hotel really does have the best location on the island. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the rooms were large and clean. We enjoyed the restaurant and the bar. The only problem was the location of our rooms above the bar. The music and noise went well into the night and kept us from sleeping. Try to get a room on an upper level floor if possible, especially if you are traveling with children.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdgAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

It's a great hotel. Clean, most of it is newly renovated, excellent location (right downtown with an excellent lakefront view in most rooms+balconies), helpful and knowledgeable staff. Slightly on the pricey side, but then again, that's Mackinac Island for you, everything is more than it is on mainland. 4.90 for a Tall Chai Tea Latte at Starbucks. A definite recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKH718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have been vacationing on mackinac island every 4th of july week since 1996. Until this year we had only stayed on our boat at the marina, however, we sold our boat with sleeping accomodations at the end of last year and were going through island withdrawl so decided to take our small 18 foot boat to the island for 3 nights starting on labor day. I am so glad we chose to stay at the Chippewa! We stayed in the cheapest room, however, it was perfect. . . bright, clean, cold, a nice view of main street, flat screen tv, wifi, coffee maker, iron and board, hair dryer, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. We, also, loved the hot tub and close location to the marina and our boat. I would, definitely, recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield IN
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Our suite was light and airy with a view that was fantastic. It was roomy and a great place to entertain. The harbor, sunrises, sunsets, food and accomodations were perfect. It is one of the places you want to revisit and we will.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the harbor, rising and setting sun this is the place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing