We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel with great location and great view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel with great location and great view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was our first trip to the island and just didn't want to pay the prices to stay at the Grand Hotel. The Chippewa was close to our boat dock, close to bike rentals, and very lovely inside. The beds were very comfortable to us and the Keurig coffee maker was a nice added touch. Very friendly and helpful desk service; we would stay again. We were going to extend our trip and stay in our room another night but unfortunately it was already booked. My only issue with the room was the hot water in the shower took a bit to get going, but it would not prevent me from coming back. The Lilac Tree toiletries smelled really good. The food we had at the Pink Pony was very good as well. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    189
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
308
390
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent a girls getaway weekend at the Chippewa and couldn't of asked for a better stay! We had a suite that faced the water which was absolutely beautiful. The room was huge with a large balcony, and more importantly, so clean! The staff was great...everyone was so kind. As an added surprise, they came around with cookies, milk and chocolate to each room every night. Nice touch! Will definitely be staying at this hotel next time in Mackinac. Perfect location too!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water...it's beautiful to be able to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank couldntresist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Love everything about the Chippewa. Best location with access to the Market, the Pink Pony bar, the Pizza place (best Pizza!!!), etc. The hotel staff from the check-in, to the restaurant, to housekeeping were so friendly and pleasant! We had a room with a large balcony and a breathtaking view of the water. The rooms were extremely clean and the suite was huge. Plenty of room. Huge flat screens, refrigerator....all the amenities. The transfer of luggage to/from the ferry was very quick (on a busy weekend!) Loved the one-man band at the Pink Pony! Our trip was really fantastic. Can't wait until next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpg0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great hotel. Very clean with friendly staff. conveniently located across the street from the only market in town (Dowd's). clode to fort Mackinac and Marquette Park. The Pinkony, located of the lobby, is a fun place with a great bar, live music and so convenient. Stated was our anniversary when making the reservation and they left a bottle of champagne in the room. It is within walking distance of ferry docks but they handle your luggage. Ask for Room 416....perfect view of the entire harbor and mission point.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 416
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njpirate62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent one night at the Chippewa Hotel with their season opening weekend special and everything was great. The staff in the restaurant, bar and hotel were top notch. Also enjoyed the one man band in the bar. The absolute best thing happened after my stay. I thought I had left my wedding rings on the night stand. I immediately called and spoke to Chelsea and she first checked lost and found then said she would check with someone else and call me back. Chelsea was genuinely concerned about the situation. Happily, I found my rings in my purse and hadn't left them there at all. I called Chelsea back not only to thank her but to apologize for the trouble. It was like talking to a dear friend who was relieved that I found them and just so sweet. I can't say enough. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just returned from our annual trip to the island and Chippewa Hotel. Every year it is as beautiful as the year before; and they are always adding a new touch each year. From big flat panel tvs, to charging stations for your electronic devises (don't forget your cords), to the newest this year.....a keurig coffee maker!!! This year we experienced a special touch to their turn down service. The nights we weren't in our room they left tasty chocolate mints on our pillows. If we happened to be in the room, we were offered a little glass of milk and cookies too! The beds were the best. We were trying to figure out how to get them home with us. We were treated like royalty from checking in and out, to dining and the Pink Pony! Still our favorite bar on the island! When checking in we were informed they had extra rooms available, so we were upgraded from a Main Street room to a Harbor view suite! Bart....you are the bomb! Thanks again!!!! Archie, our porter, took our bags up to the room and safely delivered them back to the dock. He had a few minutes and visited with us while waiting for the ferry. Always a treat to chat with an islander. I cannot say enough good things about our stay. We are already discussing a second trip this year! Thanks again Chippewa Hotel....you guys rock!!

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are perfect for waking up with the boats and beautiful sunrises. We have also enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigan Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarentum, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in the small queen room facing the street. I really do believe it was the best value on the island. The room is perfect size for a couple. The location of this hotel is perfect. The employee's are wonderful. And the pink pony bar is located here. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaycubsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing