We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chippewa Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chippewa Hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great great place. Rooms clean, updated and service outstanding. Food and patio bar (Pink Pony) - a place to eat and enjoy. Water front views were better than expected. We'll be back next summer!! The location is right downtown on the water and easy to access from any Ferry. Family was well accommodated with all the above.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    205
    36
    18
    19
See reviews for
364
428
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have been coming to Mackinac Island for years. Stayed at a few different hotels. All very nice. But the Chippewa has a great location, the rooms are very spacious. We always get a harbor view suite. Always clean. Sunerises are just beautiful.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms have a great view of the water and sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The sunrise from our fourth floor balcony room was beautiful. The food in the dining room was very good. It was a very spacious suite and could sleep 3-4 people very easily. The fall colors were just starting. It was a beautiful Fall week end.

Room Tip: Get a view of the water. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Chippewa, and its Pink Pony bar and dining room, are our go-to places on Mackinac. Located right on the water next to the Arnold Ferry dock and near all the downtown shops and restaurants. Fabulous place to relax and just hang out!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a room with a view of the lake - entirely worth it! Rooms to the east end on u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great place to stay on the island. Close to everything too. I always get a balcony suite, pricy but worth it for me. Imagine sitting on the balcony overlooking the harbor, watching the sun rise and drinking Mackinac Island Fudge coffee....life couldn't be any better. Friends went this trip, were in another room and were very impressed. The bed is super comfy, room is spotless and it is nice having a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. I love this place!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a harbor side room - the view is awesome, especially in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okoboji, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had not been to the island for years, and chose the Chippewa based on a friend's recommendation. What a delightful hotel, charming, most caring staff - both at hotel... and the Pink Pony restaurant-bar attached.
The attention, the food, the room and view (we were on the harbor side), were fantastic. A simply great place to stay - at the top Midwest escape location.

Room Tip: We've not tried the Main Street side; the harbor view is a bit more I think....and when we retur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, IL
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent 2 nights in late September at the Chippewa in a waterfront suite. A bit pricey but its worth it for the view.

The service was good, rooms clean and the air conditining and heating seemed to work well. Had a problem with the ceiling fan not working, but they solved that by bringing up a box fan. There is no door between the bedroom and the sitting room.

The food in the Pink Pony was good, and the bartenders are great.

Definately a great place to stay on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanilz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing