We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family trip”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at the Chippewa Hotel Waterfront in July 2012, and had a wonderful time. When we arrived on the ferry, we had just a short walk to our hotel (you can see it from Arnold ferry docking point). Checkin was easy, and our bags were waiting in our room. We loved that our beds were separate from the living area (we have two little kids who go to bed earlier than we do). We called the front desk for a pack & play, and one was brought up right away. The staff at the front desk helped us navigate the carriage taxi system. We loved our patio, where we could watch the ferries come in. It was right on the bay. My husband and I sat on our patio after the kids went to sleep and listened to the live music floating up from the Pink Pony Patio. It was great. I was worried that the music would be too loud, but you couldn't hear it in the sleeping area. My kids loved the cookies and milk brought up in the evening. The whirlpool is technically a whirlpool, but it isn't very hot, and it's huge, so we thought of it as more of a small pool. My kids had fun in it. The Chip is right across the street from a grocery store, so that was very convenient. We ate at the Pink Pony for lunch one day, and it was fine. The hotel's decor is older, like most Mackinac Island properties, but that doesn't bother us. All in all, it's a great location, great amenities, awesome staff. We had a FANTASTIC time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaunismatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    191
    32
    18
    17
See reviews for
314
393
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have stayed at the "Chip" the past three summers and have been thrilled with our accommodations. We stayed on the 4th floor in a two bedroom suite that was amazing. The beds are comfortable, living room is very spacious and the hotel had a perfect pack-n-play for my two year old! The nautical decor makes you feel like its your island home away from home. The view of the water and boats on your private balcony makes you never want to leave your room. I highly recommend this hotel for families or for a non-children getaway. The Pink Pony is a "must visit" bar and in my opinion it has the best Blood Mary on the island. We also had dinner in the main dining room of the hotel and loved it - recommend dinner or breakfast during your stay. But the best hidden secrete of the Chippewa Hotel is the "back bar" of the pony.....the outside bar overlooking the water, boats and hotel hot tub, a perfect place the have an island cocktail! My entire family has stayed at this hotel and we can't say enough nice things about the staff, accommodations and location on Main Street! We'll be back again this summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a nice balcony over-looking the harbor. It was very nice. The balconies are not private from the neighboring balconies, a bit of a draw back as our neighbors were enjoying a weekend beer drinking extravaganza on their balcony. This was not the hotel's fault, of course. Our suite was very nice, it was very clean. Very big with nice amenities. Location is fantastic if you like to be in the thick of it, which we do. Pink Pony is on the first floor and cannot be beat for food, service, and entertainment. I did note the following drawbacks:
1) not enough bike parking at the hotel.
2) our shower was above the large Jacuzzi tub in our suite and very difficult/next to impossible to use as the tub floor is very slanted and slippery when wet. It was very difficult to stand in and shower.
3) a tiny and slow elevator which is typical for antique hotels and does not bother us at all, we used the stairs.
4) the large multiple person "hot" tub was freezing and there was no way to increase the heat.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and I would recommend it to other families.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2mchwrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OXF
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed in a top floor, lakefront suite and was completely worth it. The view from the private balcony was amazing, great way to wake up and watch the freighters go by/ferries come in. The hotel is just at the edge of downtown, so it's easy enough to get everywhere. It is right next to the Arnold dock, so if you're arriving on Shepler's be prepared to walk. Unfortunately it rained almost the entire time we were there, so we cut our trip short. There's just not much to do with small children, in Mackinac, in the rain. We look forward to coming back for an adult only trip! That lakeside hot tub is amazing!

Room Tip: Top floor {less noise} and lake front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We've been coming to Mackinac Island every year for the last 5 years. We like this hotel the best. The beds are wonderful and very comfortable. The 30 person hot tub/ pool is awesome at night. I love the spacious rooms and great service!! The Pink pony bar is right on the first floor. Its awesome to be back in time and hear the clip clops of the horses every morning when you wake up! Our family from 4 years old to 88 love this place!!

Room Tip: make reservations early!! fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is an elegant hotel, restaurant and bar in a very quaint town with loads of atmosphere. Our room was street side with a large window for watching the town awaken with the clip-clop of horse drawn deliveries to businesses. Then watching the store workers move their supplies inside, as they were left on the sidewalks by the delivery person. It definitely takes you back in time when there was a simpler and quiet life. The room was beautiful with nice bright colors but not too soundproof. We could hear people walking above us late at night, but then again, this is not a new hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Excellent hotel. We stayed in the Harbor View Two-Bedroom Suite on the second floor. The living room area was very spacious. Our private balcony was our home away from home. It was fabulous to sit out there and watch the ferry's come in, freightors go by, and yachts come in and stay at the marina next door. We listened to music from the band down below. The staff was tremendous and were available all day and night. We were met at the ferry where the bellhop took our baggage and put in our room for us. Very clean. Definetly thinking about return stay with them again.

Room Tip: didn't use pool or fitness center to be able to rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie_F42391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing